1606 Reviews

This is a really delicious and easy recipe. I used a can of Mexicorn which a bit more flavor with the red and green bell peppers. The Salsa is really the key to this recipe--choose one you really enjoy. I used Frontera's Jalapeno and cilantro salsa to great effect. I also used thawed chicken breasts because that's what I had--cooked for two and a half hours on high--all the juice from the salsa kept the chicken moist. Also, I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese--it wasn't quite as smooth but the taste was just as good. Overall, a really good southwesten meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew in NYC June 28, 2009

I have made this three times now, twice for us, then last night for my inlaws. They devoured it! And my mother in law just called earlier asking for the recipe. Thank you so much for such a crowd pleaser and very tight budget friendly meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil' Miss Nikki June 25, 2009

Excellent, easy & cheap. I made this for a camping trip in our RV, and because there was already so much food, I decided to shred the chicken before adding the cream cheese, and then serving it as a dip with those little tortilla cups. It was a huge hit! Thanks for this recipe - it's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmack #1 of 4 June 24, 2009

Wow-I was skeptical if we would like this, even after it was cooked. My picky husband turned his nose up until he tried it, then he went back for seconds! Preparation could not be any easier! I cooked mine on low all day, then added low fat cream cheese. Fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhondalynn67 June 24, 2009

Jen after 840+ reviews it is a little redundant to tell you how great this recipe is. It is quick, it is easy, and best of all it is good. I have made it on many occasions (sorry - just getting around to giving you your well deserved 5 stars). I've made it so often I just always have these ingredients on my shopping list. Thanks Jen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraBlueEyes June 22, 2009

My family loved it! The little bit left over was eaten with tortilla chips the next day and was just as yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mtn. Mom June 18, 2009

This is a fantastic dish. So easy, and so very versatile. I prepared just as directed. Use this for sandwiches, quesadillas, over rice or noodles, on baked potatoes......it's just fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisnkelley June 17, 2009

Yum is right...this is fantastic! The only thing I added was garlic powder, cumin, chili powder and Lawrey's season salt. I also partially thawed the chicken. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
willsing4u June 17, 2009

This was the 1st recipe I tried in my new slow cooker 2 weeks ago. My wife absolutely loved it; have made it twice already. Made burritos with pulled chicken leftovers the following day; she loved that, too. It is almost too easy to make. Will make it often. Thanks. sleepingdawg

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodPrepMyRep June 17, 2009

I agree with the too much liquid. Next time I think I will try removing some of it. My daughter said it needed more cream cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie June 14, 2009
Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese