Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken With Mushrooms and Leeks (Low Carb) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken With Mushrooms and Leeks (Low Carb)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2013

      This was a wonderful dish. The first one I attempted in my new crockpot. The flavor was excellent. I forgot to leave out the creme fraiche and needed to drain more of the sauce or maybe even reduce it on the stove to keep all the flavor. I would also reduce the cooking time or chill the chicken as mentioned by peeblyweebly.<br/><br/>I can't wait to make it a second time...it should be perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      I prepared this dish exactly as written and served it over Never Fail Popovers. This dish was delicious, hearty, and perfect served over hot popovers. I was proud to serve it to my family.<br/>Thank you for posting it on this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      I did not follow the instruction to leave the dairy products on the counter for the six hours it took the chicken to cook since that seemed like an invitation for food poisoning. It took nearly half hour to get all the ingredients chopped and ready to put in the crock pot. To slow down the cooking of the chicken to avoid it being overdone/dry, I put my chicken in the freezer for an hour before I put it in the crockpot. I used fresh thyme sprigs. After cooking for six hours, I drained off all but 1/2 cup liquid because there was just so much of it. But even leaving that little amount, after adding the dairy products the resulting sauce was very thin and watery. Although I like flavor combo of leeks and mushrooms this was kind of bland. I added salt, which was not on the ingredient list and that helped but this was still missing something. It was ok and we ate all of it but I don't expect to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      Delicious! I sauteed everything first and had to cook it in a dutch oven as, I had my slow cooker on loan. I did add more salt and pepper. I simmered for about 1.5 hours. My boneless breasts were small though. I may even try tenders next time! The flavors of this dish went perfectly together with the sour and heavy cream.
      Served over white rice and had green beans with almonds on the side. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Good, but like a previous reviewer I was expecting it to have a different flavor for some reason. The creme fraiche was really delicious and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      This was pretty good, it didn't quite have the flavor I expected though. I would have probably given this 3 stars but DH really liked it so I bumped it up. I cubed my chicken before adding and it only took about 4 hours and even that was a bit too long so be careful with the cook time. I served over buttered egg noodles. Being as DH liked it so much I would probably make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

    • on February 15, 2009

      The flavor was great, but the sauce was soupy and thin. I made it exactly as written, but with a bit less chicken. I could have taken out a cup of the broth before adding the creme freche, and it might have been okay. DH has seconds, but I had to serve it in a bowl. Perhaps if one uses jarred mushrooms as opposed to the gorgeous big fresh mushrooms I had, it might have been just right. Smelled great while cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This was delicious. I made this as stated, exept I used a whole chicken and cut it up, I used the thighs, breast and legs, and put the wigs and the carrcass in the freezer for making stock another time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Great recipe! Wonderfully creamy and flavoursome, and so easy to make. Love all the ingredients in this, and was pleased it called for boneless skinless chicken (I used chicken thighs) as this is what I prefer to use. I anticipated this being a winner, and I was even more delighted with the finished dish than I'd anticipated, so I'll certainly be making this again. The only slight change I made was to use three cloves of garlic (I usually up the garlic!). No need for any other adjustments: after all, the recipe already included wine and mushrooms and leeks and thyme! I confess to having been a tad nervous about leaving the cream out for so long, so I settled on leaving it out for about half of the cooking time. Excellent idea, so that you are not adding a cold ingredient right at the end of the cooking time. And to make room for the cream, as *Parsley* observed in an earlier review, DO heed instruction 7: removal of 1/4 cup of cooking juices! Mine weren't discarded: I added them to my cat's dinner, along with a sample of the chicken dish - so he was happy too! Made for the tag game EVERY DAY IS A HOLIDAY!Thanks for sharing a super recipe, littleturtle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Oh, mymyMYMYMY! This was SO wonderful, rich, yummy and nommable! I cut the recipe in half and *highly* recommend cutting the time in half as well if you're going that route. Served after only 4 hours, my chicken was dry under the sauce, but that was entirely my fault for not adjusting the cook time in advance. Plus my crock pot's "low" setting is closer to high. Anyway, we could hardly get this chicken in our mouths fast enough! Good thing we were alone so no one could see our piggy selves. ;o) Thanks for a fantastic recipe, littleturtle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Absolutely fantastic falvor! This is one of those "elegant" crockpot recipes. Very easy, too! I made this exactly as written, using the white wine. The chicken was so tender, you could cut it without a knife. The sauce comes to a just-right consistancy. Don't forget to (as written) discard that 1/4 cup of cooking juices, though. This recipe really is a keeper. Thanx so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken With Mushrooms and Leeks (Low Carb)

    Serving Size: 1 (399 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.6
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    41%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 190.0 mg
    63%
    Sodium 388.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 52.2 g
    104%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes