267 Reviews

Made this tonite. MMMM!!! Cut the chops into cubes and served with spiral noodles. Very easy and VERY good. I think chicken would work well too, so will try it next time. Thanks!

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dallice June 13, 2002

G'day. Fantastic recipe. I substituted half a cup of Pepsi for the brown sugar. I always use a little Pepsi or Coke as a sugar substitute in casseroles, it gives a richer, fuller flavour. (If you've never tried cooking with Coke you don't know what you're missing.) Try a few drops of Tabasco for extra kick, and brown the meat and onions first. I've tried this recipe with kangaroo steak and crocodile as well as chicken, and it works perfectly every time.

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ian Snell July 17, 2002

My husband and I enjoyed this dish, but next time I will eliminate the brown sugar. It was a little to sweet, and we prefer a more savory flavor. It was very simple and, like others mentioned, the smell all day long was great. Instead of cooking it on LOW for 5 1/2 hours, I cooked it on HIGH. The meat just fell off the bone! Thanks for a "keeper".

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassaroo July 03, 2002

This is definitely a "make again" recipe. The aroma while cooking had us anxious to taste it and it was really worth the wait. The chops were tender and succulent and the sauce was sweetly zesty. We made it just as written. Served over mashed potatoes, it made a wonderful meal especially with fresh bread to sop up the sauce and nothing more than dill pickles and olives to accompany it. Even our 18-month old grandaughter liked it. We didn't brown the meat in advance and it came out perfectly. A really easy but delicious meal.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike in NC June 30, 2002

Kari I already gave your recipe 5 stars (wish it could have been more) but I just had to say I made it again and almost popped. There wasn't too much left over but I put the pork in my electric chopper, then into a bowl and mixed in some of the sauce,salt & pepper, heated it in the microwave and made the best sandwich I've had in a long time. I think I'm going to take some of it and put it in won ton wrappers and make it as dumplings next. Can't wait to try it.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn September 09, 2002

Reminicient of Swiss Steak ala Pork. Enjoyed this recipe over home made egg noodles. A good basic sauce for beef, pork and chicken.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr. Bill in TN June 23, 2002

As last I tried this recipe. It is a great combination of ingredients. A fantastic crockpot recipe!!!! I particularly liked the combination of the cider vinegar and the brown sugar. Although, I only used one scant tablespoon of brown sugar and this still gave the meal a delicious sweet and sour taste. I found that the vegetables were cooked to perfection and were soft and the meat just fell off the bone. I think that this is an economical meal as we had 3 adult serving, 3 containers of left overs for our lunches the next day and a small container of the sauce is in the freezer to pour over hot rice for maybe one or two people. We will definitely cooking this recipe again.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo August 06, 2002

Okay Kari-had to try the recipe that "dethroned" me from the number one spot! Followed your recipe exactly, except for the rice-I served it over pasta! Fantastic! Loved the tinge of sweetness the brown sugar gave off, and the chops were so tender and juicy. I usually make pork chops with a brown gravy but you've expanded my horizons! This would work equally well with chicken or beef, in my opinion!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper July 28, 2002

This smelled great as it was cooking, but my meat-eating husband was not thrilled (though he finished his plate.) Leftovers just sat in the frig.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi July 09, 2002

This was fantastic. My husband is hard to cook for and he went back for thirds. I forgot the cornstarch and water at the end so all I did was mix the rice and sauce together Mmm, Mmm, Mmm. I will be making this again.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PA Cindy June 21, 2002
Crock Pot Chops That Will Make You Eat Til You Pop!