1585 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I could NOT believe how easy and good this is. I love cilantro, so I added some fresh. I put the leftovers into some soft tortillas and made quesadillas.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnste July 21, 2010

Great taste, made adjustments...here they are...1) used bone-in breasts, probably good for flavour, but hard to find the bones when all is a pulp, won't go there again.
2) added diced onion, diced green pepper, and jarred jalapenos for extra flavor and vitamins, good choice. 3) pureed salsa, personal choice.
The recipe is a fab basic, so much room for experimentation, depending on one's taste!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edelweiss123 July 23, 2010

Good recipe!! Easy too. The first time I made it, I stuck to the recipe. It turned out good...but I thought it needed something. So the 2nd time I made it I added a pkg of taco seasoning. Mmmm...
Thanks for the recipe. My husband has requested a few times since I have made it last. :)

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill L. "Margaritta Lover" February 17, 2011

This was a great recipe! I read some of the reviews before cooking and I'm glad I did. I added extra garlic salt, onion powder and chili powder. I also used Pace chunky medium salsa. I also put in 5 chicken breasts, thawed. After cooking I did shred them and used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and served over rice. It was a hit! Love the minimal prep time and it smelled great cooking!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cano85 December 03, 2010

after reading all the reviews and ingredients, it definitely seemed as though this dish might lack some flavor but i still wanted to try it due to it being so inexpensive and easy to make. here's my modifications: i used salsa verde, added 1 sm can of green chilis, 4 t chili powder, 1/2 t ground red pepper (which only gave it a mild/med spice so you might want to add more), 3 t cumin, 4 pressed garlic cloves (but could add more),1 t onion powder, 1 t garlic salt (but will change to 2 t next time. i also substituted 8 oz sour cream as some have suggested instead of cream cheese. however, i added it too early while the crock pot was still on high and it separated on me, bummer. next time i think i will cook chicken on low (as suggested in some reviews). once chicken is done, remove chicken, shred, and return to crock pot. continue cooking with lid off or vented to allow excess juices to evaporate (i didn't use frozen chicken and drained all my veggies; dish was still too juicy/runny) for about 1 hr or until desired consistency. turn off pot then add 1/2 - 1 pkg cream cheese. i might still add 4 oz sour cream especially if i only use 1/2 pkg cream cheese. i served on top of crushed tortilla chips and topped with shredded mexican blend cheese. even though my first run through didn't turn out as i had hoped, my hubby and i thought it had good flavor and i will try again with these revisions. i could also see how this might be a good dip especially if cream cheese is used.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leathalant_13140738 October 04, 2010

Very, very good - the entire family liked it (even the picky 10 year old!). I cut my chicken into bite sized pieces before adding it to the crockpot, used a can of rotel insted of salsa since that's what I had. I ended up having to drain off a bunch of the juices before adding the cream cheese and added about 1 tablespoon of taco seasoning. I ended up cooking it about 3 1/2 hours on high since I started with thawed chicken. We served it over yellow rice and sprinkled shredded jack cheese on top. We will definately make it again! Thanks.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HSingARMYmom August 02, 2010

delish! It was so yummy! I didn't use frozen chicken breasts..mine were thawed so i just cooked it on high for one hour and then low on for two more. We will definitly make this again! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef mommy pepitone October 05, 2010

a total winner! Freezes really well too.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aubergine910 July 11, 2010

I've seen a few reviews that list this recipe as bland. I noticed that the kind of salsa you use makes a HUGE difference. The first time I made this, I used whatever jar of salsa I had on hand and it came out just okay. Since then, I use my homeade, to-die-for salsa and we love this now.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elaina.thiemann October 28, 2010

Great recipe! I halved this to make it a one-person meal. I also replaced the salsa with a can of rotel tomatoes, just for personal taste. I also replaced the 1 can corn with 1 can Mexican corn. Super easy and delicious!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
40crook July 27, 2010
Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese