1609 Reviews

I sorta like this....I have made it three times now and just am not sure. My kids are NOT fans of it sadly and hubby eats it but doesn't have any rave reviews. I am pregnant and oddly enough crave this based on the ingredients...am disapointed with the final product every single time

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tgleas77 January 14, 2011

I made this a while ago and love how simple it was. I had read some reviews that said it needed more flavor, so I made sure I got a really good salsa since that is where most of the flavor comes from. I think I used Newmann's Own Thick and Chunky. It was delicious! I served it over rice. I've actually been craving it, so I'm making it again tonight only I'm trying chicken thighs because the store was out of breasts!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deefoodie August 17, 2010

This is a great recipe.I used black beans, canned corn, and medium salsa,and the rest of the
ingredients. but no cream cheese,and I used a regular pot.
a great recipe,
I will definitely make this again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicahu August 13, 2010

I'll admit, when reading the reviews, I was nervous that this dish would come out bland, especially when it came to a more muted salsa. Just to be sure, I bought a hot picante sauce, and WOW did that do the trick. Otherwise, I followed the recipe almost verbatim, aside from slightly different amounts of the beans, corn, and picante sauce (less beans, corn equal to the beans, and a bit more sauce). REALLY great dish. If you still have doubts, it will only take ten minutes anyway. Make it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KittyKaboom August 01, 2010

Very good! I used a mango/lime salsa and added some cilantro and a dash of beer. I will be making this regularly!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Copperminx February 16, 2010

It might have had ok flavor but it was kinda of mushy.. it may be because I did not use frozen chicken.. used fresh.. It was more like the inside of a burrito which is what we used it for on day 2.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
advoc84kids December 27, 2013

Awesome recipe! I read the other reviews and opted to use thawed chicken breasts. I also added chopped onion (2 small), minced garlic (4 cloves), one 4 oz can of diced green chiles, one 4 oz can of diced jalapenos, and a jar of HOT salsa. I cooked on low for 5 hours, then removed the chicken and shredded it with two forks. Placed the shredded chicken back in the crock-pot and added the cream cheese (regular, full fat, baby!) Ate this all on flour tortillas and loved every bite. Thank you so much for sharing your tips and suggestions, everyone!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lora in WI February 29, 2012

Took a few bites and thought it tasted pretty good, but was bland before I added a can of diced tomatoes with diced chilies. I tried adding a few seasonings but it didnt seem like it made much of a difference. Also when I went to grab the cream cheese, there was mold on it...luckily when reading reviews, I saw someone added 8 laughing cow cheese wedges, and thats exactly what I had. After reading people served it over noodles, I decided that Im going to serve it over ramen noodles. (stove is broken!) thanks so much, will make again! :)
Edit: Served in hard shell tacos and the next night put them on some tortilla chips and nuked some cheese on top. Also added some banana peppers Made some really good nachos!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coloradomommy85 July 06, 2011

After reading some reviews about this recipe being bland, I opted to "kick it up" from the beginning. Added cumin, chili powder and a 1/2 table spoon of chipotle paste. I shredded the chicken while the clream cheese softened. (i used light cheese.) I stirred in cilantro at the end and topped each serving with a squirt of lime and some crumbled baked taco chips. My hubby loved it. I used leftovers to make a taco salad for lunch. Because this was so easy, I give it a "make again."

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meaghanburr March 07, 2011

I guess I am in the minority. I found this recipe to be lacking in flavor. Also, I usually find that cooking frozen meats results in them being dried out in the final product, but I was hoping the slow cook would prevent that. Not so.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calapierre2669 March 03, 2011
Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese