Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese

    Average Rating:

    1,571 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 1,571

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      This meal tasted pretty good & was easy to make. My kids ate it w/o complaining & I might try it on a tortilla tomorrow like other reviewers have suggested... my only hang up is that it looks like... wait for it... barf. Throw up. Tossed cookies. I could barely look past the appearance... it was seriously hard for me to swallow. Maybe if I leave out the cream cheese next time & just put a dollop of sour cream on top when serving, it will look more appetizing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      When I read this receipe, I wasn't too sure about it. I tried it on a weekend when my mom was coming to visit, and she doesn't eat the red meat and stuff I have to make for my husband, so it was perfect timing to try it. OMG!! We were shocked at how wonderful it was! I put it in the crock pot, then we went shopping for the day. When we walked back in my house, I was amazed at how great it smelled! I have to say, even my 3 year old ate it, and we had NO leftovers! Now, when I make it, we use the leftovers the next day and I put them in tortillas with some cheese and put them in the oven for a few minutes and it makes great burritos! I give all my friends this recipe, too. There are a few things I changed, but only to make it have more leftovers. I use a large can of corn and a large can of beans. I like to use the HEB Cilantro Salsa because it isn't too hot but has lots of flavor, and I have never actually added the cream cheese. We like to eat it over tortilla chips, and they soak up the juice and are great! I am so happy that I gave this a chance. Also, I learned recently that black beans are one of the suggested healthy beans by the WIC program in Texas, and so I know that my son is eating a healthy meal when he eats this!! Thank you so much for sharing it! They don't give enough stars for this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      This was delicious! I made slight variations to the recipe: added about a half an onion (chopped), 3 garlic cloves (minced), about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. And instead of 8 oz of cream cheese, I put in 4 oz. I cooked this on low for 8 hours, instead of on high for 4-5. Served cooked whole grain rotini pasta made a good combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      We thought this was excellent! One thing we did different - my husband mistakenly mixed the 4 cups of rice I made in with the rest of the dish once it was finished cooking. I thought this was going to make it too dry, but it was just perfect. So I am unsure if it would be too runny without mixing with rice! We used 3 frozen breasts, cooked on high for 2 hours, then low for 3-4 hours, including the cream cheese time. The chicken shredded itself perfectly as he was mixing the rice in. We ate on it for days, and we already want to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      Great recipe. I skipped the cream cheese in the interests of reducing fat intake and used Trader Joe's frozen Mexican Roasted Corn because I don't like canned corn. Hot salsa and fresh cilanro from Sunflower Market and followed the instructions. Wonderful flavor, easy to make and now I have dinner for the rest of the week. Thanks for posting this Jen, you're the bomb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      I enjoyed this and so did other family members, SUPER easy. I used kidney beans instead of black beans (only because that is what I had on hand) I will make this again but the only thing different I would do is defrost my chicken JUST enough to cube it. I thought the whole pieces were a pain to cut after done cooking. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      I did not have the 4-5 hours, so I cooked the chicken, shredded it and added to the balance, and turned the crock on low. We had it over rice, so good! Thank you! I just had to rate this again. I did not drain the beans or corn. When I shredded the Costco chicken it soaked up the juice Perfection. Served with flour tortillas. Who ever invented crock pots are my hero.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      I originally gave this recipe only 2 stars BUT tried it again because I really wanted to love it. AND...this time it turned out GREAT! The first time I put the cream cheese in and stirred it all in, but I didn't like the way it looked when it was finished. This time, I put the cream cheese in and just let it sit on top to get soft (30 mins or so). Then, I just broke it up as I was serving and that worked great. Hubby loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      I can't believe people like this! I made it because of the high ratings and didn't like it one bit. Very bland and just plain sloppy. I like all the ingredients, just not slopped together into this so-called idea of food. YUCKY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      OMG! OMG! This was so stinkin easy and so tasty! I served it over egg noodles (the noodles were a little plain for this zesty dish!) so I tried Fritos and it was super! We had NO left overs- but next time I'll be making doubling this for leftovers! EXTRA YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      This recipe is SO EASY and it happens to be delicious too! The chicken is so tender. Any leftovers can also be used as a dip with tortilla chips. This dish has over 1000 reviews for a reason!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      My family and myself absolutely LOVE this recipe!! But, here's what I recommend doing in addition to the recipe :) salt (tonys) and pepper the chicken- i thaw the chichen and cook on low all day. mix corn, salsa, and beans together with cumin, chili powder, garlic powder and salt (i use tonys) and spread over the chicken. garnish with fresh cilantro!! AMAZING!!! Thank you so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      This is very good, thanks for sharing, I added kidney beans, black olives, chopped onion, cumin, chili powder, peperchinis, and jalepenos from my garden along with fresh medium salsa, and it was a major hit. I did however prefer this dish without the sourcream, but it's good both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      This is one of our favorite family dinners, and I love that it throws together quickly & easily. It uses ingredients I usually have on hand, and is especially nice when you don't have time to wait for the chicken to thaw. By the time it has cooked in the crockpot a few hours, the chicken gets nice & tender. We serve it over brown rice & it's wonderful. I think it would be good without the chicken as well. In the future I may try omitting the chicken and adding in some frozen mixed veggies and mushrooms for a vegetarian version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      I'm sure there's nothing else I can post here that hasn't been said already. This was amazing!! I shredded the chicken in the pot and served over rice. I didn't change a thing, except that I blended up my salsa before putting it in the pot cause I'm not a fan of the texture of the veggies. Otherwise, I've found another dish to put into my regular rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      I REALLY did want to love this, especially after reading reviews to make the most of everyone's comments. We opted to use fresh organic chicken breasts, extra spicy salsa (to counteract the cream cheese), and regular-fat cream cheese to get the best possible outcome. As easy as this recipe was to make, it did not live up to expectations. The chicken did shred easy, but the rest turned into a very dubious-looking greyish pink mixture. Looks aside, the taste wasn't terribly impressive. I LOVE all of the ingredients individually, but together the taste was bland and the corn, normally a family favorite, was a bit of a "texture violation" amidst the cream cheese chicken shreds. It really just tasted like shredded chicken with cream cheese and corn (the bean flavor is completely lost), which wasn't very appealing. At the end of the day, this was a mediocre chip dip for us. The next morning, it started to look even more dubious and nobody could bring themselves to try it again. Terribly sorry, but this recipe just didn't fly for us. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Wish I could rate this higher. I had high hopes for this, given all the great reviews. Probably just a matter of personal preferences, but my family and I did not enjoy this. I'm afraid it might have been the gross pink color that was so off-putting. It's hard to give it a fair chance on how it tastes when it looks so icky to begin with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      I don't get it. It just isn't that good. The first time I made this my husband and I both thought that it was just missing something. I made a list of ideas of what I could add to make it better. The next time I read through many reviews seeing what other people did to make it better. So the second time I added onions, and garlic, and a whole slew of seasonings. But, again it was bland. Always, bland. It's an easy recipe, I'll give it that. But it really lacks flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      Forget 5 stars I give it 10!! Not only is it soooo yummy its soooo easy! I didn't have much time so I pressure cooked the chicken and then threw it all into the crock pot to heat up and served with rice and sauted bell peppers and onions. My husband and I have a wonderful local mexican restraunt that serves a polo con creama dish that I have looked EVERYWHERE for the recipie and this dish tastes exactly like it!!! I'm so excited to have it and have already shared it with others!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I sorta like this....I have made it three times now and just am not sure. My kids are NOT fans of it sadly and hubby eats it but doesn't have any rave reviews. I am pregnant and oddly enough crave this based on the ingredients...am disapointed with the final product every single time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (493 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 679.1
     
    Calories from Fat 315
    46%
    Total Fat 35.0 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 155.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 913.4 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 45.8 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites