295 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! I put two large chicken breasts, 1 cup of water, 1 can of drained black beans, and 1 pkg of fajita seasoning, Cooked it on high for 5 hours, shredded it (very easily with 2 forks) then added almost 3 oz of cream cheese. I served it on warmed tortillas (without any sour cream or cheese) with a side of rice and the kids LOVED it! What an easy meal!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cara Lee March 27, 2011

This is a great recipe to use especially when the grocery store has boneless, skinless chicken breast on special. I used a 4lb. package of chicken and 4 cups of chicken broth plus 2 packages of fajita/taco seasoning. (I was in a hurry and didn't take the time to make up my own this time.) Turned out great! I had 4 nice-size packages of shredded, seasoned and deliciously moist chicken to use for future recipes. I immediately used one portion to make chicken enchiladas for some unexpected guests. It was wonderful to have the chicken already ready to go for the enchiladas. This is a simple, flavorful, money-saving recipe that will become a staple in my cooking!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Owned by a Westie July 12, 2010

Amazing! The night before, I threw everything into the inner pot of my crock pot and put it in the fridge. I used all chicken broth, a whole packet of taco seasoning, a can of diced tomatoes with chiles, and 3 big chicken breasts. Unfortunately, in the morning rush, I forgot to take it out of the fridge and turn on the pot! Luckily I got out of work a bit early. I ran home, put it on high and cooked it for about 2 hours or so. Within 20 minutes, my house smelled delicious! When it was done, I shredded it up, put it back in the juices and waited 20 minutes before serving in flour tortillas with cheese and lettuce. FANTASTIC flavor! Going into my OAMC box! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Brady. April 25, 2010

Made this many times- I love how easy it makes dinners for me! It's a very easy to cook since it's in the crockpot with minimal ingrediants & it makes wonderfully moist chicken. I use more taco seasoning than it calls for, but that's personal preference. It's great in "Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas" (Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas). I've used it in many other recipes as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne May 06, 2010

Great Recipe! Easy! I used frozen skinless chicken breasts. So easy. I also used recipe 4292 for the taco seasoning. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis April 11, 2010

I let me 9 year old daughter make this recipe. She was amazed at how simple it was. http://youtu.be/U78D4tPLOLU <br/><br/>High marks for it's simplicity, I held back the 5th star for taste. It is good but if you're not careful it can come out a bit dry and it's all about the seasoning you select.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyle A. February 24, 2014

This is the first review I have ever done so hope I do it right.<br/>This was so easy and so good this is how I will do my chicken taco/burrito meat from now on. SO easy unlike what I used to do. I did not have a full pound of chicken but I still used the same amount of broth and seasonings. Wonderful. I did use packaged taco seasoning as I had it on hand and was in a hurry. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rit September 06, 2013

This is our favorite Crock Pot recipe! I usually add sliced bell pepper and onion, and sometimes I'll throw in a can of diced tomatoes if I'm feeling fancy. We've used this for tacos and nachos. It freezes well, too! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sodgers May 18, 2013

As the mother of 7-month old twins whose husband is gone 13 hours on work days I am sooo grateful to come across recipes that are easy AND wondeful! Bought chicken in bulk and tripled this and it came out beautifully, When in-laws came by unexpectedly I used a bag of leftovers and stirred in some peach preserves and served it over white rice, you would not believe the raves (and they're mexican so they should know!). Love love love this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
verbeaco April 17, 2013

This is awesome! I found it cooked much faster than the suggested time in low, but maybe my crock pot runs warm. So simple and easy. It's worth it to use high quality taco seasoning. I use a blend I bought from an upscale spice store here in Chicago. Make your own if you have to - with such few ingredients you will absolutely taste the difference in the spice mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain December 23, 2012
Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat