267 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am with reviewer Marcia Smith on this one. It was not bad but I don't think it deserves the highest rating on the site. I tried it and followed the recipe faithfully and was quite disappointed. I tasted as I thought it would ...sweet and somewhat ho-hum. The best that can be said for it is that it is easy and for those with weak teeth, the chops are tender. I would far rather marinate a boneless pork steak and grill it. I have given it one star and am not sure it deservs that. I prefer to give good reviews but this recipe has been so over-rated that I felt I should help to correct the balance.

148 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janice Gill August 05, 2002

I gave this recipe 1 star because the pork chops were tender. The sauce was way to sweet. I would not make these again. I threw all the left-overs away. Sorry!

100 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris brossard July 09, 2002

What did I miss? I made this recipe and was dissappointed in the results. I told my husband, someone hasn't had good porkchops. Yet, as I read the comments, I wonder what I missed. I used butterfly cut 1" center loin chops. Sorry--can't say we enjoyed these or that they are worth sharing. Too soupy on the veggies and broth.

91 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcia Smith July 08, 2002

Well these were tasty enough, but I don't think I would make them again. The veggies never got soft, the onions were practically raw! And I chopped them small, too. Kind of disappointing after all the great reviews. I did follow the recipe word for word. I did save the leftover sauce for some other possible use, but I would have to cook down those crunchy veggies. Family will only eat crunchy veggies in salad, not in a sauce. Sorry, the flavor is there, but it needs some work.

74 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao August 02, 2002

Made these according to recipe today. I rechecked the recipe after eating them to make sure I didn't forget something as I was expecting them to be really out of this world. I'm not a big stew person and this was very much like a sweet stew to me. The pork chops definitely got very tender and that was nice. They weren't really bad, but no one said they looked forward to having them again. Maybe being from South Texas, I just was missing some spice and heat.

71 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXHomemaker July 07, 2002

I'll have to hop on the bandwagon with this one!! This recipe is outstanding!! I doubled the recipe, as I used 8 boneless pork chops. Threw it all in the crockpot and went swimming for the day...came home to lots of yummy smells!! I only had a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes on hand, so I used them, and I also cut the veggies into a bit bigger chunks. The pork just fell apart when you tried to take it out of the sauce. YUMMY!! We ate this over cooked egg noodles b/c my family's not wild about rice. Lots of yummy sauce to sop up with the noodles. Thank you for posting this...definitely a keeper:) ~Manda

69 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda June 21, 2002

Miss Kari from New Orleans and now in Denver: This recipe is OUTSTANDING!!!! I followed your recipe exactly and can't say enough about how much DH and I enjoyed it over rice. Just for the info, I used boneless loin chops, cut the veggies in rather sizeable chunks and used "Cajun Recipe" stewed tomatoes. Thanks to you and Mirjam Dorn's "Crockpot Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken" (#16531) I have 2 absolutely fantastic and beyond belief crock pot recipes. Hats off to you both!

59 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1TexasLizard June 05, 2002

Had company for dinner - hot, muggy day so crockpot it is! Well this recipe went over in a big way. The scent from it while cooking is heavenly and lets people know they are in for a treat. I served it with new tiny potatoes and the sauce over them was great Thanks Kari for an easy hot day, any day tasty meal UPDATE: When I made these chops I had some sauce left over which I froze. Well last night I just browned 2 skinless chicken breasts, poured this sauce over them simmered until cooked and served the breasts with the sauce poured over plain noodles - another great meal from the same great recipe

58 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 17, 2002

My crockpot went on the fritz this morning, as I was loading it with ingredients. Changed over to a covered roaster and slow cooked in the oven. Absolutely delicious. The smell while cooking was incredible. Will definitely make again.

57 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom June 17, 2002

This was great, but I did make one change to the recipe. When I was putting it all together, I found that I was almost out of ketchup, but I had part of a bottle of Heinz Chili Sauce in the fridge. So I used it instead of the ketchup. I think that this sauce would work great with pork steaks, pork ribs or even beef ribs. Great recipe!

53 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl June 13, 2002
Crock Pot Chops That Will Make You Eat Til You Pop!