Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Cream Cheese Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cream Cheese Chicken

    Average Rating:

    668 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 668

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2002

      Wonderful recipe. Great sauce. I cut the total cooking time down to 5 hours to avoid having rubby chicken. UPDATE: Love this recipe. This is my second review. This time I added mushrooms in the cream cheese step. Also, topped with chives and crumbled bacon when serving. Delicious. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      This is a really great tasting, easy main dish meal! I made it exactly as written,,,except the time cooked. It actually only takes about 1/2 the 7hrs to cook and I think had I not been here and watched it,,it wouldn't have turned out as well. I think it would have burned around the edges. I intended and started early enough to use your time stated, but after 2 1/2 hrs, turned my crock on the "warm" setting (newer crocks have this setting,,yay) until I added the broth/cream cheese mix. I let this cook on low for 45 min and served over mashed garlic/tarragon potatoes. dh won' t eat rice :( The 2nd best part was the next nite, I shredded the left over chicken,,(I'd taken it out of the sauce)added 1/2cup sour cream, a 4 oz. can of green chilis and 4oz. velveeta cheese to the sauce and some garlic powder. I placed the shredded chicken and more shredded cheese in corn tortillas and pour the remaining sauce over them and had a pan of chicken enchiladas fit for a king!! I also reserved 3/4 cup of the sauce and poured it over 2 chili rellenos (sp)I'd made! Seems as tho I may have had a lot of left overs, but there're only 2 of us and we don't eat heavily,,so, this wonderful crockpot chicken made 2 fab different dinners....just enough shredded chicken leftover for soft tacos tonite....3 meals!!! (sorry this is long, just wanting to be informative on a great recipe)...thanks for posting,,,,Kitty :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      Oh yummmm! This was super! I didn't have all day so I cooked it on high about 3 1/2 hours and then added the cream cheese mixture and cooked it the next hour on low. I re-read the reviews right after I poured the cream cheese mixture and saw that someone mentioned mushrooms. So I ran and grabbed my package of whole fresh mushrooms out of the fridge and just threw them on top of everything. Man were they good. Served over egg noodles. It is very important that you have something like rice,noodles, or mashed potatoes to pour the gravy over. Or you'll look silly lapping it up like a dog off your plate. It's that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2001

      I made this today and the sauce is very creamy and very tasty. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      WOW that was sooooooooooooooooooooooo YUMMY and EASY!!! I also used ranch mix... and put mushrooms in it! the first words out of my mouth after trying this was "Im gonna be making this again!!!" my hubby REALLY likes it too!!! I used fat free cream cheese and you cant even tell!!! soooooo much flavor!!! THANK YOU for the AWESOME recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Fantastic recipe. I've made it twice now, and the second time I really experimented! The first time I did add the mushrooms as another reviewer suggested, and it was great. This time, I doubled the recipe for a potluck dinner, but instead of 2 cans of cream of chicken, I used 1 can of the chicken and a can of cream of mushroom. I also added some seasonings into the chicken on the first step. I added in sweet Hungarian paprika, a dash of curry and sprinkled Emeril's Essence Seasoning over the mixture. For the chicken broth, I used the 1/2 cup as required, but for the second 1/2 cup for the doubled recipe, I used white wine. WOW! BIG difference, and my dish was the first one to disappear out of over 40 dishes. So don't be afraid to experiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Delicious...I have made this several times and it is always very, very good....I use boneless chicken breast....it only takes about 3 hours in my crock pot to cook....so easy and so, so good.....thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This sauce is so tasty and comforting. We ate this over egg noodles. I drained the fat from the crock pot before adding the sauce ingredients and was glad I did. Next time I will also remove the skin from the chicken or brown it before putting it into the crock pot. We all removed the skin before we ate the chicken; it wasn't crispy or browned, just soggy. Overall, delicious, but will be even better with those two adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      This was an excellant recipe and a winner for my picky eaters! I used chicken breasts & served with noodles. The sauce was so great!!!! Next time I will try substituting fat free cream cheese and reduced cal soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Have had this receipe saved for a while and just made it over the weekend. I started with 5 boneless skinless chicken breast which I cut up into bite size pieces. I put them, the butter (I can't believe its not butter), the Good Seasons zesty italian dressing package contents, the cream of mushroom soup and a little of the chicken broth in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 2 and a half hours. Came back and added crushed garlic (equivilent to 3 cloves), onion powder, a large can of mushrooms, the rest of the chicken broth and a 1/2 cup white wine. Let it cook for another hour and it was AWESOME! Served it over whole wheat egg noodles and with mixed vegetables. Liked the combo so much that we will add a small bag of the frozen mixed vegetables in the next time we make it. Thanks for posting the original recipe. We will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      This is a very good base recipe. Like some others, I added mushrooms which I think really made the dish. We like more garlic so I did two cloves instead of one. I also thought that it didn't need 4-6hrs before adding the cream cheese/soup mixture but that probably just has to do with how hot your individual crock pot cooks. It only took 3 for mine. When tasted toward the end I thought that it was missing something and added 1/4 c. of dry white wine. Voila! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      What an awesome recipe! I used 3 lbs legs and thighs since I didn't understand what they meant by chicken pieces. I cooked it on low for 4 hours and then another 1 hour with the cream mixture. I added some parmesan cheese to thicken the sauce and add more flavor. I also added some mushroom; definitely a good thing. I served it with/over linguine noodles. It was so fall-off-the-bone tender and my whole family loved it. That's amazing since my two little girls are so picky. I will definitely make it again, but I may try using boneless pieces next time. If I do, I hope it comes out as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      Can you say, this is some tasty eats, with the mushrooms it gives this the fifth star...........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Great flavor with this recipe. And while I'm sure it is great in a crockpot, I wanted a more flavorful moist chicken so I cooked it in a dutch oven. I rubbed the chicken (I used split chicken breasts) with the Italian seasoning and then browned it in a dutch oven. I did not cook the chicken through, but just enough to get great color on it. I then removed the chicken and sauteed the garlic and onion, then adding the rest of the ingredients. I saw that many people recommended adding mushrooms to the sauce, great idea. But to do this I substituted cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken. I really recommend the Whole Foods brand, it is amazing. After getting the sauce to a simmer I added the chicken back and cooked covered for an additional 40 minutes. The chicken was perfectly tender and the browning gave it another level of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Entire Family LOVED it!

      Chicken turned out fantastically moist, best I've ever been able to cook!

      I sauted lots of Mushrooms with the onion, but that was the only change we made.

      Served with Linguine pasta. We did keep the noodles and chicken separate at the table so everyone could take their perfect proportions....I like it more saucy, Hubby likes more noodles....and that worked perfect for everyone's tastes!

      Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Surprisingly yummy ~ I used thighs & even though they shrunk up quite a bit they fell apart with a spoon of all things & weren't dry as most crock pot chicken is. The sauce was lovely and it's all so simple and easy. I wouldn't go much past 4 hours cooking though as it might go past the point of no return (dryness factor). Quite nice over pasta, should do well over rice as well...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      For a thicker sauce: Add 1/4 cup instant Tapioca Pudding

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      I made some changes, I used only 1 pound chicken breast, sauted onions, mushrooms and peas. Then decided to only add half the amount of cream cheese and I subsituted the broth for a half cup of white cooking wine! DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      Made this for dinner last night and it was wonderful. My husband loved it and he usually thinks that white meat is too dry, but I used bone-in breasts and it turned out great! I rubbed the seasoning under the skin and let them sit in the fridge until morning. We will definately have this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      We loved the flavor of this dish. I substituted Ranch dressing mix(sprinkled lightly to reduce the salt) and used cream of mushroom soup.I would recommend using boneless skinless chicken breasts or shortening the cooking time.I found that my chicken was falling apart,causing us to have to search for bones in the wonderfully thick sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 34

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cream Cheese Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (267 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.4
     
    Calories from Fat 399
    73%
    Total Fat 44.4 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 19.0 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 169.4 mg
    56%
    Sodium 696.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Italian salad dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes