Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese

    Average Rating:

    1,556 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 1,556

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2010

      Yummy! I make a Mexican Soup very similar to this. BUT, I recently took a food safety certification course, and you should never put frozen meat into a crock pot. With the low heat, the bacteria can build up during the slow thawing to cooking time. Just thought I'd share that info!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This is my go to recipe, I love making this it's a no brainer and makes amazing left overs. I ALWAYS cook this on low, never on high. I think the chicken comes out sooooo much better that way. Also when I add the cream cheese I shred the chicken with two forks and serve in tortilla's or over chips. Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This very, very good. I cooked this in the oven. Placed all wet ingredients in large saucepan and added the juice of one lime. While I brought this to a boil, I pan seared three large chicken breast in about 4 Tablespoons of olive oil, seasoned with a generous amount of salt and freshly cracked pepper. Once seared on both sides for about 10 minutes total, I added the chicken breasts to the hot and boiling sauce. I then put this in a 350 degree oven for 60 minutes. I started brown rice on the oven top, and once it was done I added the cream cheese to the saucepan for the last 15 minutes. Stirred well, and placed 1/2 of a chicken breast on the bed and rice and with sauce, and served. It was delicious. I can see substituting sour cream, or cream, or Velvetta for the cream cheese. It is important to use a very flavorful salsa since most of the flavor will come from the salsa. I used Green Mountain medium, but will use Clint's or Jardin's Medium Salsa next time. This will be excellent with tortilla wrap as a left over or main course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      This was DELICIOUS! I read some of the previous reviews and made a few changes. I thawed my chicken breasts, for safety reasons, which made my cook time much less. I added garlic granules, onion powder, cumin, 2 bay leaves (removed before adding cream cheese) salt and pepper to taste. I only had a little bit of salsa on hand so I added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes to my salsa. I also shredded the chicken with 2 forks before adding the cream cheese. I served it over rice. My family LOVED it! It was a perfect meal for the cold night outside! I know I will make this recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      Maybe some of the reviews are bad because they didn't shred the chicken? I always shred the chicken right before tossing in the cream cheese. It sops up some of the sauce and makes it much thicker. I love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I was really looking forward to making this, but was a little disappointed with the result. :( It really lacks a flavor that pops. I live in San Diego and have lived in this area my whole life, so I'm very familiar with mexican dishes. First, I agree with the last comment, the chicken should be thawed, first. I would recommend seasoning the chicken before adding to the crockpot. Maybe some cumin, salt, pepper, etc. Also, I would recommend using a green salsa, as it pairs much better with chicken than red salsa does. If you can make your own salsa with tomatillos, that would probably be best. If you lack the time, or you can't find tomatillos in your area, I would recommend Herdez green salsa. It's very good for being store-bought. This would taste great over brown rice, in a tortilla, or even made as the stuffing or enchiladas. I will make make this again using the additions I mentioned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      LOVED THIS! It's addicting. Followed the recipe exactly except I uaed about 8 Laughing Cow Light Cheese Wedges, the new Queso Fresco & Chipotle flavor instead of regular cream cheese. I'm really thinking that it added some extra zest to the recipe (after reading some of the reviews that said it was a little bland). Anyway, I served it over multi-grain brown rice and had some tortilla chips on the side. This recipe is awesome! It doesn't get any easier than this.
      An added bonus was that my husband really loved it too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      I wish I could give this recipe 10 Stars! It's amazingly tasty and easy to put together. Made this on Sunday for dinner and my husband wasn't even through his first plate when he asked me when I was going to make it again!
      I used La Victoria Thick and Chunky Hot Salsa, 1 can drained kidney beans, a cup of frozen mixed vegetables, and 1 small onion chopped over 5 frozen chicken breasts. I also sprinkled in garlic, cumin, chili, and cayenne powders.
      I have a 5 Qt slow cooker and made sure to spread the chicken in a single layer and cover well with the sauce. Cooked on low for 4 1/2 hours then turned setting to HIGH, added the cream cheese on top and replaced the lid for 15-20 minutes. Removed the chicken, shredded it, and returned it to the pot, mixing it in well with the creamy salsa mix. We let it sit for another 10 minutes and then it was serving time! I made Indian-Spiced Chapati Flat Bread (Indian-Spiced Chapati Flat Bread) to be used like a tortilla and it was a wonderful combination. I will be making this very often and very soon. I got a lot of other stuff accomplished while it was cooking and it makes the house smell wonderful. I look forward to experimenting with various types of salsa and other vegetables and legumes in the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This recipe ended up making the best nachos! I did also add 1 cup chopped onions and 1-2 Tbsp. chopped jarred jalapenos, 2 tsp. cumin and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder to the recipe. It was perfectly cooked after 4 hours. I shredded up the chicken and added a tablespoon of mixture to each tortilla chip, then I covered all the chips with Mexican blend cheese and placed under the broiler till melted. I plated the nachos and drizzled them with taco sauce and dropped sour cream and guacamole over all for a yummy garnish. SOO GOOD! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      I love recipes where I have everything on hand. And I love even more recipes where I can use frozen chicken when I forget to thaw it. I love most of all recipes that are all these things AND taste good. My only reason for not giving it the 5th star is because I think it needs more flavor. I always add *something* else - garlic, chili powder, whatever. I think the leftovers are great served so many ways - in tacos, burritos, with rice, etc that it makes the dish even beetter because it doesn't feel like we are eating the same thing over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      I could NOT believe how easy and good this is. I love cilantro, so I added some fresh. I put the leftovers into some soft tortillas and made quesadillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      This was a great recipe! I read some of the reviews before cooking and I'm glad I did. I added extra garlic salt, onion powder and chili powder. I also used Pace chunky medium salsa. I also put in 5 chicken breasts, thawed. After cooking I did shred them and used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and served over rice. It was a hit! Love the minimal prep time and it smelled great cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Great taste, made adjustments...here they are...1) used bone-in breasts, probably good for flavour, but hard to find the bones when all is a pulp, won't go there again.
      2) added diced onion, diced green pepper, and jarred jalapenos for extra flavor and vitamins, good choice. 3) pureed salsa, personal choice.
      The recipe is a fab basic, so much room for experimentation, depending on one's taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      after reading all the reviews and ingredients, it definitely seemed as though this dish might lack some flavor but i still wanted to try it due to it being so inexpensive and easy to make. here's my modifications: i used salsa verde, added 1 sm can of green chilis, 4 t chili powder, 1/2 t ground red pepper (which only gave it a mild/med spice so you might want to add more), 3 t cumin, 4 pressed garlic cloves (but could add more),1 t onion powder, 1 t garlic salt (but will change to 2 t next time. i also substituted 8 oz sour cream as some have suggested instead of cream cheese. however, i added it too early while the crock pot was still on high and it separated on me, bummer. next time i think i will cook chicken on low (as suggested in some reviews). once chicken is done, remove chicken, shred, and return to crock pot. continue cooking with lid off or vented to allow excess juices to evaporate (i didn't use frozen chicken and drained all my veggies; dish was still too juicy/runny) for about 1 hr or until desired consistency. turn off pot then add 1/2 - 1 pkg cream cheese. i might still add 4 oz sour cream especially if i only use 1/2 pkg cream cheese. i served on top of crushed tortilla chips and topped with shredded mexican blend cheese. even though my first run through didn't turn out as i had hoped, my hubby and i thought it had good flavor and i will try again with these revisions. i could also see how this might be a good dip especially if cream cheese is used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      Good recipe!! Easy too. The first time I made it, I stuck to the recipe. It turned out good...but I thought it needed something. So the 2nd time I made it I added a pkg of taco seasoning. Mmmm...
      Thanks for the recipe. My husband has requested a few times since I have made it last. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Very, very good - the entire family liked it (even the picky 10 year old!). I cut my chicken into bite sized pieces before adding it to the crockpot, used a can of rotel insted of salsa since that's what I had. I ended up having to drain off a bunch of the juices before adding the cream cheese and added about 1 tablespoon of taco seasoning. I ended up cooking it about 3 1/2 hours on high since I started with thawed chicken. We served it over yellow rice and sprinkled shredded jack cheese on top. We will definately make it again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      delish! It was so yummy! I didn't use frozen chicken breasts..mine were thawed so i just cooked it on high for one hour and then low on for two more. We will definitly make this again! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      a total winner! Freezes really well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      I've seen a few reviews that list this recipe as bland. I noticed that the kind of salsa you use makes a HUGE difference. The first time I made this, I used whatever jar of salsa I had on hand and it came out just okay. Since then, I use my homeade, to-die-for salsa and we love this now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This meal tasted pretty good & was easy to make. My kids ate it w/o complaining & I might try it on a tortilla tomorrow like other reviewers have suggested... my only hang up is that it looks like... wait for it... barf. Throw up. Tossed cookies. I could barely look past the appearance... it was seriously hard for me to swallow. Maybe if I leave out the cream cheese next time & just put a dollop of sour cream on top when serving, it will look more appetizing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 78

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (493 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 679.1
     
    Calories from Fat 315
    46%
    Total Fat 35.0 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 155.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 913.4 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 45.8 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites