88 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious & oh so easy! Cooked this overnight, and by lunch the next day had BBQ sandwiches. Used 2 lb pork roast, kraft original BBQ sauce, & Coke. Very sweet tasting sauce.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Naner~ February 27, 2003

I rubbed the roast with some sprinkles of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I placed a couple onion slices on the bottom of the crockpot. I used Dr. Pepper and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. In fact, I was in a hurry and turned the crock on high. The roast still turned out great. It tasted just like the bbq at a national bbq chain restaurant. Thanks for this recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby August 06, 2009

I thought this recipe was fun and easy. You should have seen the looks I got when I opened the cola! I liked the flavor of the sauce- it didn't over-power the pork. I did add some chopped onion. Will certainly make this again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjane October 21, 2002

Wow! This was just unbelievable. I was afraid, reading a few other reviews that the Coke flavor would be too intense. However, it was really faint, but DELICIOUS! My mom and I adjusted a few things: First of all, we added some S and P (salt and pepper), just to allow the flavors to pop. I added a bottle of Bulls-Eye, and a few squirts of Dr. Pepper BBQ Sauce (Dr Pepper BBQ Sauce). It may seem like a lot of BBQ sauce, but this meat is so absorbent, it just drinks it up. Second, I used Caffeine Free Coca-Cola (a tip from my science teacher). Third, I cooked it in less time: During my snack break (when my mom lets me take a "brain break"), I poured the CF Coke over a beautiful pork roast Mom got yesterday. I let it go in the Crock-Pot on high for 6 hours, finishing it up on low for 1 hour, because when it did finish up, it was just falling apart. This is simply wonderful. We're having it for dinner tonight!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staticat09 March 25, 2010

At first I didn't have success with this recipe as the 12 hours that the recipe says to cook was too long. So I tried it a second time a week later only cooking it about 8 hours total. Then I added the sauce after I took the meat out and shredded it and did not return it to the crock pot. And behold!!! A recipe that was a husband pleaser. This will become a staple in our household.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KandyKaneTaylor January 08, 2010

This is the basis for perfect pulled pork! I've made it countless times and perfect it even more each time. I suggest you add sliced onions and/or pepper to the mix as well while slow cooking. Delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camart March 09, 2010

This is something I make often and my hubby loves it, but I had never used cola and now I will never do it any other way! I was surprised that we could actually detect the cola flavor. It was delicious! I cooked a 5 lb roast and poured one can of Caffeine free diet pepsi on top (that's all the soda we had). I cooked it on high for 8 hrs, drained and shredded the meat. Then poured about half a can of soda and a bottle of BBQ sauce (Kraft) over the top. Mixed it well, then cooked it one more hour on high. It was perfectly delicious! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurplePen July 18, 2009

This recipe was so simple I think my 6 year old could make it. I cooked this overnight, drained in the morning and added my KC Masterpiece, onion and more coke. We trimmed trees all day long so this was the best lunch after a hard days work. My brother who hasn't been over for dinner much was real surprised at my BBQ Sandwiches. Compared them to this place that we go to in Centerville. Now that is a compliment!!!! This recipe is a keeper!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krysten-marshall May 03, 2011

This is wonderful! I bought a bottle of Coke and poured half on the pork when I first put it in the crock pot. Then in the morning I poured out the juices and then poured the rest of the bottle of Coke on it along with the BBQ sauce. I used Open Pit and it was spicy enough to balance out the sweetness of the Coke. Will make again and I can't wait to freeze some of the batch I just made.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellyandie May 14, 2008

Very Tasty. Followed the recipe but did roast it on top of a bed of onions in the crockpot. I also seasoned the meat with salt & pepper before cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieGirl23 February 11, 2008
Crock Pot Cola Barbecue Pork Roast