Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chili Con Carne With Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chili Con Carne With Beans

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2001

      Almost as hot as the title claims, but with a rich flavor. Made a big hit at a recent picnic. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2001

      The recipe wasn't hard to make, and the final product had a superb flavor. This chili is definitely not for sissies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2001

      Man This chili is good. Just won 1st place in taste and 1st place in the hottest. Never before has thie happen in our contest. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      this recipe rocks!!!! made it last week while working in the yard all day. nice to come into wonderful smells!!! the taste was great and just hot enough! easy to make and wasy to adjust spice levels throughout the day. I did make one change - used cut-up round steak instead of hamburger - IMHO chili is way better long cooked with steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      I was feeding sissies, so I cut back on the heat. I also substituted pastrami for the bacon, and it was Jewish chili heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2002

      FIRE!!!!! Not for sissies is the truth!!! We are iron tongue spice lovers here and this had all of us in tears! I would cut the cayenne in half (at least) next time. After a day or two it mellowed out though (don't get me wrong, still too hot for sissies!). It is THE BEST chili!! I made all of the ingredients "throw in the pot" ready the night before and let it cook away the next day. So easy! I added green (spanish) olives to the chili and topped each bowl off with chunked cheddar. YUMMMMMM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      I made this chili yesterday and it was awesome! I can never get my chili hot enough for DH but this time he was very happy. He said it was the best chili I have ever made! I was skeptical about the bacon at first and almost left it out but was glad I didn't it gave it a nice smokey flavor. This was fairly easy to put together too! A keeper! Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      Wow!!! This is definitely a keeper!! I halved the recipe since I wasn't going to feed an army and even at that I, like some of the other posters, chickened out and cut back on the spices. I served it with flour tortillas and topped off each bowl with cheddar cheese and onions. This is truly the best chili I've ever made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      This is the best chili I have ever had. I cut back on the hot stuff to try an acomodate to my wifes taste but it was still to hot for her. Some people just cant hack the stuff with some kick. I didn't mind though it just ment there was more for me. Loved it, will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      I made this chili yesterday, but when following the recipe, had second thoughts about the amount of spices. I chickened out and cut some of the spices in half. The end result was delicious and just hot enough. This is definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      I wish I could say that I loved this, but I did not. The smell was wonderful when it was cooking, but it just didn't satisfy my taste buds like I had hoped it would. I put 2 serranos in, but it really wasn't all that hot. I would probably make this again, but I will expirament next time to get the flavor just right!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      This chili was AWESOME! I made it for a party and it was a huge hit. I added garbanzo beans to it. The heat was perfect. It wasn't so hot that it took away from the taste, but it was definitely hot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I made this recipe, using only 1/2 the amount of spices, and my family loved it! It was a big hit with my son and his friends. I tried it using 3/4 of the spices and it was too hot for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      This is GREAT!!! I have made this several times and my husband loves it. I have also made a pot for a work pot-luck at work and it went over really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      i cooked this in a dutch oven at one of our summer camping trip. what a great one-pot meal! meaty, rich and full of flavor but not overly tomato-y. 10 coals on the bottom, 7 on top, 90 mins total, rotate every 15. perfect camping food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Great recipe. Cooked it for 10 hours on low and everyone loved it. I used the suggested amount of cayenne and some people found it to hot (they had to take breaks before they could finish it). I would suggest using 25% of the cayenne listed and taste it for heat. Add more cayenne if you want more heat. I also used chuck steak and cut it into cube instead of using ground beef. Overall, a great recipe that i will do again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Outstanding chili recipe, very simple and inexpensive. I made a third recipe and it came out perfect. I did add another can of beans though after I converted it on here. Excellent!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Reviews are right about the heat of this! I didn't add the chili peppers and it was still pretty mean. Added a couple of small packets of chocolate buttons and that seems to mellow it out. It's now going to be my staple chilli recipe - delicous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      WOW-WEE!! This is good stuff!! I can plainly see why it would win 1st place! I had to leave out all the "super spicy goodness" because my 7yr old would be eating it too but even without it it rocked! Changes made: I left out the cayenne pepper, jalapeno peppers, and fresh tomatoe (didn't have one or I would have added it) and I only put in half the chili powder. I poped it all in the crockpot on high for about 4 hours. Served with: Shredded sharp cheddar and sour cream and a grilled cheese sandwich. This will be my staple chili recipe from now own! Thank you soooo much! (^_^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This was very good. I scaled it down to serve 6 (but honestly it only fed 3 in our house). I halved the cayenne and deseeded the jalepeno (I was afraid...) but it was good and had just a little touch of heat. The bacon was great and the texture of the beef was broken down due to the long cook time. Yummy! DH said this is to be our staple "frito pie" chili variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chili Con Carne With Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 374.3
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    53%
    Total Fat 22.1 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 64.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 759.9 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites