Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Cincinnati Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cincinnati Chili

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2002

      Where is the chocolate? Cincinnati Chile MUST have chocolate in to truly be the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This recipe was a real winner in our house. I did add a bit of cocoa powder, and used chicken broth in place of the water, and it turned out delicious, with real depth of flavor. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      My husband and I loved this! We had it "5 way" for dinner last night, and we both took it to work for lunch today. It reheated beautifully. We left out the paprika due to an allergy and added a couple of squares of chopped chocolate. Our crockpot seems to get too hot even on low, but this cooked on low for 6 hours and was perfect. It reminded us of Hard Times Cafe, too. Since we only get there once a year or less when we visit friends 4 hours away, that is a real bonus!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      I was looking for a crock pot recipe for Cincinnati Chili and this one did not disappoint!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Wow! My hubby and I loved, loved, loved this recipe. As others suggested, I added a TBSP each of cocoa powder and Worcestershire sauce. I cut the cayenne and red pepper flakes in half, to 1/4 tsp each, added a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce and omitted the water. Cooked it on low for 8 hours. Boy, was it good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Missing a few ingredients to be considered authentic Cincinnati style chili. My girlfriend worked for Skyline Chili for a few years. Add Nutmeg, Cocoa, Worcestershire Sauce. Needs some taken out too.Take out Oregano, Thyme, Basil....not to mention the diced tomatoes and tomato sauce (these two give it a tart flavor it shouldn't have). It should have been tomato paste instead with plain water. For a regular chili recipe it's pretty decent though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This is really good. I served it over thin spaghetti with cheese. I threw the leftover chili in the freezer and pulled it out two weeks later. Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I added a couple of squares of unsweetened chocolate, 1 tbs. brown sugar, and blended the finished chili to the consistency of hotdog chili, as recommended by other cincinnati (skyline) chili recipes. DEEEELISH!!! Also, I put the crockpot on "warm" setting overnight and it was at a low simmer in the morning. PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      Wow, this is fabulous. I knew nothing about Cincinnati Chili before this week, but I'm hooked! I slept in this morning & didn't get to put on the crockpot, so made this on the stove tonight. I followed the recipe, except the cooking method. DH had his 4 ways & I had mine 3 ways. Can't wait until tomorrow for the leftovers. Thanks Sue for sharing this winner & converting us to Cincinnati Chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This is wonderful stuff - like someone else had said, "strangely addicting"! The taste and nuance grew on us - you have to shed pre-conceived thoughts of what chili "should" taste like in order to roll with this recipe - we did & love it (though I could not convince DH to go for it on Spaghetti) on beans w/cheese, onions & sour cream. Followed recipe except I used dried beans I had boiled & soaked them prior to incorporating into recipe with a cup more water - Thank you Sue for a keeper recipe we will use again & again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This is okay. It is very easy and smells great while cooking. It isn't as good as other Cincinnati Chile recipes I have tried though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I thought this was excellent. I use it over spaghetti. My family thought it was great too. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Threw all the ingredients in before we left for the day and had fabulous chili when we got home. I use a little flour because my BH likes it thicker. The flavor was excellent. I love herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Awesome recipe. I followed it almost exactly, apart from not having allspice or red pepper flakes, and I used only a tiny bit of cinammon as I tend to find it overpowering. It turned out wonderfully. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      Sue, You have a real husband pleaser in this one! My DH raved on and on during dinner how this was even better than Hard Times Cafe (his favorite cincinnati chili place!) I laughingly asked him how many stars should I give it and raised 7 fingers...it would have been ten but he was holding a piece of bread. Hee Hee....He also said what he like best about it was that it wasn't the heat that you tasted, it was all the flavors exploding your mouth. This is a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      My husband really enjoyed this chili and started into it after 4 hours of cooking (couldn't wait for the 7 hours). He said it is definitely a 5-star. I tasted it and it was a bit too spicy for my 'sensitive' tastebuds. Since I used 1.15 lbs of extra lean ground beef I only used about 3/4 of a single onion. The whole onion seemed to be too much for the amount of beef. Rotel tomatoes were used for the diced tomatoes. I'm sure we will be having this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cincinnati Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (548 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 835.7
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    26%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 112.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1042.6 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.4 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 13.9 g
    55%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 53.2 g
    106%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes