Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chocolate Mud Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chocolate Mud Cake

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on February 29, 2004

      Easy to make and very tasty. Loved the chocolate cake on top and fudge sauce on the bottom. My kids and dh also loved this cake. Ideas and Tips: This recipe calls for a lot of water - 1 1/2 cups. I thought it seemed like too much water but it worked out great. I used Hershey's Cocoa instead of dutch processed. Eat with ice cream! The brown sugar should be put in with the hot water. Put a couple of paper towels on top of your crock pot - cover with your lid. The lid will collect condesation. It won't fall back onto the cake because of the paper towels. Lift the paper towels off carefully when removing lid so the water doesn't fall on to the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I doubled this for my 5 qt cp. I did not use the egg yolk. It took 2 1/4 hours to cook. Then I turned if off and let it sit for 3 hours until after dinner. It was fabulous. I served it with whipped cream or ice cream. The kids loved the ice cream with the sauce over it. Even my picky son loved this! This is alot like betty crocker's hot fudge sundae cake, but my kids liked this one better! Thanks Ridgely! UPDATE: Ok, I made this for the 10th time, but this time I make it with Gluten Free Flour mix and Rice flour for the "flour", I used coconut oil and palm oil shortening in place of the butter, used the egg yolk, AGAIN this was doubled for my 5 qt. and only 1 out of 6 kids that had some didn't like it! It gave it a more fudgey cake top and the sauce was thinner, but it was still wonderful! Kids fought over who would get the last bit the next day!! Very forgiving and versatile recipe. SIDE-NOTE: Dutch-processed cocoa and Hershey's baking cocoa can be used interchangeably, as they are the SAME. Dutch-processed is said to make sure you don't use hot chocolate mix. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      OMG - thank you for a delicious idea. Even though I accidentally overcooked it (forgot to turn off the slow cooker after the cake had aleady pulled away from the edges) it was very moist and tasty. We served it with icecream - incredible. One thing - be certain to squirrel away a little for the following morning. The self restraint will pay off as the cake is FABULOUS with a cup of coffee the following morning. It was served in the morning as a breakfast: 1/2 cup rolled oats with a sprinkling of dried cranberries; add scoop of cake and microwave for 30 seconds. Next, carefully pour 1/2 cold milk down the side of the bowl and top with handful of almond accents. The cold milk sets off the warm cake, and the salty almond accents sets off the sweet cake and dried cranberries. SUPERB recipe - thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      cake is dry and stiff I made it good change to 2 teasp bkin powder 2 egg yolk 3 tablep sour cream cake now lite moist flavorful sep 2012

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Oh my goodness!! This was so easy and absolutely delicious. I made it this morning after I got to work for us to have for lunch. The whole office smelled absolutely wonderful. I used Hershey's cocoa and chocolate chips. Everyone loved it. Served it with vanilla ice cream...we had dessert before we had lunch!! Have to admit I was a little skeptical making a cake in a crock pot but I will definitely be making this one again!! Thanks for sharing such an easy and wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      I've made this cake twice. Once for my family and then once for a lunch at work. Both times all who tasted it LOVED it! I loved it because it was so easy too. For work I just started it in the morning and then when it was done, I turned off the crock pot and it stayed warm until lunch. Perfect! Will definitely be making this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I had this on high for maybe a little about an hour and a half but that was too long. My cake didn't pull away from the sides at all so I didn't realize it was done till it was too late; the cake ended up with a very thin blackish layer and very little sauce left. Still..... the rest of the cake? DIVINE. Still wonderfully moist and chocolatey - not too much chocolate, perfect amount of sweetness for me. It was rich but not too much so - actually a little lighter than I was expecting, maybe because there was very little of the gooey sauce left, but it was great. Just gotta keep a closer eye on the cake as it cooks next time (and there will definitely be a next time!) And for a more adult version, it's great with a little splash of Baileys right before snacking :) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      I made this tonight as a test before taking to my son's second grade class for them to make. It is so delicious! I had mine with whipped cream, my son had his plain. My husband will have his later, probably with ice cream. Whatever your choice, I really don't think you can go wrong. I used a generic cocoa, and it was still very yummy. I love that the cake is spongy. I would prefer there was less sauce, so I may try cooking is longer than 1 1/4 hours the next time (not for the class though). I also put a tea towel under the lid to catch all the water. That worked well. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I loved that this actually WORKED. Moist cake on top, rich chocolate sauce on the bottom. Unfortunately, there is an underlying bitter taste that isn't that well disguised by the icecream. A really fun dessert to make, but not an all time favorite in the flavor department. Thanks for a fun experiment nonetheless!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      What a wonderful, delectable, delicious chocolate cake! I can't believe how easy this was to make, and how well it came out. I cooked it for about 1.5 hours on high in my 6-qt crockpot, and it came out perfectly. The top cake layer was spongy and moist, and it rested on a melted-pudding-like layer of chocolately goodness. So delicious. Everyone raved about it. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is b/c I don't think it was sweet enough. Next time I think I'll try adding some more sugar. But thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Wow. This was extremely rich. It tastes great with coffee ice cream. Next time I may try using less vanilla because I could taste it slightly. I have a tiny crock pot (maybe 1.5 quart), and my cake was ready in an hour and a half. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      WOW! This cake is amazing, made it for the first time yesterday. Insane amounts of chocolate, absolutely delicious. This recipe is a keeper! I couldn't find Dutch Process cocoa powder, so i simply added 2 pinches of baking soda to the regular unsweetened cocoa powder. This balanced the bitterness perfectly for a sweet chocolate cake and sauce. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      ooh, this was so good. i have a big crock pot (6 quart, maybe?) so it was very thin and more "done" than i think it was supposed to be-- i guess next time i'll just have to double the recipe and invite a crowd!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      This was fantastic. I have done this twice now and both time have had rave reviews. Both times was for a church dinner for 60+ people. The first time we did it in crock pots as per the recipe and it turned out great although with 3 different crock pots timing was a challenge since they all cooked differently. The second time we made some modifications. We cooked them in the oven at 350 for 40 minutes covered in foil. We did double batchs in 9*13 bakers. (If you only need a single batch try a 9*9 square) Next time I think we will lower the temp to 300 and try for 1 hour cooking time as this time there didn't seem to be as much of the sauce and the cake was a little dried out on the top. Although still awsome. Also we used 1 whole egg instead of 2 egg yolks. An excellent recipe that will serve you well, no matter which way you prefer to cook it. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      This ruined all other chocolate cake for me! At first, I thought I'd done something wrong because mine didn't seem to be floating in anything, never mind chocolate sauce...and then we hit the bottom. The entire cake was moist, chocolately, saucy...HEAVENLY. It was fairly easy to make. I ended up using Hershey's cocoa because I couldn't find Dutch Processed Cocoa in our dinky grocery store but it was delish anyway!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      I made this recipe for a family dinner, and couldn't have been happier with the result! It was fantastic and enjoyed by all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      I tried this for the first time with company this weekend. I don't like to try new things for guests but it sounded good. Better than good. Everyone loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2003

      I made this for my husband and kids for Valentine's Day. I was nervous because I has never tried the recipe before, but it was AWESOME. I am a chocholic, but I doubt I will have any chocolate cravings for at least a month. I served the cake with coffee ice cream on top and poured some of the sauce over the whole thing. My two year old proclaimed me the bestest cook, so thanks for the recipe. I did omit the egg, (my son has an egg allergy) and I read the recipe wrong and did not add the brown sugar at the end, just the remaining granulated sugar. Regardless, they have already begged me to make it again. While I did not have much left to put away, it did taste good reheated too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Super delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      Excellent! My whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chocolate Mud Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.4
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    38%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 60.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 337.2 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 45.6 g
    182%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites