21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Lennie, for posting such a great tasting recipe. I loved the cranberries and sauce in this dish. I used boneless, skinless thighs and cooked for about 7 hours. It was almost too easy and I thought maybe I would feel some guilt about not slaving away in the kitchen....but no! It was so good. It is indeed a dish to serve company, and I will do just that. Thanks for sharing.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie September 16, 2002

I have made this a number of times, and we really like it. I prepare my own cranberry sauce from fresh cranberries, using the entire bag or cranberries, so I normally have more than 1 cup of sauce. You definitely need to add in cornstarch or the sauce is too runny. I just add it in right at the beginning, stirring it into the sauce mixture. Usually at least a couple of tbsps. I have made it both with boneless chicken breasts and thighs. Both work out well.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 April 13, 2010

This recipe is the best! It's so easy to make, I almost feel guilty serving it to my husband and friends, but the rave reviews I get each time I make it assuage that somewhat! I like it with spicy mustard, and it's turned out great whether made with powder or "grainy" boullion. I use regular boullion and omit the salt, though. It works just fine. This dish always comes up when my husband is discussing his favorite foods or how well I cook. Thanks so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ketchupqueen October 24, 2003

Awesome dish, Anne Hamilton led me to this great dish. Once you get the skin off the chicken it's smooth sailin'! I didn't add salt, it didn't need it at all. I only used 6 chicken thighs, but I think next time I'll cook more... the leftover meat would be great for sandwiches! The sauce (cranberries, onions and all) was also fabulous on plain rice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kearl March 03, 2004

This is one of the easiest recipes I have ever made for dinner. I made the following changes: I used 6 thighs but kept the other amounts the same. Didn't have beef soup mix so I used onion, and substituted rice vinegar for apple cider. Cooked on high for 4 hours, which I thought was a bit too much but DH and my sister just loved it. Served with some mushroom fried rice (which was so good I posted the recipe) and stir fried pea sprouts. Thanks Lennie, your recipes never disappoint.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl December 01, 2003

This is very good and easy to make. Personally, I would have liked more cranberries, so may add some raw cranberries next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 December 10, 2011

It wasn't horrible but I wont make again. The sauce blackened on top of the chicken and it was just weird! It did tast WAY better the next day tho. I added peas into the crock pot the last 10 minutes and added cornstarch to thicken since it was really watery

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman February 15, 2010

Very good! I used 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts and thickened the sauce and added the rest of the can of cranberry sauce right before serving. I served it with seasoned wild rice mix. It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 September 10, 2009

This is for my own records, I'll put a rating up when it's done! Made this Mar 31, 2009 - Used half a large onion, chopped; 4 BLSL chicken breasts, frozen; 1 can whole cranberries in sauce; 4 beef bouillon cubes; white vinegar; mustard as called for; 1/2 tsp salt (hope it's not too salty, I used regular beef bouillon cubes!!, didn't realize it called for low-sodium and wondered why it called for so much salt!). Finally remembering to rate it. We thought it was great! Tastes a lot like the recipes calling for onion soup mix and catalina dressing, but simpler and from scratch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mich26 June 07, 2009

Great recipe. Like some of the others, I thickened the sauce with a bit of cornstarch at the end. My girls each loved it and it is a definite keeper in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
longhornmom September 03, 2008
Crock Pot Cranberry Chicken