Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot -Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot -Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2008

      This was pretty good. 2 of the 3 people eating tonight would like to see it on the menu regularly. I served it with garden side salads. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I put a can of hotel rotel in as well. It came out more red in color & taste, but my family really loved it that way. The best part of this recipe is that you can add a little more chili powder if you like it spicy, or a little more water if less spicy. Great easy recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Excellent, easy soup. It totally grows on you. I ate two bowls and the second was even better than the first. I cut the amt of chili powder in half and it still turned out spicy. Gotta add the dollop of sour cream (or plain Greek yogurt like we did)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Easy and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      awesome and easy!! i used a poblano pepper and a red bell pepper. i omitted the corn. i went with avacado, sliced green onions cheese and baked tortilla strips for the toppings. served with taco salads. thanks for the keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Three words: OH MY GOD! This was excellent. I had this cooking over night and had it for lunch and dinner with my husband. When it was all gone he wanted me to make some more for the next day. The only thing I changed was I added ~1/2 tsp chili powder instead of 1 teaspoon. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was outrageously good. I tweaked it to my liking and came up with this for my large 6 qt crock: 4 1/2 to 5 1/2 lb uncooked chicked 1 large can whole tomatoes 1 large can enchilada sauce 1 large onion 1 bunch cilantro 4 garlic cloves 1 jalapeno seeded and skeined 1 bay leaf 1 large potato 3/4 tbsp cumin/chili powder/oregano/pepper/salt/garlic powder 1 can BEEF broth 1 can corn 1 can 1. Layer chicken potato, tomato's, half the cilantro (stems too), spices, onion, bay leaf into pot. 2. Pour in broth and enchilada sauce. 4. Cook on high for 4 hours, take chicken out shred and de-bone or slice if boneless/skinless then put back in pot. 5. Stir in corn and pinto beans and simmer on low for another hour. 6. Top with cilantro and be ready to take your taste buds to heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Great Soup. I did it on the stove as I started too late for the Crock Pot and it came out fine. I used homemade chicken broth which really adds to the flavor of any soup. The only thing I would do different next time is add a can of black beans. I didn't make the tortillas for the top. I just served it with quesedillas instead. I will deffinately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I enjoyed this, but my kids thought it was too spicy. I'll make it more mild next time. But, will make it again to enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This soup is amazing in every way! My entire family enjoyed eating this delicious and flavorful soup--even my picky 10 year old. I did not change a thing with this recipe; it is perfect as is. Thanks for a wonderful, winter meal tonight V.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This was very flavorful but too watery for me. I will definitely make it again, but will leave out the water and just use the enchilada sauce and chicken broth so it's a thicker consistency. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This was OK, but I'd like to make it less soupy with a thicker base. Next time, I'll try adding some cornstarch to thicken. My bean-loving side told me to add 1/2 can of black beans while this cooked. The beans really gave the soup a nice contrast to the yellow corn and red sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      This was a nice basic recipe. We eyeballed the shredded chicken. I had some Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat so before freezing it, I grabbed a big handful! I would make next time with 2 cans of enchilada sauce...personal preference but otherwise wouldn't change a thing. This was hearty enough for a good dinner. Thanks V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This was really hearty and satisfying but healthy at the same time! The only change I made was to add hot chili powder and some extra hot sauce. Yummy! Thanks Chef V!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      This was great. Super easy and everyone enjoyed. I did substitute some leftover grilled salmon for the chicken and that was a nice change. The only change I will make next time is to add 2 cans enchilada sauce as we really like the flavor. Thanks for a good soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This Tortilla soup was excellent! I've never made this type of soup before and I was impressed with how simple it was. This had the perfect amount of heat to it as well.. Simple to make, and GREAT! Next time I will definately DOUBLE the recipe! This went fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Made as directed with the following exceptions: used 4 large chicken breasts cooked and shredded, 2 cans Rotel Mexican flavor, 19oz can Las Palmas medium spice enchilada sauce, a bit more cumin and chili piwder and 2 cans chicken stock. I made this on the stove top and thought I could simmer it on medium high for 2-2.5 hours - watch closely if you do this as I dried mine out which is why I added the second can of chix stock and more water. STILL TURNED OUT fab, I ate mine with cheese, sour cream and corn chips...family ate theirs with cheese, sour cream and tortillas asd filling. Will make again - easy and YUMMY!!!! Thanks for posting! ***Went to Market Tag***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I had so much fun makeing this. This was very easy to make and tasted delicious. The thing I liked most was how quick it all came together. It took no time at all but tasted like I cooked hours. This was a great soup, and it was even better the next day. I will definitely keep this in the rotation during winter. Made for Fall PAC 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      WOW! This was awesome! I only had crushed tomatoes so rather than head to the store for the mashed up whole tomatoes, I used that. It is somewhat more of a sauce (the crushed tomatoes) versus the actual tomatoe but certainly didn't hurt the flavor at all. This is absolutely delicious. I threw some chicken breast strips in a pot of boiling water while the kids ate their breakfast. By the time they were getting ready to head out te door I was shredding it and throwing it into the crockpot. From stove to pit it took me 12 minutes. What an awesome meal! Thanks Chef-V! This will be in our family for years to come. I also served it to my "conneseur" of tortilla soup which is my cooking buddy. This is his favorite meal so I was a little worried. He loved it and asked for a cc of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      YUM! WOW! I absolutely LOVE this. it was so easy I whipped it all up on my lunch break and then it was ready for dinner when I got home! my hubby, who never, ever touches "healthy" food loved this, so you earn 10 stars if I could give you that many!! looking forward to making this a LOT. I topped mine off with sour cream and avocados.... yum!! thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot -Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.6
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    23%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 42.5 mg
    14%
    Sodium 895.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites