Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Coq Au Vin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Coq Au Vin

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2013

      The base flavors of this recipe are good but it just didn't work in the crockpot. The sauce never thickened up even after adding 3 times the corn starch and waiting another hour. I ended up pouring the sauce into a pan and boiling it for 10 mins on there. Of course I now had too much corn starch so it got super thick. Next time I will just make this on the stove.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      I looked at a LOT of Coq Au Vin recipes, and used this one. It got RAVE reviews from everyone that ate it! I was a bit worried when I pulled the chicken out of the marinade and it was deep purple...but, all was great in the end! I did add a bunch more carrots (a whole bag of baby carrots) and mushrooms, and also some stock to the crockpot. But, this was wonderful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      The amount of prep it took for this recipe is well worth it when you are done. I used boneless skinless chicken tenders (they're about 1.5" wide and 5" to 6" long) and cut them in thirds. Probably didn't need to do even that since the chicken we so tender after being cooked the pieces fell apart while serving. I used nearly all of the Burgandy (only about 1/2 cup left) and it made a lot of the wonderful gravy. The only thing I didn't like as much was the mushrooms were pretty salty since they were done in the bacon grease. Next time I will do in butter. May also use turkey bacon next time. Will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

    • on October 23, 2009

      This took a fair amount of prep work before getting everything into the crock pot. The end result was something special and worth the extra effort. Moist chicken, incredible flavor, rustic look but something I would serve guests. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This was a superb dish! I used bonless/skinless chicken. If you go that route don't over work yourself by cutting the chicken into pieces - talk about a pain in the neck! The chicken falls apart beautifully on its own :) DH can't stand onions, but these pearl onions won his heart, they are definitely the star of the show. Instead of measuring the Burgandy wine, I just poured it over the chicken. Big mistake! I ended up not having enough marinade. Ooops! Don't do this at home kids ;) We served this over brown rice and topped it with some hot sauce (cause we simply can't get enough. Ha!). Will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, halved. Apart from omitting the tomato paste (personal taste preference) and using some of MarraMamba's The Simplest Tomato Sauce Ever (Marcella Hazan) 273976 in its place, and doubling the garlic, I made this exactly to the recipe. Simple to make and a great end result. Loved the wine in this recipe. An enthusiastic response from those who ate it. Made for New Zaar Stars Tag. Thanks for sharing this recipe, mikekey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Outstanding! Although it was a little more work than I usually like to do for a crock pot dish it was well worth it! The flavor in this is amazing. I will definitely be making this dish again, thanks Mike!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      What's not to like about red wine, chicken and veggies?! I used chicken breasts, turkey bacon, extra veggies, and included new potatoes. I had to sub a quartered onion, since I couldn't find pearl onions (fresh or frozen) at the store where I was shopping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I made this as written using chicken thighs. It made a very tasty stew. Next time I'll use skinless chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      This was wonderful!!! I used Burgundy and I also used Boneless skinless chicken thighs with the cooking time 6 hours on low. FABULOUS!!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I had made Coq Au Vin before but this was the first time in a crockpot. Do not try to reduce the fat in this dish by omitting the bacon because to me, it just makes the dish. This is easy enough for every day but the taste is wonderful enough to serve to company or on a special occasion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      This dish was approved of by three generations of eaters...that's 5 stars in my book! I followed the easy directions exactly except for one small detail...our power was out because of a bad storm and I used my propane range top to cook the stew on low for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. I did dust the chicken thighs with a bit of seasoned flour before browning them, hoping it would thicken the sauce a bit, which it did. The chicken was very tender, and the flavor of the sauce was outstanding. My daughter wants the recipe since finding something that the whole family enjoys, especially picky toddlers is rare. We will be making this dish often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Coq Au Vin

    Serving Size: 1 (978 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1594.8
     
    Calories from Fat 847
    53%
    Total Fat 94.1 g
    144%
    Saturated Fat 28.1 g
    140%
    Cholesterol 378.7 mg
    126%
    Sodium 861.0 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 93.6 g
    187%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen pearl onions

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites