1579 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! I make a Mexican Soup very similar to this. BUT, I recently took a food safety certification course, and you should never put frozen meat into a crock pot. With the low heat, the bacteria can build up during the slow thawing to cooking time. Just thought I'd share that info!

254 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugMomma November 16, 2010

This is my go to recipe, I love making this it's a no brainer and makes amazing left overs. I ALWAYS cook this on low, never on high. I think the chicken comes out sooooo much better that way. Also when I add the cream cheese I shred the chicken with two forks and serve in tortilla's or over chips. Amazing!

86 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindsey.a.sayles June 29, 2010

This very, very good. I cooked this in the oven. Placed all wet ingredients in large saucepan and added the juice of one lime. While I brought this to a boil, I pan seared three large chicken breast in about 4 Tablespoons of olive oil, seasoned with a generous amount of salt and freshly cracked pepper. Once seared on both sides for about 10 minutes total, I added the chicken breasts to the hot and boiling sauce. I then put this in a 350 degree oven for 60 minutes. I started brown rice on the oven top, and once it was done I added the cream cheese to the saucepan for the last 15 minutes. Stirred well, and placed 1/2 of a chicken breast on the bed and rice and with sauce, and served. It was delicious. I can see substituting sour cream, or cream, or Velvetta for the cream cheese. It is important to use a very flavorful salsa since most of the flavor will come from the salsa. I used Green Mountain medium, but will use Clint's or Jardin's Medium Salsa next time. This will be excellent with tortilla wrap as a left over or main course.

78 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJBuckeye June 10, 2010

This was DELICIOUS! I read some of the previous reviews and made a few changes. I thawed my chicken breasts, for safety reasons, which made my cook time much less. I added garlic granules, onion powder, cumin, 2 bay leaves (removed before adding cream cheese) salt and pepper to taste. I only had a little bit of salsa on hand so I added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes to my salsa. I also shredded the chicken with 2 forks before adding the cream cheese. I served it over rice. My family LOVED it! It was a perfect meal for the cold night outside! I know I will make this recipe again and again.

45 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammy711 December 01, 2010

I was really looking forward to making this, but was a little disappointed with the result. :( It really lacks a flavor that pops. I live in San Diego and have lived in this area my whole life, so I'm very familiar with mexican dishes. First, I agree with the last comment, the chicken should be thawed, first. I would recommend seasoning the chicken before adding to the crockpot. Maybe some cumin, salt, pepper, etc. Also, I would recommend using a green salsa, as it pairs much better with chicken than red salsa does. If you can make your own salsa with tomatillos, that would probably be best. If you lack the time, or you can't find tomatillos in your area, I would recommend Herdez green salsa. It's very good for being store-bought. This would taste great over brown rice, in a tortilla, or even made as the stuffing or enchiladas. I will make make this again using the additions I mentioned.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherycenicole September 19, 2011

Maybe some of the reviews are bad because they didn't shred the chicken? I always shred the chicken right before tossing in the cream cheese. It sops up some of the sauce and makes it much thicker. I love this recipe!

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miasmama October 14, 2010

I wish I could give this recipe 10 Stars! It's amazingly tasty and easy to put together. Made this on Sunday for dinner and my husband wasn't even through his first plate when he asked me when I was going to make it again!
I used La Victoria Thick and Chunky Hot Salsa, 1 can drained kidney beans, a cup of frozen mixed vegetables, and 1 small onion chopped over 5 frozen chicken breasts. I also sprinkled in garlic, cumin, chili, and cayenne powders.
I have a 5 Qt slow cooker and made sure to spread the chicken in a single layer and cover well with the sauce. Cooked on low for 4 1/2 hours then turned setting to HIGH, added the cream cheese on top and replaced the lid for 15-20 minutes. Removed the chicken, shredded it, and returned it to the pot, mixing it in well with the creamy salsa mix. We let it sit for another 10 minutes and then it was serving time! I made Indian-Spiced Chapati Flat Bread (Indian-Spiced Chapati Flat Bread) to be used like a tortilla and it was a wonderful combination. I will be making this very often and very soon. I got a lot of other stuff accomplished while it was cooking and it makes the house smell wonderful. I look forward to experimenting with various types of salsa and other vegetables and legumes in the mix.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 January 07, 2011

LOVED THIS! It's addicting. Followed the recipe exactly except I uaed about 8 Laughing Cow Light Cheese Wedges, the new Queso Fresco & Chipotle flavor instead of regular cream cheese. I'm really thinking that it added some extra zest to the recipe (after reading some of the reviews that said it was a little bland). Anyway, I served it over multi-grain brown rice and had some tortilla chips on the side. This recipe is awesome! It doesn't get any easier than this.
An added bonus was that my husband really loved it too. Thanks!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLArtist August 20, 2010

This recipe ended up making the best nachos! I did also add 1 cup chopped onions and 1-2 Tbsp. chopped jarred jalapenos, 2 tsp. cumin and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder to the recipe. It was perfectly cooked after 4 hours. I shredded up the chicken and added a tablespoon of mixture to each tortilla chip, then I covered all the chips with Mexican blend cheese and placed under the broiler till melted. I plated the nachos and drizzled them with taco sauce and dropped sour cream and guacamole over all for a yummy garnish. SOO GOOD! Thanks for posting.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livie March 29, 2011

I love recipes where I have everything on hand. And I love even more recipes where I can use frozen chicken when I forget to thaw it. I love most of all recipes that are all these things AND taste good. My only reason for not giving it the 5th star is because I think it needs more flavor. I always add *something* else - garlic, chili powder, whatever. I think the leftovers are great served so many ways - in tacos, burritos, with rice, etc that it makes the dish even beetter because it doesn't feel like we are eating the same thing over and over.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeInOz July 02, 2010
Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese