Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2003

      Well, after the long 10 hours, the small potatoes were still semi-hard, but it is a great dish, the meat was superb. I downsized the recipe online to 6 people but it barely fit in my big crockpot. It's a good recipe, I guess I need to do it again to get it perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      I've made this for the last 5 years for St. Pat's Day, and it's wonderful! The potatoes depend on your crock pot. I've made this in 2 different ones; one cooked them perfectly, the other runs cooler and the potatoes don't quite get cooked. Just finish them in a pyrex in the oven. I corn my own venison, and this recipe works perfectly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Yummy! My hubby said he doesn't like corned beef but I made him try it anyways and he loved it! :) Now he wants me to make it a regular meal. Thanks! PS. I did add the packet that came with the brisket and instead of pepper I used 6 peppercorns.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I Plan on making this Tomorrow for Actual St Patricks day dinner. My question is... Do I add the spice packet and stuff that comes with the Corned beef or leave it out? It doesn't say in the recipe. Another poster said she used the spice packet that comes with the corned beef so thinking that's what I should do.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I made this last year for a company dinner, and it was overwhelmingly decided the best dish present! I'm getting ready to make it again for home this year. My wife doesn't like cabbage, and she's never had corned beef, but I've promised her she'll love this recipe! Thanks to the creator of this dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      LOVED IT! Made the recipe exactly as described and it was delicious. I've only made corned beef one time before and I just boiled it on the stove with the little spice packet that it came with. What a difference!! The Guiness added such a great flavor to it, and the leftovers just got better and better. Even my kindergartener and 18 month old liked it!! This is the first recipe that I have made off of this website, and I will certainly be coming back!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I will never make corned beef any other way. I thought the toughness of the meat was from not having high quality. I was not cooking low and slow enough! It nearly fell apart into lovely, fragrant, tasty-tangy pieces. Tender, lovely!!! The crockpot method made all the difference in the world.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Great corn beef and cabbage recipe. Could not have been easier and the results were great. There was plenty for everyone, with lots left over. I see some cornbeef on rye sandwiches in my lunch box on Monday. I didn't change a thing on this recipe--the recipe is perfect as it. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      I skipped the veggies, and just did the corned beef in the beer and spices! It was great! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      Wonderful! The first recipe I made in my first crockpot. Super successful: easy to make, the veggies all came out perfectly cooked, the meat was tender and delicious, and DH loved it. The largest corned beef brisket I could find was 2.67 lbs; there's just enough left for two meager sandwiches! I made this exactly as called for except for throwing in the spice packet that came with the brisket. Thanks Rita, this recipe goes into my new "My Favorites" cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      This recipe produces perfect textured corned beef that is tender and still moist. I wanted this recipe for just two people so I got the zaar printout for two - For veggies, meat & liquid the changes were fine but you cannot cut the spices and herb back to 1/4. I cut them back to half of the original recipe and they were just right.. The crockpot cooking time was 7 hours and I added the potatoes & cabbage after 5 hours, turned to high for 45 minutes and then back to low. Everything came out just right. Very enjoyable meal Thanks Rita it's a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      This was the first time I used the crockpot for Corned Beef and Cabbage...it went together nicely and was quite good...Really enjoyed this recipe...Thank you, Rita...Sharon P.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      Delicious Corned Beef, It was so tender. I belive that it the beer that makes it so tender. I did cook it in my big dutch oven on top of the stove. I had way to much for my crock-pot.I served it with your Irish Soda Bread. Love that recipe. This was enjoyed by everyone.Thanks for the recipe ,Rita

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2003

      I liked the addition of parsnips and mustard. I also added 2 tbls of apple cider vinegar. Meat was very tender and this was much easier than doing on top of stove.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      If you like parsnips this is the meal for you. We had never had parsnips before and I found the smell while they cooked revolting. And the meat and vegetables tasted like parsnips. We will be leaving the parsnips out next time. The meat was very tender and was good because you couldn't taste the parsnips very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      This was easy to put together that's where the two stars come from. This amount of food barely fit in my 6 qt. crock pot. Eight hours would have been plenty, the meat was starting to go dry. Vegetables stewed in beer was just not my thing. I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      a couple of things: I substituted ΒΌ teaspoon dry thyme for fresh, added 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar, added the packet of spices that came with the corned beef and added the juices that where in the pouch with the corned beef (only because it said I should).......but I gotta tell ya, this was excellent.....everything was cooked perfectly (I would use larger chunks of carrots next time 'cause they were a bit over cooked) I only have 1 question. Three of us ate a 3 lb. beef. How could you possibly feed 8 to 10 from this recipe ??? (Hint: always use the flat corned beef. It's a much leaner cut.)I'll never cook a corned beef in boiling water again !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (853 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 843.0
     
    Calories from Fat 295
    35%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 166.6 mg
    55%
    Sodium 2311.3 mg
    96%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.6 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 39.0 g
    78%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites