32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was okay. I made exactly as specified, however, my family didn't really care for it. They ate it but said I don't need to make it again. It gets high marks for being easy, filling, and nutritional. Low marks for the taste (at least for our taste). I won't be making this again, per my family's request. Thanks anyways.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids January 19, 2010

I made this with regular baked beans and added some BBQ sauce, but followed the directions otherwise. Like many other reviewers mentioned, the Meat turned out so tender, yum. My family gave it just an ok, saying it was too sweet. Maybe it was the BBQ sauce I used. Next time I just might try it without the sauce.Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 25, 2009

Very quick and easy to prepare. Didn't have beans in bbq sauce, so added 1/3 cup bbq sauce and 1 Tbsp Brown sugar. Loved how the potatoes cooked up and tasted. Meat was extremely tender. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thehungrykiwi August 26, 2009

I thought this was tasty and definitely easy to make, my husband thought it smelled great while cooking, but prefers regular stew and only gave this dish an OK

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kel-Cie T August 17, 2009

I had some raw marinated tri-tip roast cut up into bite size pieces for fondue which I needed to to use up and found this recipe. Ridiculously easy recipe, of which I am a huge fan! It was good but I think next time I will either use fewer potatoes or more liquid as it was a little too thick. Leftovers were good, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saxonct May 14, 2009

Really good. I added corn and ground beef and a little bbq sauce and brown sugar and bMy family loves it! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizza Fetish February 19, 2009

DH loved it! Next time he wants me add corn and peas. He like corn and peas. I Really love that it cooks in the crockpot and there is no need to brown the meat. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Justin's Mom January 26, 2009

I thought this was pretty good. I was afraid towards the end of the cook time becasue I thought the last couple of hours it smelled scorched. But it didn't taste that way at all. I did make some substitutions but only minor ones. I did not have BBQ flavored baked beans since they are hard to find around here. So I added original flavor and a cup of my favorite BBQ sauce. I did end up adding a cup of water as well since I thought it was starting out pretty thick and it came out perfect. My husband loved it since it was in opposition to all the veggie filled meals I've been serving to him. :) Thanks for a nice change of pace.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DbKnadler January 25, 2009

Good food. Any combination of beef, beans, potatoes, and onions has to be good. Suggestion: use one whole onion, and add a can of chunky Ro-Tel. Your friends who love spicy will pester you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terryorr November 15, 2008

This was yummy, I didnt get how there would be enough liquid to cook it though, so I added some broth. I also added some sliced hot dogs at the end seemed like it would go with BBQ sauce and Beans and it was super yummy, I would make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcMom October 11, 2008
Crock Pot Cowboy Beef & Baked Beans Stew