137 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! Next time I will follow the recipe and use LOW SODIUM cream of chicken soup; it was a bit on the salty side, but that was my fault. This is a keeper.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook April 18, 2002

This was really good. We had to make enough to feed 8 people so we used two crock pots to cook this in. It turned out well. We used white rice with it. The chicken was very moist and tender!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Marshall March 24, 2002

This is another "UMMMMM" dish. That is Dahling's comment on any dish he really is enjoying! The changes that I made were to increase the water to 1/2 cup, heated the cream cheese and soup in the microwave and blended, removed the chicken to a plate, whisked the soup/cheese mixture into the drippings, then replaced the chicken making sure it was covered. Served it with rice, lettuce salad with a very tangy dressing and hot rolls. Whoa Baby!! The sauce is wonderful! If you use more than 4 breasts, be sure and double all the other ingredients.Thanks, bunches!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boopster March 20, 2003

Best tasting crock pot recipe I have tried here! I used the Garlic and Herb envelope instead of Italian. I also used a portabella mushroom sliced instead of the canned. The chicken was so moist and the spices from the dressing were perfect with the mushrooms. It is now in my 5 top recipes. Thanks so much.....

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsharonluk July 19, 2009

So easy a 53 yo not particularly culinarily talented guy can do it. Good, tasty, filling. Served over brown rice - Lot of food. Very easy for such a good dish that doesn't look simple minded. Low sodium cream of chicken by Campbells works just fine - plenty of flavor.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John M. February 08, 2011

We made exactly as directed and LOVED IT! My husband, who is sick and tired of chicken and rice recipes, has requested I make it again. And he even took the leftovers to work and raved about how good they were the second time around. P.S. Could this recipe be any easier, too?!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lindsay July 12, 2010

I have to give this recipe 5 stars even though I did end up changing it. I always read through the reviews to see what little things people have done to "enhance" a recipe. Then, depending on my family's taste, I adjust the recipe to "fit" us. That being said, the basic recipe for this meal looked awesome. Unfortunately, I did not have all the ingredients on hand, so I improvised and what I came up with was out of this world! Here's the changes I made if anyone wants to give it a whirl. I didn't have any Italian Seasoning dressing mix, so I made my own..first YUM. I increased and substituted the water with white wine. Since I had to start with frozen chicken breast, I cooked that on low all day. I then discovered I didn't have any cream cheese on hand, so I substituted sour cream. Mixed that with Crm of Chicken soup. Was a little too thick, so added some chicken stock to thin it out. Added a small can of mushrooms (with the juice) and tossed in a few more tsps of the dressing mix and some grated Parm cheese...another YUM accomplished. Poured that over the chicken and cranked the slow cooker to high for another 1 1/2. The last 30 mins I tossed in a bag of frozen peas. Served this over buttered noodles. My family LOVED the creation! Nothing left for the next day! As I said, everyone should adjust recipes to their taste, but if you want to try something different, give this a whirl! HAPPY EATING =)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IrishMinx February 22, 2012

This dish hit the spot on this cold, rainy evening. I made a double batch thinking it wouldn't make enough for my BIG family and boy did it ever make a huge batch. I have to feed a family of six and EVERYONE loved it, including the little ones! Next time i'll just make a regualr batch. lol

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakermarsha November 03, 2010

WOW!!!! This is one of those fabulous dishes that the whole family loved. Picky hubby and 5 picky(lately anyway)kids all loved it and said it was a make again. The only thing I would do differently next time is cut the chicken up in bitesize pieces for 2 reasons. 1. they will get more of the flavor of the sauce(the middle of the chicken did not have much flavor) 2. It will make it much easier to serve and I will be able to sit down and eat "with" my family instead of after they are done because I have to cut all the kids chicken up for them. I also left out the mushrooms and added some sweet peas at the end. I served over egg noodles.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping July 22, 2007

This was a really good meal. It smelled so good while it was cooking. I could hardly keep my kids away from the crockpot while it was cooking--my whole house smelled wonderful. Tasted great. I served it over linguine noodles. We will make this one again soon. Thanks for posting this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaydensMommy22 January 08, 2004
Crock Pot Creamy Italian Chicken