Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat

    Average Rating:

    286 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 286

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2009

      I used chicken thighs, and the meat turned out great but needed more flavor and I don't think it needed that much juice. I would use two taco packets next time and a bit less water. Good overall though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Incredibly easy! I used an Old El Paso reduced sodium taco seasoning packet. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Good and easy to make. I doubled the recipe but only cooked mine for four hours. I did taste them before putting in the freezer and they had a good taste to them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is wonderful and is hopping right into one of my cookbooks. I think I'll need to keep it on hand for quick meals. My crock pot was in use for "Refried Beans Without the Refry" so I popped the chicken and spices into a saucepan on low and cooked them for a shorter amount of time as suggested by Abby Girl. All came out well and made a fantastic meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I love using my crock pot (I have 3!!)...but I usually end up changing the cooking time as I find it is not necessary to cook chicken for 6-8 hours. I must be an oddity, but I like my chicken moist and tender and I find that cooking the chicken for 6 - 8 hours, as stated, it will come out tough and stringy. With experimenting many times, I started off with 2 hours and worked from there. For 4 chicken breast, you only need 2 hours...6 chicken breast - 2-1/2 hours cooking time (add 1 hour if the breast are frozen). I always have cooked chicken in my freezer as it is perfect for casseroles, soup and sandwiches. I just freeze the chicken flat in a medium freezer bag and I can remove the amount that I want. Try cooking it at the lower cooking time and see...perfect chicken every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      We love this recipe, and it has so many way you can use it. Today I use this to make calzones, and pop them in the freeze this time. It made 10 calzones. I made the calzones using Wait Family Pizza Dough (Bread Machine) OAMC bread machine #187415. Thank you for posting this recipe. Another good one by Pamela

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      YUM! I have had this recipe in my cookbook for a while. (You dont want to know how long..lol) Well, today I finally made it and Im so glad I did! I usually dont care for chicken breasts as they are too dry to me but with this recipe they were great. I eat low carb and I ate the chicken with sour cream, salsa verde & white shredded cheese. MMM! Q Bueno. Thanks Pamela:) I am going to freeze the leftovers into individual servings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I make this about every other week. I use 2 lbs chicken and 2 cups water with 1.5-2 cubes Knorr Caldo de Pollo (chicken boullion). Instead of taco seasoning, we use Goya Sazon seasoning, con culantro y achiote (2 packets). The meat is tasty and tender and not too spicy for my 4 year old. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I used frozen chicken and top sirlion strips mixed with packet of Mccormick fajita seasoning.so good so easy .left over meat is delish...cooked in crockpot also.yum yum.........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I seriously love food with a mexican flair and this is going in a permanent file of tasty, easy, and healthy crockpot wonders. I really like that no salsas or tomatoes are called for since the hubby has an unnatural distaste for any tomato that isn't in a pasta sauce. I hit a great sale on chicken quarters this week so I used those in place of breasts. My crockpot was filled to the rim with 5 pounds of chicken and I doubled the broth and seasoning. Really I could have used just a little more of the liquid to cover the top pieces of chicken but it worked anyway. After removing skin and bones from the cooked chicken I followed the advice of other reviewers and put the meat back into the crock liquid for a little while and this aided in the needed intensification of the taco flavor. Awesome stuff Pamela - thanks so much for posting this one! **Additional note: I used the leftover liquid plus a can of lime and cilantro flavored Rotel tomatoes as cooking liquid for rice. The rice has a great flavor but unfortunately it is on the greasy side since I used fattier chicken. I'll try the rice again when I use chicken breasts or just use the combo of chicken broth and taco seasoning by by itself to cook the rice. Definitely recommend it though! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      i have done this for a couple years now but I also add some salsa when cooking mine in the crocpot. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Yummy! A nice alternative to beef tacos. The flavor was great. I used the leftover chicken and made an enchilada casserole with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This is great! I took some other reviewers suggestions and added diced tomatoes with chiles. I used the taco mix recipe suggested, but not as much as it called for. Next time, I'll definitely add more and maybe a little heat. I also used bone in chicken breasts. My son recently went back to eating meat and this was the first thing I chose to cook - great choice! I'll definitely be making this again and am planing on using some of the meat for tacos/burritos for tomorrow night. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I made this last night and used it as a filling for enchaladas. It was great! I followed the recipe exactally except that i doubled everything and added sliced onions and green peppers during the last hour. I also shredded the chicken and put it back in the crock pot durning the last hour as well. It was super easy, and i couldn't keep my husband away from the crock pot so i guess that means it is a keeper! Thanks for such a easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Wonderful, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was tasty and our guests were commenting on the great smell long before it was ready. I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars because it came out just a tad salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      oh yum! this was a definate hit w/ the family. so easy to make and so flavorful. i used original mccormick taco seasoning. will go into our favorites file. thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I have made this recipe several times, and was amazed at the consistency and flavor of the shredded chicken. Better than Chipotle or Qdoba tacos. Outstanding. Leftovers don't last long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      This came out really well! I doubled the recipe, froze a ton of leftovers and had easy meals when I was too tired to cook! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      ABSOLUTLEY AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So tender and delicious! the second time I made it-( the very next day) I used a large box of chicken broth and two packets of taco seasoning. Really wonderful chicken for tacos , enchiladas.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.4
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    20%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 36.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 239.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites