23 Reviews

This was a pretty good recipe, but as it was still fairly "juicy" at the end of the cooking time, I put the entire potful into a shallow casserole dish, popped it into the oven for about half an hour, and it was great...sticky wings!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pacmore November 18, 2009

This is my first review ever. After reading several of the less satisfied comments, I felt I had to write because I almost didn't make this delicious meal that all 3 of my kids (1 who is extremely picky) gobbled up. I feel domestically challenged in the kitchen sometimes and this recipe was easy breazy and yummy! I followed the directions almost to the T; I didn't have green onions so I used onion powder; Took the chicken out before the 6 hours were up and basted and broiled as someone recommended. Making again for this evening! Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacfam3 December 18, 2014

My did not look anything like picture:( way to much liquid and taste was salty and sad :( waste of time and food

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.Mac October 29, 2012

I followed the other reviewer's suggestion to broil the chicken to crisp it up a bit but I didn't follow the suggestion to lessen the soy sauce. It turned out to be too salty even for my family who likes salty food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jctaruc September 25, 2015

I didn't make this yet. But I can tell you I make a lot of chicken wings I l like mine to be crunchy not soggy so you can do this recipe then broil them until they look light brown . I cook mine in the oven at 350 45 minutes then broil them when I think they look good or else taste one first I find with chicken recipes you almost always have to double the time on the chicken I like my food cooked not raw. Wings are hard to get perfect but trust me when I say broil them after you cook them it adds that crunch when you bite into them that is if you like chunchy like me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike M. July 15, 2015

These wings were good, not great. I made these yesterday for the "big game", and my husband was very excited for them! The taste was okay, but the wings were not the color in the picture at all, and the sauce didn't seem to stick to the meat whatsoever. Since the wings had effectively been marinating in the sauce, they did have a good flavor. This was an easy wing recipe, but I will probably not be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney M. February 03, 2014

These were really, really bad. It was like eating a bottle of soy sauce. Four hours on high is plenty to cook these through. They were very tender, which was great, but next time I will use 1/2 soy sauce and 1/2 chicken broth. Also, a little sweet/sour/spicy addition will be nice: one part rice vinegar, one part sugar, and red pepper flakes to taste. I would add this the last hour.

If you prefer wings you can pick up to eat, don't use the crock pot. They are simply too fall-off-the-bone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s879 January 08, 2012

no stars yet because they are in the crockpot...we shall see....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dodgerfan4life6 January 30, 2011

I had hoped to serve these as an appetizer and made them mostly because the picture by kiwidutch looked so good. Mine did not turn out well. I cooked mine on low and after 6 hours the meat had fallen off of the bones into the crock pot for most of them and they were stuck to the bottom. The flavor of the sauce was okay but with a Sodium level of 2896mg I won't try these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DLS March 18, 2010

These were not for us. They were bland and very dry. After 6 hours in the crock pot the meat had fallen off of the bones, so they couldn't even be picked up. We followed the recipe exactly, so I'm not sure why they came out so poorly. Unfortunately, we threw most of it away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians February 10, 2010
Crock Pot Chicken Wings