Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken With Cranberries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken With Cranberries

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2008

      From reading the ingredients, I just loved the sound of the blend of flavours here - the orange, cinnamon ginger and sugar - and I was curious about the inclusion of cranberries. We were delighted by the finished dish. I followed the recipe exactly, except for using only one tablespoon of brown sugar (personal taste preference) and adding 1/2 cup wine in step one. I didn't bother to use the flour and water at the end: the juices were wonderfully flavoursome, and didn't seem to need thickening for our taste. I used frozen cranberries. The added bonus with this recipe is that it is just SO easy to make! The only effort really required, apart from placing all the ingredients in the pot and turning it on, is peeling and chopping one onion! Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe, mikekey. Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      What a lovely chicken dish! Surprisingly it was not as sweet as I thought it would be and the cranberry/orange/spice combination was perfect with the chicken. I didn't use quite as much thickening and the sauce came out perfectly for us. 4 hours on low did the trick in my crockpot. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Pretty tasty, and very convenient to make. It definitely tastes like a holiday-inspired dish should, which was great because we ran out of roast for our holiday meal so I had to throw this together the next day to serve with all our leftovers. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      I love cranberries, so I was very excited to find this recipe. The chicken was extremely dry. We ended up having to throw it out. I don't know what went wrong with the recipe, because we followed it to a "T". Sometimes these things just don't work out. I think the idea of the recipe sounds really good, but it just didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      I used a can of cranberry sauce with whole cranberries and 1/2 C OJ, no sugar. I also used arrowroot instead of flour and thickened it on the stove to use as a dip or pour over. I was worried the kids wouldn't like it. Not! Even the picky 7 yo liked it! And my husband, who doesn't like fruit in his main dish, really liked it (minus the whole cranberries, of course!) I used 3 LARGE chkn breasts too and forgot the onions (which I'm sure my kids were glad of.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Cranberries were out-of-season, so we reconstituted some dried cranberries for a few days to try to leach out as much sugar as possible. It was still good... probably not as good as it would have been with fresh cranberries, but still very very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      When I made this the other day, I discovered I didn't have cranberries, so I subbed a can of whole-berry cranberry sauce & omitted the oj. I did add some grated orange rind. I ended up throwing it in the oven on very "low" heat (around 200*) for 4 hrs. I then removed it & thickened the sauce w' cornstarch, stovetop (didn't add the water). All in all, this had good flavour. I served it over rice. Even the leftovers were tasty! If I make it this way again, I would soften the onions first (in the microwave).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      I really loved the citrus and cranberry tang. I didn't make a lot of sauce so if you have real sauce lovers I'd double the amount. The real thing that kept this from being a 5 star for me was the timing. I used *large* breasts (around 10 ounces each) and they were still 3/4 frozen when I put it all in the crock. When I checked them 45 mins before the 6 hours it was not only done but done to dryness. I think 4 hrs would be closer to the mark and possibly less than that if your using smaller chicken bits. Once again, the flavor is outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This was so tasty! Love the mix of cranberries with the orange juice and chicken! Cooked for about 4 hours. Didn't thicken the sauce - was too much in a hurry to taste the chicken! ;) Thanks mikekey! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I made this with a pork loin instead of chicken. I was trying to use up some cranberries that I had bought for Christmas. I didn't have any onion so I subbed onion powder but I would like to try it again with the onion. I usually don't like cinnamon in savory dishes but it worked in this one. I doubled the ingredients because the pork loin was so big and I cooked it on high for 5 hours. MMMmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Decided not to rate this as I made an error that most likely changed the overall flavor of the dish. I used part of a very large vidalia which was probably more onion than intended. My results were not sweet as the sauce was a really nice blend between the onions and cranberries. One of the things which was really interesting about this dish is that over time it got better and better with the bright fruity flavor of the cranberries just popping out. So while I liked it on the first day, by the third I was ready to lick the bowl and sad that the leftovers were gone. If you have time and plan, I would suggest making this a day before serving; a great option for those of us who cook for the week on Sunday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      It had great aroma while cooking, but it was a too sweet for my taste. Nice recipe to try for a something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Outstanding must try meal. I followed the recipe using all organic ingredients but I did throw in a cut up carrot and left out the salt (didnt even miss it)and totally forgot to do the flour and water at the end (doubt that it hurt the end result) I usually prefer thighs or drumsticks but I only had boneless so that is what I used. I served it over couscous. This recipe couldnt be easier or healthier. Check out the nutrition facts. This did not taste like a crockpot meal; rather it tasted like something I would have picked up at Wholefoods. Very nice flavor where all the ingredients complimented one another nicely. Nothing was overpowering at all and the chicken itself was extremely tender. I will definitly make this again next week. This is a recipe that will allow me to eat a healthy meal with ease of preparation and superb taste. Thanks so much for that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken With Cranberries

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.8
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    14%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 527.8 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes