Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken W/ Blue Cheese and Mustard Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken W/ Blue Cheese and Mustard Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2004

      I made this for dinner yesterday. DH said "The Chicken is Perfect". You can't get much better than that! I started at 8:30AM with a 2.5 pound bag of frozen skinless, boneless chicken breasts. I didn't have savory so substituted oregano. I started with 4 hours on high since the meat was frozen, then turned the crockpot to low for the remainder of the time. Heeding the experience of another reviewer, I made the sauce differently (starting with step 5). I removed the chicken from the crockpot, then strained the cooking liquid into a saucepan and brought it to a simmer. (I returned the chicken to the crockpot set on low to keep warm). I whisked together the cream and cornstarch and added it to the cooking liquid, then I whisked in the crumbled blue cheese. When the blue cheese melted, I poured the sauce back over the chicken in the crockpot and left it on low until ready to serve. I served it with steamed broccoli, cauliflower, and baby carrots. I poured some of the sauce over the vegetables. It was a great meal! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      I substituted half and half for the whipping cream, and used skinless chicken thighs. I could not get the sauce to thicken in my crockpot, so I placed the sauce in a micrwavable dish and nuked it for 45 seconds. It turned out beautifully. I shall make this dish again and again as my wife and mother both raved about the unusual flavor of the blue cheese sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      This was a wonderful dish. Very rich. I followed the recipe exactly, except for substituting savory (I did not have any) with half rosemary and half sage. Great flavor. I think next time I, too, will substitute a less heavy cream. The sauce thickened up too much, really, so I added a cup of chicken bouillon, made with "Better Than Bouillon" chicken base. This dish was soo good, I will make it for company. I served it with rice and a big salad with all kinds of summer greens and veggies in it. wow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      Finally...a crockpot recipe that doesn't taste like you made it in a crockpot and doesn't look like it, either! Don't get me wrong, I love my crockpot, but this is the first crockpot recipe that I'd even consider serving to guests. This looked and tasted great! I didn't have savory, so I increased the thyme about another 1/2 tsp. or so. I also started with frozen chicken breasts but didn't increase cooking time and it came out fine. A couple of hours before the chicken was done, I put some baby red potatoes on top, drizzled with a little more mustard and wine, and they were perfect. I just pulled them out of the pot with the chicken when it came time to finish the sauce. (By the way...the crockpot liners at the grocery store work great. I had no cleanup at all...just gave my crockpot a quick soapy rinse and I was done. Usually it's a big stuck-on mess!) Anyway...try this recipe if you like blue cheese and love your crockpot. It's a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Wasn't sure I should even post a review of this recipe since I made so many modifications, but it turned out so well I just had to. I didn't make this one in the crock pot - I braised the chicken in the mustard mixture, substituting about 1 cup chicken broth for the white wine I didn't have on hand. However, I think the wine would add a nice element to the flavor and the crock pot would make it easier to prepare, so that's what I'll do next time. It still turned out wonderfully well. I had worried a bit that the sauce would be too strong-flavored, but the cream tones it down nicely. Thanks, Barbara!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      This was dinner last night, to keep the oven off and the house cool. I did sub oregano for the savory, chicken broth for the wine, and used bl/sl chicken breasts. To thicken the sauce, I used the stove top, as I have had no luck with things thickening in my Crock Pot in a reasonable amount of time. Used Gorgonzola cheese for the blue, and I was surprised at how well the flavor of the cheese was balanced out in the sauce. Not overpowering, but noticeably present, if that makes sense. My husband loved this, and has asked that I keep the recipe to make it again. High praise, indeed! ;-) Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      The chicken was savory, the chicken-gravy like sauce was comforting, and the contrast of blue cheese was enticing. I made the sauce in a separate pan using the ingredients in the recipe. The chicken I used was all natural drumsticks, I used TJ's Dijon mustard, 1 tspn apple cider vinegar, 3 tspn water (to dilute the mustard and vinegar), 3 tspn dried thyme, cracked black pepper to taste (approx 2 tspn), 1 bay leaf. To accompany our chicken we served mashed potatoes and petite peas.
      Next time, I will use gorgonzola to replace the blue cheese, and will plate with a teaspoon of capers before pouring on the sauce. I will also double the recipe, as it was AWESOME! I think it would pair well with an ice cold Duvel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Yummy Yummy Yummy. This has to go in my favourite cook book. I made it as the recipe says and it was fantastic Diane Sth Australia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This was a very nice come home to meal. I doubled the sauce, used a cut up chicken that i ended up deboning and adding back to the sauce, didn't have any savory so i added more thyme. It took about 45 mins. for my sauce to thicken but that was fine as i had to let the chicken cool so i could debone it. Served it all over rice very nice. Next time I will triple the blue cheese :) Thank you for posting this tastey dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken W/ Blue Cheese and Mustard Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 563.6
     
    Calories from Fat 345
    61%
    Total Fat 38.4 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 168.2 mg
    56%
    Sodium 416.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 39.6 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes