Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese

    Average Rating:

    1,572 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 1,572

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2010

      I made this a while ago and love how simple it was. I had read some reviews that said it needed more flavor, so I made sure I got a really good salsa since that is where most of the flavor comes from. I think I used Newmann's Own Thick and Chunky. It was delicious! I served it over rice. I've actually been craving it, so I'm making it again tonight only I'm trying chicken thighs because the store was out of breasts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      This is a great recipe.I used black beans, canned corn, and medium salsa,and the rest of the
      ingredients. but no cream cheese,and I used a regular pot.
      a great recipe,
      I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      I'll admit, when reading the reviews, I was nervous that this dish would come out bland, especially when it came to a more muted salsa. Just to be sure, I bought a hot picante sauce, and WOW did that do the trick. Otherwise, I followed the recipe almost verbatim, aside from slightly different amounts of the beans, corn, and picante sauce (less beans, corn equal to the beans, and a bit more sauce). REALLY great dish. If you still have doubts, it will only take ten minutes anyway. Make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Very good! I used a mango/lime salsa and added some cilantro and a dash of beer. I will be making this regularly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      It might have had ok flavor but it was kinda of mushy.. it may be because I did not use frozen chicken.. used fresh.. It was more like the inside of a burrito which is what we used it for on day 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Awesome recipe! I read the other reviews and opted to use thawed chicken breasts. I also added chopped onion (2 small), minced garlic (4 cloves), one 4 oz can of diced green chiles, one 4 oz can of diced jalapenos, and a jar of HOT salsa. I cooked on low for 5 hours, then removed the chicken and shredded it with two forks. Placed the shredded chicken back in the crock-pot and added the cream cheese (regular, full fat, baby!) Ate this all on flour tortillas and loved every bite. Thank you so much for sharing your tips and suggestions, everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Took a few bites and thought it tasted pretty good, but was bland before I added a can of diced tomatoes with diced chilies. I tried adding a few seasonings but it didnt seem like it made much of a difference. Also when I went to grab the cream cheese, there was mold on it...luckily when reading reviews, I saw someone added 8 laughing cow cheese wedges, and thats exactly what I had. After reading people served it over noodles, I decided that Im going to serve it over ramen noodles. (stove is broken!) thanks so much, will make again! :)
      Edit: Served in hard shell tacos and the next night put them on some tortilla chips and nuked some cheese on top. Also added some banana peppers Made some really good nachos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      After reading some reviews about this recipe being bland, I opted to "kick it up" from the beginning. Added cumin, chili powder and a 1/2 table spoon of chipotle paste. I shredded the chicken while the clream cheese softened. (i used light cheese.) I stirred in cilantro at the end and topped each serving with a squirt of lime and some crumbled baked taco chips. My hubby loved it. I used leftovers to make a taco salad for lunch. Because this was so easy, I give it a "make again."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      I guess I am in the minority. I found this recipe to be lacking in flavor. Also, I usually find that cooking frozen meats results in them being dried out in the final product, but I was hoping the slow cook would prevent that. Not so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      This is a keeper! I've sharred it with my mom and all 5 siblings who then fed it to their family's... my dad even liked it not to mention all 18 grandchildren! My twist on it: 1/2 onion-diced, 1/2 tbs ISH cumin, and 1 tbs ISH fresh minced garlic and that really punches up flavor without adding too much spice or heat for the kids (plus that means they get all the folic acid from the onion which is the only veggie my kids won't eat without a fight... I always love it when I mention... "you know I put onion in there?" and they stand there "shell shocked" lol Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Unfortunately we didn't really like it. I was excited to make it from the reviews, but DH and I just weren't into it. The beans and cream cheese created a weird texture and the taste was really bland (we even used the salsa recc by several reviewers). I think I might try to put the leftovers (there were tons!) in tortillas and make them as enchiladas tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      What a wonderful easy dish!!! The only change I made was to add a chopped onion and some garlic.When I added The cream cheese I too shredded the chicken and served it with yellow rice and tortillas. Thank You so much for posting such a GREAT recipe !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This is amazing!!!! I made this for the first time a few months ago, and it's pretty much been my dinner every Friday night- a treat I look forward to greatly!!! My favorite is to put it over rice. I make about two cups of rice with this recipe, and that always seems to be about perfect. I also loved it in tacos and over pasta, and I served it to friends one night with chips! EVERYONE is a fan with this- you can't go wrong! And sooo easy!!!! I always use refrigerated chicken breasts, about 2-2.5 lbs (five of them).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      My whole family LOVED this chicken dish. Whoever said you should shred the chicken is probably right. Hardly any leftovers but they're all for ME.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I tried this recipe with just a slight modfication, I used fat free cream cheese. It turned out really well, very good flavor and not bland at all. I used Paul Newmann's medium salsa and stirred in cooked brown rice at the end. Like other commenters, I shredded the chicken when the cream cheese was added. Next time I'll probably add more corn or beans and try noodles instead of rice. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Love this recipe ... easy, no defrosting necessary, put together and go do whatever you need to for the day! I have made this dish 3 times and everyone raves and asks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This is absolutely delicious!!!!! I make it at least once a week and have passed it to all my friends who also make it once a week. You literally cant get any easier, just toss it all in! Love it all the time =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      We thought this was just okay .I made exactly the same . No rave reviews here

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      This recipe did not go over well at all. My kids wouldnt touch it with a 10 foot pole and my husband, who would eat a brick if you put it in front of him, did not like it. The chicken was dry, the beans were mushy, it didn't have a lot of flavor, even though I added spices to it. Will not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      add cumin, chili powder and garlic powder and its great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (493 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 679.1
     
    Calories from Fat 315
    46%
    Total Fat 35.0 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 155.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 913.4 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 45.8 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes