Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2009

      Fabulous! I added a cup of chopped celery (a standard for me), 1 clove of garlic, 1 T butter, and a couple of extra potatoes. Lovely, thick, rich and tasty!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Restaurant quality! I used 3 cans of clams instead of 2 and was perfect!! Not sure why others have said it was salty. Even using all the clam juice I still had to add salt. Maybe the salt pork is saltier than bacon? The 2 T of cornstarch was better for me because it made it the perfect consistency. I also used half and half, not milk. I've done this in crock pot and stove top and it turned out better on stove top. I don't think things thicken up as well in the crock pot. GREAT clam chowder and so simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Very good chowder! I added about half the salt and still found it a bit salty for my tastes so would add less next time. I used clam broth rather than water, so that may have been the reason for the saltiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Very good recipe.. although i added some bay leave and rosemary at the last hour of cooking in the crock pot. my kid cant get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I skipped the bacon and followed the rest of the recipe exactly (using the stove, not a crock pot). Was quite tasty. I mashed a few of the potatoes to thicken it up a bit. Could have used some more flavoring, but that's probably my fault for skipping the bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      We really liked this but thought it could have benefited from less liquid and more seasoning, I'm sure that's because we don't eat pork so there was no seasoning from the bacon/salt pork. The first time around I used red potatoes, 2 12 ounce cans of baby clams, and a half a can of cream of chicken soup at the end to try to thicken it up a bit. I'm making it again today and have cut out half-cup of water, am using russet potatoes, a dash of salt & pepper, and a dash or two of liquid smoke to help with the smokey flavor the bacon would have provided, if we had used it. By cutting the liquid I hope to get a thicker chowder. All-in-all this was a GREAT recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I did this stove top and found it a very good recipe. It was a last minute(almost) thing for supper. Everyone enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Excellent. I used an extra can of clams cause I'm crazy for clams - and I used non-fat half and half. My husband loved it. The entire pot was gone in two days and there's only the two of us. Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      This was just so very, very good that I hugged myself and did a little dance when I tasted it. Like others, I did not drain the clams but just poured in the entire cans. I thought the bacon made it incredible, but my man thought he might prefer it without only because it's obviously no longer crisp. If he cooks this, he can make it that way, but as long as I'm the one cooking I'd absolutely add bacon at least to mine. Thank you so much for posting both crock pot and stove top versions. I intended to do crock pot, but I didn't get it ready in time, so I went with stove top. It's always a nice bonus to have super clear instructions and alternative methods without having to guess, especially since I'm still just learning to really cook and don't always do so well when left to my own guesses. I did add about 3 tablespoons of cornstarch (mixed first in the half and half or a little water) by the time all was said and done just because we like it a little thicker. It was still not super thick but also not very thin. I cannot wait to have leftovers tomorrow! Thank you for posting such a wonderful winner recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Very easy recipe & very tasty. I did not drain the clams, used 3 large potatoes, 1 teaspoon sea salt & a whole pound of thick-sliced bacon. We like our chowder a little on the thicker side & it was pretty thin even with the max cornstarch. I would have just cooked it longer (without a lid) on the stove, but since I had it in the crockpot I stirred in a can of cream of chicken soup & then let it heat through while I warmed a loaf of sourdough bread. We were all really happy with the flavor. The color was on the tan side because of the chicken soup but the soup didn't detract from the clam/bacon flavor. Thanks for posting, we'll be making it again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I made this for a bunch of people I was having over for lunch and it was so good I ate almost all of it and had to make more. This is the best clam chowder I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      Great chowder. Made this for our Super Bowl Sunday meal. I followed the recipe exactly, and was not disappointed with the results. I think maybe the clams could have been added during the last hour or so of cooking because they were slightly tough after 3 hours on high. This was, however, a great, filling meal. I will definitely try this one again. (Hey, did you guys see Paul McCartney during half-time? -- Rock on!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      I enjoyed this chowder. Mine seemed to have a bit too much potato in it. I will use one less potato next time. I did use fat free evaporated milk and that tasted fine. I might try fat free half and half instead when I do it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2004

      I made this recipe in a 3 quart crockpot, so I halved the quantity. I also added about a cup of corn (i.e. two cups if not halved) and left out the bacon/salt pork. It turned out perfectly! Excellent consistency and cooking time, and the flavour was as good as it gets. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I wouldn't have liked it as much with the bacon and without the corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      I loved this! My mother used a butter/flour roue (sp) instead of cornstarch,and left out the bacon. She also used evaporated milk. It was Amazing! Tasted just like Seattle. Brought back memories of home long forgotten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      An easy but very tasty clam chowder. I enjoyed being able to cook it in the crockpot. I cut back on the salt some and we felt it had plenty. The instructions didn't say whether to drain the clams or not but I didn't. It could have been thicker, and I did use 2 Tbls. cornstarch, but it had a lovely flavor. I used half and half. Thanks for posting this recipe papergoddess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (522 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 571.7
     
    Calories from Fat 340
    59%
    Total Fat 37.8 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 17.1 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 100.1 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1534.3 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes