Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2003

      Ths corned beef was the best I think I've ever had. It was fall apart tender. I did add 4 small red potatoes quartered and omitted the vinegar (as my DH dislikes it). This is a great hit at our house and will be made lots. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Vinegar allows meat to absorb seasoning!! So for those worried about the flavor coming through, unless your using a ton of it...no need to worry! Vinegar is used in many meat marinades.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      I'll be honest- I wasn't too thrilled- the corned beef was very tender, which was great, but I felt as though it lacked in flavor. However, the beef was very tender and it was very easy to make, I wouldn't want to discourage anyone from trying this recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      This was the best corned beef we ever had and also the easiest to make. I only used 1/2 head of cabbage and added some carrots with a 4 lb corned beef brisket and cooked it on low for 10 1/2 hours in a 6 qt. crockpot. Next time I will add some cut-up potatoes. Thanks Miss Annie for posting this. We will be making this recipe every year for St. Patrick's Day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      This was the FIRST meal in our BRAND NEW crock pot. Hey, I'm a guy and I did this one alone. It was soooooo simple and tasted well enough to make the irish smile. Oh ya, made the wife happy also to have a sunday off from cooking *smile*. It's a keeper, I'll do this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2002

      Miss Annie, I have prepared many corned beef recipes, but never one quite as easy, flavorful and fall-apart tender as this one. I prepared this without the cabbage because I basically wanted the corned beef to make Ruben Sandwiches. I can't wait until supper tonight! (I of course, had to have a little sample before hand! :) I will be using your recipe for our corned beef from now on! Thanks for yet another winner, Miss Annie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      Great taste and simple to make.It was a big hit for St.Patricks day dinner.Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      My husband loves his corned beef and cabbage; his grandmother is German/Irish and a very good cook. "Oma" was suprised when I told her I was making a corned beef in the crockpot; she never prepared it this way before. I made this for dinner tonight and got a definite 5 stars out of DH; I thought it was very good as well. I had a 2 3/4 lb brisket and cut the ingredients in half. I'll be making this for St. Patricks Day, and many times over. You can't get any easier than this crockpot version. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

      This is very good and very easy. I used my 5 quart crockpot. I wasn't able to fit all of the large head of cabbage in, but I packed in what I could. I love cabbage prepared this way. I saw "savoy" cabbage in the store and wondered if anyone uses it in this type of dish. I decided to stay with the "ordinary" cabbage for the time being. I used 4-1/2 pounds of "uncured" corned beef, because that happened to be what I found in the store yesterday. For the first time, it wasn't too salty for my husband's taste. I added salt to my own and everybody was happy! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      This is very good, but PLEASE heed the warnings about the overcooked cabbage. I used a smaller piece of meat (almost 1/2 the size of the recipe) in a smaller crock pot, so I was only able to get about 1/2 of the cabbage in there. After cooking on low for several hours, my cabbage was mush (I was at work so unable to take it out early). Fortunately, I still had the other half, so I ladled the cabbage out of the pot, parboiled the other cabbage and some red potatoes, and placed them in the crock on high the last hour. I threw the overcooked cabbage away. It was nasty. The meat is fork tender, and if I had planned from the beginning to put the cabbage in later, it would be a perfect dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      I've made this a few times and it's true, if you put the cabbage in at the beginning it's mush. I add it in an hour before I serve. I don't min the onions being mush because those add to the flavor of the meat but I want to eat the cabbage. I also add a few potatoes in with the cabbage to boil. I've tried the other recipes with beer or lager but I prefer this recipe. You can really taste the flavor of each ingredient. Yummy and easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Easy recipe with delicious results! The only suggestion I have is to add more water to help absorb some of the fat that comes out of the brisket. Also, I add the cabbage an hour before done and it comes out perfectly. Don't be afraid to add the vinegar... You can't taste it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Tried it today for my wife and myself. Tops. Had made an Irish quick bread with raisins and had a Winter Lager on the side. Could not have been any better. Thanks for the great recipe, Geo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Great recipe...very well received by the "menfolk" for St. Patrick's Day dinner. I didn't add the cabbage, as I had my heart set on my fav Frizzled Cabbage. I have cooked this in the past with beer, and think I prefer it that way, but am VERY satisfied with how this turned out. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Yummy fast, quick and oh sooo good. Almost the whole roast was eaten up in one setting. I love dishes you can make and forget about it until dinner. I cooked cabbage seperately as there were so many reviews that said it was overcooked. I also added 1/2 of the season packet from the corned beef. Update: March 11 2010 I sent recipe to a friend and she cooked a 3 1/2 lb corned beef for 6 hours and it was tender and tasty. though she used the whole amount of liquid called for + as I, she also used season packet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This was sooo good. I've never made corned beef before and didn't know what to expect. I cooked the corned beef in the crock pot the night before with the onions and red potatoes. Then, the next day when I got home from work, I just seperated the corned beef from the onions and potatoes. I put them in seperate baking dishes with a little juice in each baking dish and put the remainding juice in one more baking dish. I put the cabbage in the last baking dish and cooked at 425 degrees for about 45 min covered. So yummy and an easy! I surely will be making this again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      I do a lot of crockpot cooking, especially as the weather gets warm. This corned beef and cabbage turned out delicious. The meat was very tender and juicy. I cooked a 4 lb. corned beef brisket in my 6 quart crockpot. I was able to get a small head of cabbage and the onions all in there. I let it cook all day and we had a fabulous hearty meal. Thanks for a great recipe, Miss Annie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Heed the vinegar. I love vinegar so added a tablespoon extra......WAY too much. I think I will use half of what is recommended next time or not use at all. Also had a ton of liquid left over so will consider using half. Otherwise, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      Absolutely the best recipe! I added potatoes to the bottom of my slowcooker. It turned out to be the best I ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      We love this recipe, and eat it year-round. I use 4 cups of water, 6 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar and 6 tablespoons of sugar. This is the most tender corned beef I have ever tasted; it literally just falls apart. I don't do the cabbage part of it though; instead I opt to make http://www.food.com/recipe/simmered-cabbage-100417 Thanks for such an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (621 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1398.1
     
    Calories from Fat 873
    62%
    Total Fat 97.0 g
    149%
    Saturated Fat 32.4 g
    162%
    Cholesterol 499.8 mg
    166%
    Sodium 5830.3 mg
    242%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 96.2 g
    192%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes