1579 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I enjoyed this and so did other family members, SUPER easy. I used kidney beans instead of black beans (only because that is what I had on hand) I will make this again but the only thing different I would do is defrost my chicken JUST enough to cube it. I thought the whole pieces were a pain to cut after done cooking. Thanks for sharing!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTasha July 09, 2010

This meal tasted pretty good & was easy to make. My kids ate it w/o complaining & I might try it on a tortilla tomorrow like other reviewers have suggested... my only hang up is that it looks like... wait for it... barf. Throw up. Tossed cookies. I could barely look past the appearance... it was seriously hard for me to swallow. Maybe if I leave out the cream cheese next time & just put a dollop of sour cream on top when serving, it will look more appetizing.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky74 June 01, 2010

When I read this receipe, I wasn't too sure about it. I tried it on a weekend when my mom was coming to visit, and she doesn't eat the red meat and stuff I have to make for my husband, so it was perfect timing to try it. OMG!! We were shocked at how wonderful it was! I put it in the crock pot, then we went shopping for the day. When we walked back in my house, I was amazed at how great it smelled! I have to say, even my 3 year old ate it, and we had NO leftovers! Now, when I make it, we use the leftovers the next day and I put them in tortillas with some cheese and put them in the oven for a few minutes and it makes great burritos! I give all my friends this recipe, too. There are a few things I changed, but only to make it have more leftovers. I use a large can of corn and a large can of beans. I like to use the HEB Cilantro Salsa because it isn't too hot but has lots of flavor, and I have never actually added the cream cheese. We like to eat it over tortilla chips, and they soak up the juice and are great! I am so happy that I gave this a chance. Also, I learned recently that black beans are one of the suggested healthy beans by the WIC program in Texas, and so I know that my son is eating a healthy meal when he eats this!! Thank you so much for sharing it! They don't give enough stars for this one!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
holly_a_woodson March 21, 2011

This was delicious! I made slight variations to the recipe: added about a half an onion (chopped), 3 garlic cloves (minced), about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. And instead of 8 oz of cream cheese, I put in 4 oz. I cooked this on low for 8 hours, instead of on high for 4-5. Served cooked whole grain rotini pasta made a good combination.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eager2Learn2 December 21, 2010

We thought this was excellent! One thing we did different - my husband mistakenly mixed the 4 cups of rice I made in with the rest of the dish once it was finished cooking. I thought this was going to make it too dry, but it was just perfect. So I am unsure if it would be too runny without mixing with rice! We used 3 frozen breasts, cooked on high for 2 hours, then low for 3-4 hours, including the cream cheese time. The chicken shredded itself perfectly as he was mixing the rice in. We ate on it for days, and we already want to make it again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy October 13, 2010

Great recipe. I skipped the cream cheese in the interests of reducing fat intake and used Trader Joe's frozen Mexican Roasted Corn because I don't like canned corn. Hot salsa and fresh cilanro from Sunflower Market and followed the instructions. Wonderful flavor, easy to make and now I have dinner for the rest of the week. Thanks for posting this Jen, you're the bomb!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeve R July 25, 2010

I did not have the 4-5 hours, so I cooked the chicken, shredded it and added to the balance, and turned the crock on low. We had it over rice, so good! Thank you! I just had to rate this again. I did not drain the beans or corn. When I shredded the Costco chicken it soaked up the juice Perfection. Served with flour tortillas. Who ever invented crock pots are my hero.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis June 24, 2010

I originally gave this recipe only 2 stars BUT tried it again because I really wanted to love it. AND...this time it turned out GREAT! The first time I put the cream cheese in and stirred it all in, but I didn't like the way it looked when it was finished. This time, I put the cream cheese in and just let it sit on top to get soft (30 mins or so). Then, I just broke it up as I was serving and that worked great. Hubby loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niki Zuidema June 10, 2011

I can't believe people like this! I made it because of the high ratings and didn't like it one bit. Very bland and just plain sloppy. I like all the ingredients, just not slopped together into this so-called idea of food. YUCKY

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellalicious August 25, 2010

OMG! OMG! This was so stinkin easy and so tasty! I served it over egg noodles (the noodles were a little plain for this zesty dish!) so I tried Fritos and it was super! We had NO left overs- but next time I'll be making doubling this for leftovers! EXTRA YUMMY!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
homeslice5001 July 12, 2010
Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese