Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Cowboy Beef & Baked Beans Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cowboy Beef & Baked Beans Stew

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2003

      Great recipe! Very tasty tender beef. I made enough for dinner for two days and it was even better the next day. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2002

      This is EXCELLENT!!!! My boyfriend and I just loved it- the consistency was great - almost like a chilli - thick and yummy! He said this is his type of food - he is a meat and potato man! We also thought this will be perfect for camping! WONDERFUL and easy- thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      I love beans and they go great with beef!! I added some chile sauce and that was all. I found the canned beans became a little mushy with 9 hours cooking but still tasted great. Next time I'll try some of my homemade beans (I just have to get around to making them) Good recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      Very good recipe...my husband loved it....he snuck in it before supper time ate some for lunch and supper lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This meal was a hodge-podge of false starts for us.... Yesterday I started the crockpot but when DH got home around 2 he noticed the power had gone out and the crockpot was not on. The meat was still frozen when I got home 2 hours later so I put it in the fridge and started it on low again early this AM. When I got to work today we got a call that my DIL was in labor so we rushed to the hospital where we stayed until our beautiful granddaugher was born. Got home at 6:45 and the house smelled FABULOUS and we had a delicious hot meal waiting for us in the crockpot. THe beans had pretty much turned mushy but still, this was SOOO good. We WILL have this again but hopefully won't cook it for 14 hours this time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This is straight-up comfort food. The smell of this cooking is incredible. I did find that it needed more salt after cooking, and the beans on the top got a bit overcooked and hard after cooking for 8 hours. But we enjoyed it. Went great with some thickly buttered bread. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      This was wonderful Mirj! We had it for supper tonight...I added a full onion instead of the 1/2 cup and it was still yummy...my hubby and kids really liked it..thanks for a great recipe, will be making this again..strawberryjane

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      Really liked this super easy recipe. I added string beans since I had a bunch on hand and it turned out pretty good. Next time I think I'll add the baked beans halfway through cooking (which I did on HIGH for 4 hours) to avoid the bit of mush they tend to turn into. Still its a keeper and I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I gave this recipe 3 stars. I got mixed reviews on this recipe. My future hubby wasn't nuts over this, my 7 yr old newphew didn't like it, I thought it was good. I wasn't sure about not peeling the potatoes but I didn't mind them. Overall I'd make this again for me. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Made this tonight. This was a hit here. I think the key is the beans and bbq sauce. There were no bbq beans at the store so I used homestyle beans and added 1 cup BBQ sauce. I used Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce and it was super. I can see that depending on the sauce you use it would alter the taste. This was definitely a hearty meal that received thumbs up from all but especially those meat and potato lovers. I Didn't put the beans and sauce in until 3 hrs in and it helped with the beans hardening that others had experienced. Would make again. This was in my Betty Crocker Slow Cooker Magazine from 2001 but I am glad Mirj had already posted it. Thanks Mirj. Made with with Easy Rolls Easy Rolls. It was a nice combo. Enjoy ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was okay. I made exactly as specified, however, my family didn't really care for it. They ate it but said I don't need to make it again. It gets high marks for being easy, filling, and nutritional. Low marks for the taste (at least for our taste). I won't be making this again, per my family's request. Thanks anyways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I made this with regular baked beans and added some BBQ sauce, but followed the directions otherwise. Like many other reviewers mentioned, the Meat turned out so tender, yum. My family gave it just an ok, saying it was too sweet. Maybe it was the BBQ sauce I used. Next time I just might try it without the sauce.Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Very quick and easy to prepare. Didn't have beans in bbq sauce, so added 1/3 cup bbq sauce and 1 Tbsp Brown sugar. Loved how the potatoes cooked up and tasted. Meat was extremely tender. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I thought this was tasty and definitely easy to make, my husband thought it smelled great while cooking, but prefers regular stew and only gave this dish an OK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      I had some raw marinated tri-tip roast cut up into bite size pieces for fondue which I needed to to use up and found this recipe. Ridiculously easy recipe, of which I am a huge fan! It was good but I think next time I will either use fewer potatoes or more liquid as it was a little too thick. Leftovers were good, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Really good. I added corn and ground beef and a little bbq sauce and brown sugar and bMy family loves it! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      DH loved it! Next time he wants me add corn and peas. He like corn and peas. I Really love that it cooks in the crockpot and there is no need to brown the meat. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I thought this was pretty good. I was afraid towards the end of the cook time becasue I thought the last couple of hours it smelled scorched. But it didn't taste that way at all. I did make some substitutions but only minor ones. I did not have BBQ flavored baked beans since they are hard to find around here. So I added original flavor and a cup of my favorite BBQ sauce. I did end up adding a cup of water as well since I thought it was starting out pretty thick and it came out perfect. My husband loved it since it was in opposition to all the veggie filled meals I've been serving to him. :) Thanks for a nice change of pace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Good food. Any combination of beef, beans, potatoes, and onions has to be good. Suggestion: use one whole onion, and add a can of chunky Ro-Tel. Your friends who love spicy will pester you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This was yummy, I didnt get how there would be enough liquid to cook it though, so I added some broth. I also added some sliced hot dogs at the end seemed like it would go with BBQ sauce and Beans and it was super yummy, I would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cowboy Beef & Baked Beans Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.2
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    12%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 60.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 925.9 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    48%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites