10 Reviews

the first time I made as recipe stated...CAME OUT GREAT!!! Second time I used a box of generic chicken/sage stuffing mix istead of the bread...GREAT ALSO AND EASIER...omitted the sage

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
em... September 01, 2005

Awesome recipe and so easy - thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUSAN N. November 25, 2010

So delicious! My husband said it tasted just like his southern mothers homemade version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrJennyP December 07, 2008

5 stars for the ease of this recipe! I really liked the stuffing, and received many compliments, but it tasted mostly like cornbread. I think it could use more seasoning to give it more of a stuffing taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krittlin November 30, 2008

Thank you so much for this recipe...I made this Sunday for my Thanksgiving Dinner(3 days late) and my DH said it was better than my mother's(He has been eating her's for 29 years). I thought that was the best compliment he could have given me and your recipe. I did leave out the bell pepper, but other than that, used the recipe exactly....5 stars.... Thank you Nancy......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki Kiddy November 28, 2007

We make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving and at other times just because we love it so much! I've never put in the peppers, so I don't know how that would taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmattu November 01, 2007

Great taste! Used it at T-givng and everyone loved it! A few changes for next time: saute onions & bell peppers until "sweat" point or they will still be crunchy when dressing is cooked. Also added a little fresh parsley to the mix. Used french bread instead of reg white bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingMissy December 11, 2006

Great flavor! I used the the green pepper. The texture was a little too moist for my liking, so I ended up putting it in the oven for a little while, too. My very picky husband asked me to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn and Lane November 25, 2004

We needed the room in the oven so I thought I'd give this crock pot recipe a try. I was a bit skeptical of the canned soup but was pleasently suprised. Followed the recipe exactly but ommitted the green pepper. It was a big hit with the family. It fit our needs to a "t".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnvac52 December 01, 2003

Follow this recipe closely but did add more celery. It was a great hit at a family meal as a side dish for a ham boiled dinner. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook March 04, 2003
Crock Pot Cornbread Dressing