1611 Reviews

This recipe is SO EASY and it happens to be delicious too! The chicken is so tender. Any leftovers can also be used as a dip with tortilla chips. This dish has over 1000 reviews for a reason!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinydancer1 July 03, 2010

I REALLY did want to love this, especially after reading reviews to make the most of everyone's comments. We opted to use fresh organic chicken breasts, extra spicy salsa (to counteract the cream cheese), and regular-fat cream cheese to get the best possible outcome. As easy as this recipe was to make, it did not live up to expectations. The chicken did shred easy, but the rest turned into a very dubious-looking greyish pink mixture. Looks aside, the taste wasn't terribly impressive. I LOVE all of the ingredients individually, but together the taste was bland and the corn, normally a family favorite, was a bit of a "texture violation" amidst the cream cheese chicken shreds. It really just tasted like shredded chicken with cream cheese and corn (the bean flavor is completely lost), which wasn't very appealing. At the end of the day, this was a mediocre chip dip for us. The next morning, it started to look even more dubious and nobody could bring themselves to try it again. Terribly sorry, but this recipe just didn't fly for us. :(

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulever May 19, 2008

I don't get it. It just isn't that good. The first time I made this my husband and I both thought that it was just missing something. I made a list of ideas of what I could add to make it better. The next time I read through many reviews seeing what other people did to make it better. So the second time I added onions, and garlic, and a whole slew of seasonings. But, again it was bland. Always, bland. It's an easy recipe, I'll give it that. But it really lacks flavor.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-OceanGirl- April 08, 2011

My family and myself absolutely LOVE this recipe!! But, here's what I recommend doing in addition to the recipe :) salt (tonys) and pepper the chicken- i thaw the chichen and cook on low all day. mix corn, salsa, and beans together with cumin, chili powder, garlic powder and salt (i use tonys) and spread over the chicken. garnish with fresh cilantro!! AMAZING!!! Thank you so much for posting!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjrdesign April 08, 2011

This is very good, thanks for sharing, I added kidney beans, black olives, chopped onion, cumin, chili powder, peperchinis, and jalepenos from my garden along with fresh medium salsa, and it was a major hit. I did however prefer this dish without the sourcream, but it's good both ways.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aalden November 09, 2010

This is one of our favorite family dinners, and I love that it throws together quickly & easily. It uses ingredients I usually have on hand, and is especially nice when you don't have time to wait for the chicken to thaw. By the time it has cooked in the crockpot a few hours, the chicken gets nice & tender. We serve it over brown rice & it's wonderful. I think it would be good without the chicken as well. In the future I may try omitting the chicken and adding in some frozen mixed veggies and mushrooms for a vegetarian version.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keggy July 22, 2010

I'm sure there's nothing else I can post here that hasn't been said already. This was amazing!! I shredded the chicken in the pot and served over rice. I didn't change a thing, except that I blended up my salsa before putting it in the pot cause I'm not a fan of the texture of the veggies. Otherwise, I've found another dish to put into my regular rotation!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LogicallyLocked July 07, 2010

Wish I could rate this higher. I had high hopes for this, given all the great reviews. Probably just a matter of personal preferences, but my family and I did not enjoy this. I'm afraid it might have been the gross pink color that was so off-putting. It's hard to give it a fair chance on how it tastes when it looks so icky to begin with.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen July 27, 2013

We love this! I've found that using medium hot salsa is much better than using mild. It gives it more flavor and not much more heat. I've replaced the chicken with a pot roast and the cream cheese with some BBQ sauce and it made super delicious shredded beef (with or without the corn and beans). I've been putting frozen meat (chicken pieces, whole chickens, roasts, ground beef, etc.) in the crock pot for decades and never had a problem.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam in the Kitchen July 13, 2011

Forget 5 stars I give it 10!! Not only is it soooo yummy its soooo easy! I didn't have much time so I pressure cooked the chicken and then threw it all into the crock pot to heat up and served with rice and sauted bell peppers and onions. My husband and I have a wonderful local mexican restraunt that serves a polo con creama dish that I have looked EVERYWHERE for the recipie and this dish tastes exactly like it!!! I'm so excited to have it and have already shared it with others!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bible thumper February 08, 2011
Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese