Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese

    Average Rating:

    1,565 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 1,565

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2013

      This was such an easy recipe! I took the advise of other reviewers and shredded the chicken before I added the cream cheese. I cooked tortillas and put the chicken on the tortillas with a little cheese. Wonderful! The next day, I took it to work and used it on a salad as a cold mexican chicken salad. Once again, wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      This recipe, if made as is written, is very plain. If I make again, I will add a taco seasoning packet to add flavor. I will also turn the heat off, wait 30 minutes and then add the cream cheese to avoid the curdled appearance.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      I really wanted to like this recipe, but it was just NOT up to par. Very little flavor, and the texture was bad.
      I used excellent salsa, so that excuse won't work for me. Made as described adding only a small onion.
      Had one bite, and threw out the rest. We had frozen pizza for dinner that night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      I did not like this dish at all. Ended up as poached chicken breasts sitting in a thin, watery, soupy type of substance with hunks and chunks of cream cheese floating all thru it. Very unappetizing looking and not edible that way. Ended up fishing out the chicken breasts and shredding them. Stirred and smashed the 'soup' like mad to get the cream cheese to blend a little, it was still chunky in there, almost like cottage cheese, looked like a big bowl of vomit. Added the shredded chicken back in and it was STILL very watery so then I had to make rice to add to it and finally after I stirred in the rice and let that sit and soak up some of the liquid for a while it's now like some sort of odd chicken stew with corn and black beans. Weird. But I spent the time and money and it made like 5 quarts so... I guess we have to eat it but - never again! How on earth this recipe got on here with high reviews I just do not know. For me- it was quite a bummer. :-(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      We were soooo disappointed with this dish. According to the other reviews, I expected it to be great. It smelled wonderful and was so easy, but the flavor was so bland that we tossed it and ordered a pizza. My Husband isn't at all picky and he will eat at least a serving of about anything, but not this. It wasn't even worth saving as filling for burritos.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      It was very easy to make, but the flavor wasn't that exceptional to me. The leftovers were thrown out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      This is amazing...no really, amazing! Try adding a 4 oz can of green chili's to it. I only used 3 chicken breast and shredded them about 30 minutes before adding the cream cheese. Oh it is so creamy and yummy! Some of us had it on rice and some of us put the rice and chicken mixture in a tortilla ... it's good by itself when you sneak a snack too! Thank you Jen for making me look like I knew what I was doing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      Not bad, but certainly not great. If you're from California, or the Southwest, you'll be very disappointed if you make the recipe as is. I added onion, garlic and cilantro, after reading the reviews, to try to spice it up a bit. I also added red pepper flakes to my portion to put some amount of kick in it. It also needed salt, and I'm not one to use the shaker... One reviewer was correct---your flavor will be based on which salsa you choose. Thought this was a pricey meal, as well, especially for the result. I doubt I'll be making this again, even with the modifications. My only hope is that you are all correct about great-tasting left-overs!!! Only used 3 breasts, and I'm gonna have a ton left over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      I had high hopes for this recipe, but consider it a work in progress as my first attempt did not turn out as well as hoped. I bought creamed corn by mistake so used this along with a splash of frozen corn, plus some chicken stock and garlic, cumin and coriander. This was also my first time using my crockpot so I was mucking around... I ended up putting it on low for 4 hours and then on high for 2 hours. Because it was so liquidly, I added Minute brown rice for the last hour, and also used a tub of herb & garlic cream cheese. Well, it was barely edible, but as I said, it's a work in progress and I will try this recipe again...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This was an easy and quick recipe. I really enjoyed it and so did my children. Its not something I would make all the time but was delicious. I would recommend draining some of the juice out of the crock pot before putting the cream cheese on top to melt for a half hour. So it will be thicker. Very very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This was easy enough to make. Husband and little one liked it more than I did though.I read the reviews where a few people said it could be a little bland so sprinkled my chicken with some taco seasoning before putting all in the crock.It was still just ok for me.It was quick and easy and tasted ok(but looked unappetizing) but I probably wouldn't make it again because it didn't impress me and chicken is getting expensive.Sorry!glad I finally gave it a shot though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      I'm pretty sure you don't need one more review, but I just had to say...We LOVED this. It may be the best thing I've ever made. I didn't make any changes. It was so good eaten with tortillas. This will definitely make it into a monthly rotation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      Super easy and tasty! I agree with other reviewers that the quality of your salsa does seem to make a big difference in the end result, and definitely shred the chicken before adding the cream cheese. We enjoyed this as burrito filling, quesadilla filling, and it was also very yummy with tortilla chips as a dip. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      looks like hell, but sure is tasty.... and couldn't be quicker or easier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      I've made this twice now, and both times it was fantastic! I love how easy it is to make and how yummy it turns out. :) I enjoyed mine on tortillas like tacos. My one year old loves it too!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      I found this recipe through a friend. HOWEVER, I make this as a dip and it's WONDERFUL. The only differences in my recipe are that I use a large jar of medium or hot salsa instead or the normal squat-cylinder shaped jars. The second difference is that you shred the chicken before serving. Try two forks and just pull it apart. Serve with plenty of tortilla chips.

      First time I brought this dip to a party (second time I ever made it) it literally lasted less than 5 minutes. I almost didn't get any. I put it out and went to the restroom and came back and I had to scrape the bottom to get just half a bowl-ful :o

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      I wanted to find something a little different to make this month and I choose this. It is DELICOUS! One of the best new meals I have had in a very long time. My toddler loved it and I know its something he will eat again. He ate it all then said "More mama please" I didnt use frozen chicken, I used 5 thin sliced chicken breast, and after about 2hrs in the crock pot i pulled em out and diced em up then threw em back in. I also used 1 can of green chilies, half a packet of taco seasoning and a little bit of Johnny's season salt. Instead of canned corn I used frozen sweet corn and served it all over some rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      I LOVED IT!!! I added taco seasoning, garlic salt, cumin, and a little bit of chili powder... I used low fat cream cheese and it was SOOOOOOOOOOOO YUMMY! THANKS for the recipe! my Hubby wants me to make it again! lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      Not much more can be said about this recipe that has not already been commented on...I made it for a family get together...served it in the crock pot with little flour tortillas for "make your own chicken enchiladas" and everyone devoured it! I heated it up the next two days for lunch and it was just as good! I did use refrigerated chicken...not frozen. It was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      We love this! I've found that using medium hot salsa is much better than using mild. It gives it more flavor and not much more heat. I've replaced the chicken with a pot roast and the cream cheese with some BBQ sauce and it made super delicious shredded beef (with or without the corn and beans). I've been putting frozen meat (chicken pieces, whole chickens, roasts, ground beef, etc.) in the crock pot for decades and never had a problem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (493 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 679.1
     
    Calories from Fat 315
    46%
    Total Fat 35.0 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 155.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 913.4 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 45.8 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites