15 Reviews

The base flavors of this recipe are good but it just didn't work in the crockpot. The sauce never thickened up even after adding 3 times the corn starch and waiting another hour. I ended up pouring the sauce into a pan and boiling it for 10 mins on there. Of course I now had too much corn starch so it got super thick. Next time I will just make this on the stove.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaineyGirl24 February 21, 2013

Good, not great. There's no depth of flavor. I followed the recipe as instructed, and attempted to add more layers, using the bacon fat to sauté the mushrooms and the chicken, adding more salt, pepper and spices. But the flavors seemed muddled to me. Also, I used skinless, bone-in chicken thighs (yes, leaving the chicken skin on would have added more flavor, but I didn't want the extra fat) and, after leaving in the crockpot for the required time, all the meat fell off the bones (which is a good thing) leaving all the bones floating around in the mixture (which is not a good thing). I think next time I would sautéd garlic and chopped onions in the bacon fat (and maybe some celery), add more thyme, some chicken stock, and even some cognac or brandy. It's a lot of prep for a crockpot recipe too, which would have been OK had the outcome been more flavorful, but it wasn't my favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
altitudemama January 26, 2015

This did not turn out well at all. Thought I'd try bringing out my inner Julia Child - I think she skipped town. It turned out very bitter - even the carrots, which is unusual. Not sure if the slow cooker cooked out all the flavor as sometimes happens, or if the wine I used was not right for this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. November 23, 2014

I looked at a LOT of Coq Au Vin recipes, and used this one. It got RAVE reviews from everyone that ate it! I was a bit worried when I pulled the chicken out of the marinade and it was deep purple...but, all was great in the end! I did add a bunch more carrots (a whole bag of baby carrots) and mushrooms, and also some stock to the crockpot. But, this was wonderful. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetEnd May 11, 2013

The amount of prep it took for this recipe is well worth it when you are done. I used boneless skinless chicken tenders (they're about 1.5" wide and 5" to 6" long) and cut them in thirds. Probably didn't need to do even that since the chicken we so tender after being cooked the pieces fell apart while serving. I used nearly all of the Burgandy (only about 1/2 cup left) and it made a lot of the wonderful gravy. The only thing I didn't like as much was the mushrooms were pretty salty since they were done in the bacon grease. Next time I will do in butter. May also use turkey bacon next time. Will definately make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaturdaysDinner August 11, 2010

This took a fair amount of prep work before getting everything into the crock pot. The end result was something special and worth the extra effort. Moist chicken, incredible flavor, rustic look but something I would serve guests. Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 23, 2009

This was a superb dish! I used bonless/skinless chicken. If you go that route don't over work yourself by cutting the chicken into pieces - talk about a pain in the neck! The chicken falls apart beautifully on its own :) DH can't stand onions, but these pearl onions won his heart, they are definitely the star of the show. Instead of measuring the Burgandy wine, I just poured it over the chicken. Big mistake! I ended up not having enough marinade. Ooops! Don't do this at home kids ;) We served this over brown rice and topped it with some hot sauce (cause we simply can't get enough. Ha!). Will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene December 05, 2008

I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, halved. Apart from omitting the tomato paste (personal taste preference) and using some of MarraMamba's The Simplest Tomato Sauce Ever (Marcella Hazan) 273976 in its place, and doubling the garlic, I made this exactly to the recipe. Simple to make and a great end result. Loved the wine in this recipe. An enthusiastic response from those who ate it. Made for New Zaar Stars Tag. Thanks for sharing this recipe, mikekey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder July 25, 2008

Outstanding! Although it was a little more work than I usually like to do for a crock pot dish it was well worth it! The flavor in this is amazing. I will definitely be making this dish again, thanks Mike!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle May 05, 2008
Crock Pot Coq Au Vin