Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chuck Roast with Coffee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chuck Roast with Coffee

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2013

      This was a great recipe and very easy. My roast was small so I reduced the onions to a quarter cup of diced sweet onion, half a clove garlic, hot instant coffee, and Tamari (instead of soy sauce - less salty). At the end the cooking time, the chuck was removed to add the whisked cornstarch mixture carefully into the liquid, whisking all until well blended. Then I put the meat back in for half an hour on high. The sauce thickened to produce a rich delicious dark gravy and the meat was moist and succulent. It was easier to shred the meat than slice it with a knife it because it was so tender. I served the meat and gravy over hot egg noodles. Awesome comfort food. Definitely a keeper recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      Di, We really enjoyed this dish. The gravy was very rich, dark and had a great onion flavor. I recently bought my first crock pot and this recipe was the "maiden voyage". The only thing I did different was to brown my roast first on the stove then deglaze the pan with the coffee. I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      I cooked up the onions first as the crock pot just doesn't cook 'em enough for me. I just put the onions in and the meat on top, added the rest of the ingredients and let 'er rip!! With mashed potatoes it was a great comfort dish. Thanks Di

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      I thought this was absolutely fabulous! My husband and I are on a low carb diet, and I served this with a veggie and salad. It makes a delicious, thick brown oniony gravy, which we just served over the meat, but it would be so good over mashed potatoes. Easy to prepare too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This is a good pot roast. We thought it was a little salty for us. I added potatoes, carrots, celery and mushrooms. Thanks for posting. Made for Comfort Cafe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      The roast smelled terrific when we walked in the house after letting it cook in the crockpot all day. I couldn't wait to try it, so I ended up putting the juices in a saucepan to thicken on the stove. I shredded the meat and served the meat and gravy over noodles. I could see adding mushrooms to the crockpot. I enjoyed the dish but the rest of the family didn't care for it, so I probably will not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Great pot roast!! I chose this recipe to make for the Comfort Cafe Event as a theme for using coffee to make dinner. I did make this differently in that I browned it on both sides, then added the onion, garlic, coffee and soy sauce. I covered the pan and then baked it in the oven for 3 1/2 hours. I added potatoes to the pan last 1 1/2 hours of cooking for a meal in one pan. I then used a mixture of seasoned flour mixed with water to add to the pan drippings for the gravy. My family really enjoyed this meal and didn't have a clue that coffee was used in the cooking the meat. Thanks for sharing DiB's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      OUTSTANDING!!! I just finished eating this roast and I loved it! My husband loved it also. I made egg noodles and put the gravy over them and was it YUMMY! Thanks for a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      EXCELLENT! Our family LOVES this pot roast...it is just foolproof (and trust me, I can mess up a roast)! I made this over Easter weekend while my parents were visiting, and my Mom asked for the recipe when she got home! THANK YOU!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Couldn't decide which pot roast recipe I wanted to try, so I combined 3 of them, the gravy at least was mostly based on this one. I think maybe a touch strong on the soy sauce, but good gravy none the less. Added 2 tsp beef base, a pkg of onion & mushroom soup mix, 1/2 cup marsala wine, and a bunch of veggies for an easy 1 pot meal (2 thinly sliced sweet potatoes & 1 cup each coarsely chopped carrots, celery & mushrooms). Cooked on HIGH for 6 hours and the meat came out very tender. Thanks for providing a great base for my pot roast tonight. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      Sorry - we didn't care for this receipe at all. Not sure what happened (everyone else gave it 5 stars). I made it exactly as written. The "gravy" didn't thicken up for me. My DH is a gravy lover - but did not like this at all. It left a wierd after taste in our mouth. Sorry, we won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      This recipe saved my supper! I thought I had sirloin steaks and was preparing them according to a previously chosen recipe. As I was browning them, I realized they were CHUCK steaks! That would require a lot more time cooking! I ran to my trusted \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'Zaar to find another recipe. This is what I found. Instead of cooking in the crockpot, I browned the steaks, then proceeded with the recipe as directed. I cooked them for an hour and a half and they turned out FABULOUS! Thick, rich brown gravy, tender meat! KEEPER, for sure! Thanks DiBs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chuck Roast with Coffee

    Serving Size: 1 (430 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 711.3
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    34%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 299.3 mg
    99%
    Sodium 1378.4 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 98.8 g
    197%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes