141 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for a bunch of international students at our local college and it was a big hit! Don't worry about getting the exact measurements. As with any stew-type recipe, add what you want and have fun with it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isabelle's Mom December 04, 2010

I am obsessed with this dish. Luckily, so is my boyfriend. Perfect amount of everything, although I don't really measure cumin b/c I love it that much! I use ground ginger because although I love it that way, I don't love it fresh. Other than that, I make it as is... all winter long.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 August 18, 2010

Thanks to both you and your sister for sharing this recipe. I had intended to cook this in the crockpot, but ran a bit short on time. Instead I started mine on the stove and then finished it off in the oven while I finished up remaining dishes. (Indian Jeera Rice & Chickpea Daal (Indian)) Without the moisture from the crockpot method I found that it required adding in some broth. I also knocked back the vinegar to 2 TLBs, added 1/2 tsp sugar and salt, and tossed in a Tlb of a Penzeys' Vindaloo seasoning mix. Would have been helpful if you'd indicated what type of vinegar you prefer to use, and what type of peppers "ground hot peppers" are. (I went with white and cayenne) I found that it was necessary to add the tomato sauce to the blender in order to get things moving, but think that perhaps next time I'll follow Spinarita's advice, grate the ginger, and skip the blender entirely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Plate Special April 23, 2010

Based on previous reviews, I added 2 tbsp brown sugar, reduced the vinegar by 1 tbsp, used 1/4 tsp chili powder instead of ground hot pepper, and 3/4 tbsp of ground mustard instead of mustard seeds. Very good, I will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylsimpson March 02, 2010

This is definitely one of my favourite things to make with my crock pot now! It was soo easy to boot. I doubled the sauce ingredients like suggested and it was perfect. I had it on high for about 3 hours and it smelled so incredible the entire time. I loved how the sauce really thickened up all on its own, since usually I have to thicken things up at the end with flour or cornstarch, but I'm so ecstatic that I didn't have to do any of that! Thank you soo much for this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu February 25, 2010

YUM! i made this with three thigh fillets, skin off. next time i would use a bit more chicken and not cut it so small as it almost disappeared after 5 hours! i used all the same ingredients, yellow mustard seeds, and malt vinegar (should it have been white?) toward the end i added some brown sugar, maybe 1 TBSP, per the other reviews. maybe next time i won't add it or i will add it earlier as it seemed to obvious? it only cooked another 30 minutes maybe after i added it? i also sprinkled a bit of garam masala about 30 minutes before to freshen it up. served it with basmati rice and cucumber raita, we were very happy! had a small portion left over, which we spread on pita breads and put under the grill in the oven. tasted amazing on the second day. thank you, will use again and again! p.s. i added two red potatoes, skin on, 1 inch pieces, and some courgettes (half moon size) which i will make bigger next time too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KiwiYank February 01, 2009

Delicious. I mixed the leftovers with some rice and and chicken broth for a great spicy chicken soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi from Boise October 20, 2007

I use a variation of this recipe on the stovetop regularly. Who knew Indian cooking could be so easy?! And, I love to say it but it's better than what I can buy at the local Indian restaurants and much cheaper. Changes with my variation include: 2 tablespoons of white vinegar 2 medium onions 10 cloves of garlic, minced 1 tablespoon of Pataks Hot Curry Paste 1/2 teaspoon of ground tumeric 2 bay leaves 12 boneless skinless chicken thighs 4 or so red or yukon gold potatoes frozen peas to taste (I like to shoot for a pea or two in every bite) Cayenne pepper to desired level of heat In addition, I buy whole spices which I toast and grind. They are... 1 tablespoon cumin seed 1 tablespoon mustard seed 1 tablespoon coriander seed 1 teaspoon whole black pepper 1/4 teaspoon cloves 1/4 teaspoon cardamom (remove them from green pods) 1 stick of cinnamon Throw all those into a cold pan and bring them up to toasting temperature over medium heat until you can smell the nuttiness of the spice in the air. Quickly get them out of the pan when you start to smell them or they'll burn. Let them cool and grind them in a spice grinder. My variation in process is that I don't use a slow cooker to do it. I pre-heat a pan with some olive oil over medium high heat. I chop the onion into strips and brown it. When I have the onion where I want it (browned but not fully carmelized) I add the chicken thighs, garlic, ginger, curry paste and spices. I get that thoroughly mixed and let it cook for a few minutes over medium heat. I then add a can of tomato sauce and the bay leaves. If the mixture is thick, I'll add a bit of water until it's the consistency that I want it. Bring that to a boil, reduce the heat to low, put a cover on and let it cook for as long as you want. 20 minutes or so before you're ready to serve it, cut your potatoes into quarters and throw them in there. A couple of minutes before you serve it, throw in your frozen peas and let them cook. It's good stuff for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cerebral September 30, 2006

I thought this was a great idea! First of all, the thought of a curry bubbling away in the afternoon, making the house smell delicious and comforting... mmm! First of all, the prep for this recipe takes about 5 minutes! It is very quick - I whipped it up in the time my dh finished writing a quick email! I did tweak it a bit. I usually only use chicken thighs, so I used them instead, just personal preference. More hot - I like it spicy, more curry powder (I used 3 TBSP), and a bit of salt, a couple of TBSP of brown sugar. I added a splash of cream to finish (would also finish with a dollop of plain yogurt or coconut milk.) It was very yummy, and we had lots of sauce! We served over spinach. I would cook and drain the spinach next time and just toss it in at the end too. Either way, delicious! At first I was going to give the 4 stars, but I think that although it could be tweaked a bit to suit, it's still the core idea, and the tweaking is to personal preferences, not a fault of the recipe. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A la Carte October 11, 2005

Very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly, including adding the full amount of vinegar and it turned out great. Next time I make this, I'll add some potatoes and peas, and probably double the sauce since we like lots of sauce with our Basmati rice! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM July 30, 2003
Crock Pot Chicken Vindaloo