681 Reviews

Wonderful recipe. Great sauce. I cut the total cooking time down to 5 hours to avoid having rubby chicken. UPDATE: Love this recipe. This is my second review. This time I added mushrooms in the cream cheese step. Also, topped with chives and crumbled bacon when serving. Delicious. This is a keeper.

73 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( March 12, 2002

This is a really great tasting, easy main dish meal! I made it exactly as written,,,except the time cooked. It actually only takes about 1/2 the 7hrs to cook and I think had I not been here and watched it,,it wouldn't have turned out as well. I think it would have burned around the edges. I intended and started early enough to use your time stated, but after 2 1/2 hrs, turned my crock on the "warm" setting (newer crocks have this setting,,yay) until I added the broth/cream cheese mix. I let this cook on low for 45 min and served over mashed garlic/tarragon potatoes. dh won' t eat rice :( The 2nd best part was the next nite, I shredded the left over chicken,,(I'd taken it out of the sauce)added 1/2cup sour cream, a 4 oz. can of green chilis and 4oz. velveeta cheese to the sauce and some garlic powder. I placed the shredded chicken and more shredded cheese in corn tortillas and pour the remaining sauce over them and had a pan of chicken enchiladas fit for a king!! I also reserved 3/4 cup of the sauce and poured it over 2 chili rellenos (sp)I'd made! Seems as tho I may have had a lot of left overs, but there're only 2 of us and we don't eat heavily,,so, this wonderful crockpot chicken made 2 fab different dinners....just enough shredded chicken leftover for soft tacos tonite....3 meals!!! (sorry this is long, just wanting to be informative on a great recipe)...thanks for posting,,,,Kitty :)

70 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppermintkitty February 19, 2004

Oh yummmm! This was super! I didn't have all day so I cooked it on high about 3 1/2 hours and then added the cream cheese mixture and cooked it the next hour on low. I re-read the reviews right after I poured the cream cheese mixture and saw that someone mentioned mushrooms. So I ran and grabbed my package of whole fresh mushrooms out of the fridge and just threw them on top of everything. Man were they good. Served over egg noodles. It is very important that you have something like rice,noodles, or mashed potatoes to pour the gravy over. Or you'll look silly lapping it up like a dog off your plate. It's that good.

52 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ROBIN PENA April 03, 2003

I made this today and the sauce is very creamy and very tasty. Very easy to make.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Kremann November 19, 2001

WOW that was sooooooooooooooooooooooo YUMMY and EASY!!! I also used ranch mix... and put mushrooms in it! the first words out of my mouth after trying this was "Im gonna be making this again!!!" my hubby REALLY likes it too!!! I used fat free cream cheese and you cant even tell!!! soooooo much flavor!!! THANK YOU for the AWESOME recipe!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueeyes_jd January 21, 2011

Fantastic recipe. I've made it twice now, and the second time I really experimented! The first time I did add the mushrooms as another reviewer suggested, and it was great. This time, I doubled the recipe for a potluck dinner, but instead of 2 cans of cream of chicken, I used 1 can of the chicken and a can of cream of mushroom. I also added some seasonings into the chicken on the first step. I added in sweet Hungarian paprika, a dash of curry and sprinkled Emeril's Essence Seasoning over the mixture. For the chicken broth, I used the 1/2 cup as required, but for the second 1/2 cup for the doubled recipe, I used white wine. WOW! BIG difference, and my dish was the first one to disappear out of over 40 dishes. So don't be afraid to experiment!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
You've Had Worse Things In Your Mouth! January 20, 2010

This sauce is so tasty and comforting. We ate this over egg noodles. I drained the fat from the crock pot before adding the sauce ingredients and was glad I did. Next time I will also remove the skin from the chicken or brown it before putting it into the crock pot. We all removed the skin before we ate the chicken; it wasn't crispy or browned, just soggy. Overall, delicious, but will be even better with those two adjustments.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmberMomOfTwoBoys July 07, 2010

Have had this receipe saved for a while and just made it over the weekend. I started with 5 boneless skinless chicken breast which I cut up into bite size pieces. I put them, the butter (I can't believe its not butter), the Good Seasons zesty italian dressing package contents, the cream of mushroom soup and a little of the chicken broth in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 2 and a half hours. Came back and added crushed garlic (equivilent to 3 cloves), onion powder, a large can of mushrooms, the rest of the chicken broth and a 1/2 cup white wine. Let it cook for another hour and it was AWESOME! Served it over whole wheat egg noodles and with mixed vegetables. Liked the combo so much that we will add a small bag of the frozen mixed vegetables in the next time we make it. Thanks for posting the original recipe. We will definately make it again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolynB February 13, 2012

Delicious...I have made this several times and it is always very, very good....I use boneless chicken breast....it only takes about 3 hours in my crock pot to cook....so easy and so, so good.....thanks for posting!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive January 24, 2010

This was an excellant recipe and a winner for my picky eaters! I used chicken breasts & served with noodles. The sauce was so great!!!! Next time I will try substituting fat free cream cheese and reduced cal soup.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel2 January 17, 2002
Crock Pot Cream Cheese Chicken