14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't usually like canned soups in a recipe, but this is an excellent exception! Did make change of adding a bottle of clam juice to intensify the clam taste. Will have this again. Thnx for posting, Ang11002.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter November 30, 2008

This is very good clam chowder, especially considering how easy it is. I replaced the whipping cream with skim evaporated milk, and used fat-free half-and-half. It will definitely be a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ken Wood February 25, 2004

We really enjoyed this soup and it couldn't be easier. Following some of the other recommendations I used fat free Half n Half and added potato flakes but next time I will try the trick with the lid to see if that thickens it. I may also add more clams. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz September 03, 2010

This was a very good basic recipe. I like my chowder a little thicker so ended up adding a second can of clam chowder. First I sauteed a medium chopped onion in a tablespoon of butter and added a couple of tablespoons of dry sherry and cooked down. I then added this to the crockpot. I also added some cod pieces and some bay scallops. The fish cooked a little faster so had to remove them. Next time I'll add later. I also added a couple of teaspoons of freshly ground pepper and half a teaspoon of celery seed. I couldn't taste the celery soup. I did like this and will make it again. Thanks for the recipe Ang.... Lee

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoolMonday March 26, 2004

I also used fat free half and half and tweeked it with some pepper and a bit of garlic. Super easy; super good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mer@ March 21, 2004

Fantastic and so easy! I did add 1 small diced onion, 1 large chopped potato, a handful of bacon bits, some minced garlic and a little salt and pepper. Absolutely delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yume March 04, 2014

This was very easy. I accidentally added double the clams, and chose not to drain them. Initially the soup was too thin, but I took another reviewer's suggestion to use potato flakes. That worked great. I mixed about 1/2 cup flakes with enough soup liquie to make it smooth. I added that to the soup then sprinkled small amounts over the soup and stirred it in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F September 22, 2009

If you want a little more clam taste I added 1/2 small bottle of clam juice and 2 cans of the mini clams. Also, to thicken it to your desired consistency you can add instant mashed potato flakes (just add a little at a time stirring between). That way you don't compromise flavor or thickness!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thefifficks April 09, 2009

This is very good and so easy. I replaced both creams with skim evaporated milk, and fat-free half-and-half as did previous reviewer. Thanks for a quick clam chowder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 December 27, 2008
Crock Pot Clam Chowder