Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Cornbread Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cornbread Dressing

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2011

      I tried this today and loved it! I was lazy and used Kroger cornbread stuffing mix for the cornbread and 4 whole wheat hamburger buns for the bread. I had some dehydrated chopped onions and celery, and used that instead of fresh. I used the poultry seasoning and no added salt. I also threw in a couple of large cans of chopped, cooked chicken breast, rinsed and drained. It could easily pass as my family's usual holiday dressing! Thanks for such an easy and good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I totally love this dressing. It was a blessing to free up my oven on Thanksgiving and it tastes every bit as good as what I used to bake in the oven. I do add more celery. dried parsley and poultry seasoning along with the sage because it seemed a little bland for us. Otherwise, I follow the recipe exactly and it always comes out moist and delicious. Thanks Nimz for one of the best recipes I've ever found online!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      I love,love thid recipe.It is so easy to make, even if you have to half the recipe it is easy !!!I make this at every holiday and usually every other month as well.It is so moist and tasty.Thank you for giving me such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This was made in addition to a different stuffing used in turkey. Everyone said it was good, but I guess I prefer a drier, crunchy topped dressing. So, I baked the leftovers the next day and it was great. I will be making this again next year but will put in oven to brown and "crisp" after taking turkey out to rest. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      My family wasn't very impressed with this and no one could really pinpoint why. I was really looking forward to trying out a stuffing/dressing from scratch this year for Christmas, but it didn't go over well. I threw all but maybe 1/20th of it. :( I followed the recipe exactly, so I don't really know why this was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This tastes just like my dressing, and fit the bill perfectly, since I had absolutely no room in the oven for my dressing this year! I did put the dressing under the broiler for a little bit to crisp it up on the top, but thats just a personal preference for me. Loved this! I'll make this again, and I'll try it with the chopped up chicken too for a great meal after work. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for PRMR tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Last year I drove three hours to spend Thanksgiving for relatives and they fed us Stovetop stuffing. This year I was determined not to miss the dressing. I knew their oven would be tied up so I found this recipe to use my crockpot. Followed the recipe exactly and everyone raved. They have asked that I bring it again next year. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I've actually made this recipe twice in the last 4 days. I doubled the recipe both times. The first time it came out way too soupy. We ended up having to take it out of the crockpot and put it in the oven to dry it out. The second time I again doubled it but only used 6 eggs, 3 cans of soup and 3 cans of broth. Anyway, despite the problems I had with the first batch I must say that this is one of the easiest and most flavorful stuffings I've ever made and will definitely be making it again.l Thanks Nimz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2014

      This was the best dressing I have ever made. I doubled it for my large crockpot and halfway in I realized I didn't have all the ingredients to double. Used 5 eggs and just the 2 cans of soup. It was amazing. I did keep it on high for 2 hours then low for the rest of the day. Moist and fluffy. Very forgiving also. Add more sage onions and celery if you like them. The veggies cooked down and we're not crunchy so watch the cook time if you like them that way. Everyone agreed this is now the recipe of choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      Best dressing ever! I used seasoned croutons instead of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      This is--hands down--the best dressing I've ever eaten. I only have one issue with it- the saltiness. I'm sure it would have been even better if I had used low-sodium broth or even homemade broth. I also omitted the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      The flavor is really good but the recipe called for too much liquid. I let it cook a little longer to see if it would dry out. It didn't. I may have saved it by adding additional cornbread. Hopefully it will help to soak up the liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      I made this today for Thanksgiving dinner - Great recipe. I have been looking for a good dressing recipe for years and this is it. Not too dry- not too moist just perfect. My family all really like it - and I love that it can cook in the crock pot. I used 2 jiffy corn muffin mixes for the cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      Fabulous recipe! My mom made wonderful dressing but I've never been able to duplicate it. Now I don't care! This is just delicious. Moist and tasty and so easy! The added benefit is that it requires no oven space! Thanks for sharing! Definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      This was really good. I am going to play around with this to fit my texture preference but this is a keeper especially to free up oven space. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      Have never been happy with dressings. I have made thru the years,but this one is great,Itwas so moist and tasty. I will make this every time now for holidays

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      I finally decided to try this recipe after seeing it several times. Needless to say, it is wonderful to have dressing that is not dry, AND to be able to prepare it ahead of time. I used regular cornbread, and would probably add a bit more onion next time (family preference). Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      This recipe gets rave reviews for taste. Also, for the ease of preparation and not using a burner on the stove. It is a nice addition to the Thanksgiving table. We made it as written but it came out soupy or oatmeal like consistency. I will definitely have to scale down the liquid next time as I prefer a slightly firmer texture to my dressing/stuffing. Love it though.
      Tomorrow we will eat the leftovers after I dry some out by toasting it in the oven.Thanks for sharing Nimz. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      this is the BEST recipe I have used for cornbread stuffing and it frees up my oven! I went easy on the sage and added Herbs de Provence and it was spectacular!! Not gummy and not dry. Just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      This was soo yummy. I wasn't sure about the corn bread at first but it was really good. I haven't really found a cornbread mix I like so I make my own corn bread using cornmeal and the recipe on the package... Update: June 3rd, 2012: This is a requested recipe now. Everyone loves it and there isn't usually any leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cornbread Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.6
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    51%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 65.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 563.9 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cornbread

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes