144 Reviews

I am obsessed with this dish. Luckily, so is my boyfriend. Perfect amount of everything, although I don't really measure cumin b/c I love it that much! I use ground ginger because although I love it that way, I don't love it fresh. Other than that, I make it as is... all winter long.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 August 18, 2010

Based on previous reviews, I added 2 tbsp brown sugar, reduced the vinegar by 1 tbsp, used 1/4 tsp chili powder instead of ground hot pepper, and 3/4 tbsp of ground mustard instead of mustard seeds. Very good, I will definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylsimpson March 02, 2010

This recipe is five star for sure. I didn't have a cinnamon stick so I omitted that. I also added some potatoes to it. I will be making this again. I will try it with beef pork and vegetarian. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy July 27, 2003

I would have given this recipe a 4, as it was very tasty but leftovers were beyond superb!! DH (of course) didn't like it but I will be making this over and over for myself ;) I did make a few changes- I cut the vinegar down (as suggested) to 1 1/2 TBSP but ended up splashing in a bit more near the end, sprinkled in a small bit of brown sugar (as suggested), I didn't have any fresh ginger so I used 1/2 TBSP ground, I cut the cumin down to 1/2 TBSP as the kind I get now is VERY strong, and used a chicken substitute (chopped up some Quorn) as we are vegetarian. I served it over brown rice with a big dollop of fat-free greek yogurt on top. Amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Fam February 21, 2012

I made this on one of those busy days on which everyone would be getting home just in time for dinner. Ii let it cook for about 7 hours in the crock and it was great. My family loves indian food,and this was a hit. My husband said the sauce looked and tasted like it came from the restaurant. Someone commented on the sauce being watery - it is supposed to be thin in this dish. Easy to make and delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
topdog ollie October 04, 2011

I made this for a bunch of international students at our local college and it was a big hit! Don't worry about getting the exact measurements. As with any stew-type recipe, add what you want and have fun with it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isabelle's Mom December 04, 2010

Thanks to both you and your sister for sharing this recipe. I had intended to cook this in the crockpot, but ran a bit short on time. Instead I started mine on the stove and then finished it off in the oven while I finished up remaining dishes. (Indian Jeera Rice & Chickpea Daal (Indian)) Without the moisture from the crockpot method I found that it required adding in some broth. I also knocked back the vinegar to 2 TLBs, added 1/2 tsp sugar and salt, and tossed in a Tlb of a Penzeys' Vindaloo seasoning mix. Would have been helpful if you'd indicated what type of vinegar you prefer to use, and what type of peppers "ground hot peppers" are. (I went with white and cayenne) I found that it was necessary to add the tomato sauce to the blender in order to get things moving, but think that perhaps next time I'll follow Spinarita's advice, grate the ginger, and skip the blender entirely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Plate Special April 23, 2010

This is definitely one of my favourite things to make with my crock pot now! It was soo easy to boot. I doubled the sauce ingredients like suggested and it was perfect. I had it on high for about 3 hours and it smelled so incredible the entire time. I loved how the sauce really thickened up all on its own, since usually I have to thicken things up at the end with flour or cornstarch, but I'm so ecstatic that I didn't have to do any of that! Thank you soo much for this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu February 25, 2010

YUM! i made this with three thigh fillets, skin off. next time i would use a bit more chicken and not cut it so small as it almost disappeared after 5 hours! i used all the same ingredients, yellow mustard seeds, and malt vinegar (should it have been white?) toward the end i added some brown sugar, maybe 1 TBSP, per the other reviews. maybe next time i won't add it or i will add it earlier as it seemed to obvious? it only cooked another 30 minutes maybe after i added it? i also sprinkled a bit of garam masala about 30 minutes before to freshen it up. served it with basmati rice and cucumber raita, we were very happy! had a small portion left over, which we spread on pita breads and put under the grill in the oven. tasted amazing on the second day. thank you, will use again and again! p.s. i added two red potatoes, skin on, 1 inch pieces, and some courgettes (half moon size) which i will make bigger next time too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KiwiYank February 01, 2009

Delicious. I mixed the leftovers with some rice and and chicken broth for a great spicy chicken soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi from Boise October 20, 2007
Crock Pot Chicken Vindaloo