Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chili Chili and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chili Chili and Beans

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2011

      The chili was very tasty but extremely spicy. I just added half the amount of chipoltle peppers and that was plenty hot for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      We absolutely loved this recipe. This will be the only one that I use from now on. I do recommend cutting back on the chipotle peppers...they are SUPER HOT!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I made this chili for work for about 20 guys. I followed everything but the meat...I used ground beef and pork instead. I made it for 24 servings which filled my 6-quart slow cooker to the rim. Every drop of it was gone within 15 minutes. Everyone said it was by far the best chili they ever had. Hot and spicy but not overly so. Was a GIGANTIC hit with everyone!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I love this chili! I've probably made it a dozen times. It's great to come home to! The first few times I made this I didn't have any canned jalapenos on hand and used fresh. These make a good chili but the canned peppers (which are pickled in vinegar) make a better chili! Add a dash or two of vinegar if using fresh peppers and you will see what I mean.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

    • on October 10, 2011

      This is an awesome recepie! I've been using it for along time now and make it quite frequently! Great with Cinnamon Rolls!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      These are really good. I cut back on all the hot ingredients by half and it was still really hot. The only other changes I made was using kidney beans and added more garlic. They have really great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      GREAT chili recipe...best I've ever made. This will be my go-to recipe from now on with a few modifications. Next time I'll use less chipotle peppers, they were SUPER hot! I left out the fennel since I don't card for it. I also added some frozen corn for color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      I made this chili for a church chili contest last summer. It won BIG. None of the other chili's even came close. I did make a few changes. I added: 1tsp Fresh ground black pepper, 1 tsp salt, 4 Tbl brown sugar, 15 oz can of black beans, kidney beans, and garbonzo beans. Also, 2lb extra lean ground beef and 6 cups smoked brisket. I put it in the frig overnight and then put in the a crock pot on low for the day. My mother used the same recipe and won another church contest this fall. By far the best chili ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      this was very, very good chili. i've made it twice now and both times the flavor was exceptional. i am a little afraid of "hot" spicy but i have to make it again next week for a christmas party and will add the 1/2 of the chopped chipotle chiles and 1/2 of the chopped green chili as most other people like it hot. it is certainly a keeper. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      We loved this recipe! My husband is asking for it again and I just made it last week. I left out the chipotle and green pepper, only used 2 cans of pinto beans, and used gound beef. I also added macaroni noodles for the last hour or so of cooking. Delicious! It has the perfect amount of spice and heartiness! Definitely will be my "go-to" chili recipe from now on! Thanks onlyme!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I've made this Chili many, many times now. In fact it just won me a wee tiny cook-off at work. :) Can't believe I'm just getting around to reviewing it! It's just delicious. I like to brown up the meat and then load everything in the crock-pot the night before. I just let it all sit overnight in the refrigerator and then turn it on in the morning when I leave for work. It's never suffered a bit. I've done it with and without the Chipotles and it's good either way. Oh, and I just use Italian Seasonings instead of the individual spices. It does make a LOT of Chili, so if it's just a couple of people you might want to cut it in half. This will stay in our rotation for sure! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This is the best chilli that I have ever made. However, I would adjust the chipotles next time. The ingredient list calls for 1 jar of chipotle, mine come in cans. I used 1 can (7oz.) and this is very spicey. So I'm wondering how much is 1 jar? Although my husband was in heaven as he loves things super spicey, I suffered later on, but all the time eating this I was mmming and aaaing as it is delicious. It was an easy recipe to fix and then toss in the crockpot to cook for the day. I did sub some ingredients but don't feel that it changed the flavor. I didn't have any tomatoe sauce so I used a small can of tomatoe paste, a 101/2 oz can of beef broth that was double strength. I didn't drain anything just opened cans and tossed in the crock. I do think that you could use other kinds of beans. I fixed this with Moist Cornbread and it was a yummy dinner. Thank you onlyme for posting this keeper. Shirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This was okay, a little to brown and smokey for me. After reading the reviews, I opted out of the chipotle chilis. I also did not add the fennel, didn't have any. I wished the chili was thicker. I served it over white rice with cheese and sour cream. I made this for the Comfort Cafe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This is taste awesome !!Thanks for the sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      WOW!!! I just made this awesome recipe and it was a SMASH HIT. Now granted... I wasn't cooking for a crowd, just my hubby, but he raved. I have to admit I am not much of a chili person either, but that's probably because I never had THIS chili recipe. I have marked it in my files as my #1 chili recipe since I got such a good reaction from it. Whoever you are who was so kind as to share this recipe with you- THANK YOU THANK YOU !!! I serve a lot of what I call "internet" food because I depend on the skills and the experiences of others to feed my family since cooking isn't one of my greatest talents But with help from people such as yourselves, I am too able to have success in the kitchen. You just never know who you're going to help along the way... so thank you once again for sharing this wonderful recipe with us internet folks. -Leone Burns

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      My kids even loved this chili, and they usually groan when I announce we're having chili for dinner. Excellent recipe- one I'm definintely using again! We had it for leftovers the next night and were just as happy to eat it again. ((I'm usually the only one who enjoys eating leftovers.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I could not find jars of chipotle chilis so I substituted a can of chipotles in adobo sauce. The recipe did not indicate what size jar. The chili was so spicy we could not eat it and I will have to toss out a huge crockpot of chili. I would try this again cutting it in half and eliminating the chipotles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Very nice chili. I used dried pinto beans (soaked overnight), and in place of the peppers in the recipe I used a fresh green chili pepper (chopped and fried with the onions), an orange bell pepper, and 1/2 a jar of jalapeño peppers. Came out a little on the spicy side for me (I'm a mild salsa kinda girl) but still excellent with cornbread and a big glass of milk. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      What a great chili! Apart from the false start of me forgetting to switch on the power point before going to work, once I eventually cooked this, it was great. I was surprised to be putting cocoa powder into a chili, but the combination of flavours was lovely. Thanks onlyme for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chili Chili and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (399 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 374.6
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    15%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 48.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 533.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 16.2 g
    65%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 32.1 g
    64%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites