Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Cranberry Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cranberry Chicken

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2002

      Thanks Lennie, for posting such a great tasting recipe. I loved the cranberries and sauce in this dish. I used boneless, skinless thighs and cooked for about 7 hours. It was almost too easy and I thought maybe I would feel some guilt about not slaving away in the kitchen....but no! It was so good. It is indeed a dish to serve company, and I will do just that. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      I have made this a number of times, and we really like it. I prepare my own cranberry sauce from fresh cranberries, using the entire bag or cranberries, so I normally have more than 1 cup of sauce. You definitely need to add in cornstarch or the sauce is too runny. I just add it in right at the beginning, stirring it into the sauce mixture. Usually at least a couple of tbsps. I have made it both with boneless chicken breasts and thighs. Both work out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      This recipe is the best! It's so easy to make, I almost feel guilty serving it to my husband and friends, but the rave reviews I get each time I make it assuage that somewhat! I like it with spicy mustard, and it's turned out great whether made with powder or "grainy" boullion. I use regular boullion and omit the salt, though. It works just fine. This dish always comes up when my husband is discussing his favorite foods or how well I cook. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2004

      Awesome dish, Anne Hamilton led me to this great dish. Once you get the skin off the chicken it's smooth sailin'! I didn't add salt, it didn't need it at all. I only used 6 chicken thighs, but I think next time I'll cook more... the leftover meat would be great for sandwiches! The sauce (cranberries, onions and all) was also fabulous on plain rice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      This is one of the easiest recipes I have ever made for dinner. I made the following changes: I used 6 thighs but kept the other amounts the same. Didn't have beef soup mix so I used onion, and substituted rice vinegar for apple cider. Cooked on high for 4 hours, which I thought was a bit too much but DH and my sister just loved it. Served with some mushroom fried rice (which was so good I posted the recipe) and stir fried pea sprouts. Thanks Lennie, your recipes never disappoint.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      This is very good and easy to make. Personally, I would have liked more cranberries, so may add some raw cranberries next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      It wasn't horrible but I wont make again. The sauce blackened on top of the chicken and it was just weird! It did tast WAY better the next day tho. I added peas into the crock pot the last 10 minutes and added cornstarch to thicken since it was really watery

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Very good! I used 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts and thickened the sauce and added the rest of the can of cranberry sauce right before serving. I served it with seasoned wild rice mix. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This is for my own records, I'll put a rating up when it's done! Made this Mar 31, 2009 - Used half a large onion, chopped; 4 BLSL chicken breasts, frozen; 1 can whole cranberries in sauce; 4 beef bouillon cubes; white vinegar; mustard as called for; 1/2 tsp salt (hope it's not too salty, I used regular beef bouillon cubes!!, didn't realize it called for low-sodium and wondered why it called for so much salt!). Finally remembering to rate it. We thought it was great! Tastes a lot like the recipes calling for onion soup mix and catalina dressing, but simpler and from scratch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Great recipe. Like some of the others, I thickened the sauce with a bit of cornstarch at the end. My girls each loved it and it is a definite keeper in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Easy and a huge hit. I used skinless chicken breasts cut into 3" strips. I substituted jellied cranberry sauce because that's what I had and added 2T cornstarch in the last hour to thicken the sauce. Served over white rice with steamed asparagus. My husband raved and suggested it would be a good meal to serve company. Thanks very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This was any easy recipe to prepare with ingredients I typically have on hand. I had 10 thighs, cooked for five hours on low was perfect. If time allows, next time I will thicken the sauce a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Had this last night for dinner and I thought that it was fantastic. I only cooked it on low for about 5 hours and it came out tender as ever. The house smelled so yummy when you walked in. The prepping was also so easy. I sure will be making this again. I served it last night with buttered noodles. Next time I will do rice and serve the chicken right on top. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      I'm not sure what I did but this was barely edible. No one could eat more than 1 piece of chicken. I used boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into thick strips. They were partially frozen and I only cooked them on low for 5 1/2 hours. The sauce pretty much burnt. I'm glad everyone else enjoyed it so much,maybe I'll try again when I can be home to watch it. Thanx for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      We loved this. You must use either store bought or homemade cranberry sauce though. This makes for a very sweet sauce for the chicken. We used homemade cranberry sauce and bone-in chicken breasts. It was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      How good can it get? Quick to put together, easy and tasty? I like the texture of chicken in the crockpot and the sauce with this dish is delicious, served with creamy mashed potatoes, broccoli and corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Aw Lennie, I'm so very sad to have to give such a low review...it must have been something I did surely, since others obviously didn't have a problem with this recipe. I have a new crockpot, and am keen to try new recipies in it so when I saw fresh cranberries at the supermarket (these are not well known here in NL) and while browsing recipies spied yours, I thought Great, a way to use these unfamiliar fruits". I couldn't find whole berry cranberry sauce anywhere so put half of my package of berries in the blender and kept the other half whole.. followed the rest of the recipe as directed...and cooked for 6 hours on low. The chicken was falling apart tender... but sadly the cranberry taste was nowhere to be found and there was a small puddle of watery fluid in the bottom of the crockpot. The reason I have given only two stars is that somehow the cranberry flavour really got lost and the complete and overwhelming taste in both the chicken and the 'sauce' was vinegar. Both DH and I tried to eat it, but it was not to persevere with, so sadly this recipe is one that I will chalk up to experience and just say that it simply didn't work with what I had available. Maybe I should have added sugar or something sweet? who knows ? the cranberries are gone from the supermarket shelves now so maybe next year when they are back I might try again. I'm delighted that it works for other people, sad that it didn't work for me. At least I had a go ... and some things are always more successful than others in life. regards.. andria :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Served this to guests at New Year's, and the chicken literally fell right off the bones! I cooked it for 8 hours on low. This will definitely go in the keeper file - easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      The chicken was flavourful, however the sauce wasn't really usable - watery and the cranberry disappeared. (It was homemade cranberry sauce so maybe that was the problem.) Would give it another try, but would like to get the sauce working.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      My husband loved this dish. He says it is a keeper. I used a package of chicken thighs that needed to be used up. Easy and tasty. What more could you ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cranberry Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.0
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    16%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 102.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1013.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 27.9 g
    111%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium beef bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes