671 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great, enjoyed by everyone that ate it tonight. I'm not really sure why I hadn't made it sooner. Next time, I think that I will use white wine instead of chicken broth and add some mushrooms and julienned carrots & zucchini with the onion mixture. I think that it would taste alot like the French Chicken Tonight Sauce then.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl June 08, 2002

I had made a version of this recipe (also got it from a nurse!) before and my family loved it so I did a quick google search and this recipe popped right up. There was one major difference between this version and the one I have and that is that in mine, everything cooks together. I've found that it takes about 4 hours total and makes the chicken just fall apart. No worries about it drying out. As other reviewers have noted, you definitely need to serve it over something starchy like egg noodles or rice- I've used both and they're both good. Thanks for posting so I didn't have to go by memory again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheenamarie23_8052078 January 06, 2014

This is a really excellent recipe. I used chicken legs to be more frugal, after I cook the chicken I drained off the excess juice and then added in the sauce and continued cooking. I felt like the sauce needed to cook more then one hour, I left in on for two. I also added in freshly grated Parmesan cheese about a 1/4 cup in the sauce prior to cooking. I really enjoyed this recipe and it will be a regular for dinner in the future

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smboule December 21, 2013

This was a big hit with my picky children and my recent cooking ventures. I substitued the italian dressing for ranch adding it to the sauce and applied it to the chicken. I also added sweet potatoes, carrots, peppers and egg noodles (adding the noodles for the last 25 minutes). My husband told me to keep this in the rotation as did my children.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monica W. November 05, 2013

OMG OMG OMG THIS WAS AMAZING!!!! I doubled the recipe! But when I doubled it, instead of putting 1 cup of chicken broth, I did 1/2 broth & 1/2 dry white wine! PERFECT!! Don't use chicken pieces with BONES!!! They will fall apart and you will have to search for bones!! I cut up bite size pieces of chicken, I also added a TON of mushrooms, garlic and some chives. If you aren't into eating lots of carbs, cook up some frozen broccoli and put it over large pieces of broccoli!! It was sooooooooo delicious!! Its also good on baked potatoes, if you do like the carbs :) :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissa1277 September 30, 2013

Excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney September 26, 2013

A couple of notes for this. <br/><br/>First, Newer and older Crock Pot cook SO differently. I have 2. I can cook the same meal in both, and almost 3 hrs different in cooking time. Newer pots and MUCH hotter. So don't blame the time.<br/><br/>Second, it doesn't call for water, so DON'T add it. Crock pots don't need a lot of liquid.<br/><br/>Now, I tried this recipe twice, but failed to review; but saw this and it reminded me. I made it for me and then a friend - that I know loves these types of dishes. Not really my style, but I thought I would give it a try.<br/><br/>- I used boneless skinless; but, a mix of thighs and breasts<br/>- The first time, I made it as is ... it ok. Bland for me, not much flavor (but that is my tastes)<br/>- Time 2; I changed things a bit, but not the ingredients.<br/><br/>- I added a medium onion (not small), cut in half and thin sliced. Added to the bottom of the crock pot.<br/>- 1 garlic clove, minced<br/>- 2 tablespoons butter<br/>- Then added the chicken sprinkled with the seasoning. I used Good Seasons Garlic Salad Dressing Mix (in a dry packet)<br/>- Topped it with the soup and sliced mushrooms. DO NOT mix the mushrooms in.<br/><br/>Cooked 4 hours on low. Add the cream cheese cubed and mixed everything in. I also also suggest adding some white wine for a little flavor. Cooked another hour.<br/><br/>I didn't add the time this time because my friend didn't drink.<br/><br/>Done, and tender. I tossed in fresh parsley right before serving. <br/>Garnished with paprika for a little color.<br/><br/>I served over white rice; pasta would be ok too.<br/>-------------------------------<br/>Great idea; but, not my style and needed a few tweaks for my liking.<br/>But, we ate it all; it wasn't inedible at all - just not for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook May 19, 2013

this was delicious! i used boneless chicken breasts to cut down on time and cooked them in a garlic & herb marinade (i didn't have the Italian mix on hand) with the butter. i also skipped the sauteed garlic and onions and just added a couple teaspoons of minced garlic. i would have LOVED to add mushrooms into the cream cheese/soup step but the hubby hates mushrooms. i served this with rice and broccoli.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonbaby1619 February 14, 2012

I made this on the stovetop. I browned the chicken, browned the onion and some additional mushrooms, then added the sauce ingredients and simmered the dish for one hour.It was excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 24, 2011

I had company coming over for dinner a party of 6 and with our family was a total of 10. I've never cooked for that many in one shot. I wanted something easy that would feed adults and kids, I was worried because I had to increase the amounts, but thankfully this website allows you to up the servings and makes the ingredient modifications! I followed most everything except I added 3/4 cream of mushroom and 3/4 cream of chicken soup, I also used chicken breasts which I cooked on high for 2 hours and they were perfect. I was worried about adding the cream sauce to this because I thought it would be too watery, but over the course of the hour it cooked it became thicker. Once we poured it over fettucini, it was so delicious! Everyone, including the kids had seconds! There were no left overs! I also used low sodium broth, and soups, and reduced fat cream cheese. It was perfect, my family has asked me to make it again, and it was so easy I will! Thanks for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diblock1_3421470 April 03, 2011
Crock Pot Cream Cheese Chicken