32 Reviews

Great recipe! Very tasty tender beef. I made enough for dinner for two days and it was even better the next day. I will make this again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! January 17, 2003

This is EXCELLENT!!!! My boyfriend and I just loved it- the consistency was great - almost like a chilli - thick and yummy! He said this is his type of food - he is a meat and potato man! We also thought this will be perfect for camping! WONDERFUL and easy- thank you!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greyghost July 17, 2002

I love beans and they go great with beef!! I added some chile sauce and that was all. I found the canned beans became a little mushy with 9 hours cooking but still tasted great. Next time I'll try some of my homemade beans (I just have to get around to making them) Good recipe

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo April 07, 2002

Very good recipe...my husband loved it....he snuck in it before supper time ate some for lunch and supper lol.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweethonesty24 Fleming February 05, 2003

This meal was a hodge-podge of false starts for us.... Yesterday I started the crockpot but when DH got home around 2 he noticed the power had gone out and the crockpot was not on. The meat was still frozen when I got home 2 hours later so I put it in the fridge and started it on low again early this AM. When I got to work today we got a call that my DIL was in labor so we rushed to the hospital where we stayed until our beautiful granddaugher was born. Got home at 6:45 and the house smelled FABULOUS and we had a delicious hot meal waiting for us in the crockpot. THe beans had pretty much turned mushy but still, this was SOOO good. We WILL have this again but hopefully won't cook it for 14 hours this time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks July 21, 2009

This is straight-up comfort food. The smell of this cooking is incredible. I did find that it needed more salt after cooking, and the beans on the top got a bit overcooked and hard after cooking for 8 hours. But we enjoyed it. Went great with some thickly buttered bread. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ November 17, 2003

This was wonderful Mirj! We had it for supper tonight...I added a full onion instead of the 1/2 cup and it was still yummy...my hubby and kids really liked it..thanks for a great recipe, will be making this again..strawberryjane

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberryjane November 06, 2003

Really liked this super easy recipe. I added string beans since I had a bunch on hand and it turned out pretty good. Next time I think I'll add the baked beans halfway through cooking (which I did on HIGH for 4 hours) to avoid the bit of mush they tend to turn into. Still its a keeper and I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyBitchinKitchen March 18, 2013

I gave this recipe 3 stars. I got mixed reviews on this recipe. My future hubby wasn't nuts over this, my 7 yr old newphew didn't like it, I thought it was good. I wasn't sure about not peeling the potatoes but I didn't mind them. Overall I'd make this again for me. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut January 31, 2010

Made this tonight. This was a hit here. I think the key is the beans and bbq sauce. There were no bbq beans at the store so I used homestyle beans and added 1 cup BBQ sauce. I used Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce and it was super. I can see that depending on the sauce you use it would alter the taste. This was definitely a hearty meal that received thumbs up from all but especially those meat and potato lovers. I Didn't put the beans and sauce in until 3 hrs in and it helped with the beans hardening that others had experienced. Would make again. This was in my Betty Crocker Slow Cooker Magazine from 2001 but I am glad Mirj had already posted it. Thanks Mirj. Made with with Easy Rolls Easy Rolls. It was a nice combo. Enjoy ChefDLH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH January 20, 2010
Crock Pot Cowboy Beef & Baked Beans Stew