300 Reviews

YUM! I have had this recipe in my cookbook for a while. (You dont want to know how long..lol) Well, today I finally made it and Im so glad I did! I usually dont care for chicken breasts as they are too dry to me but with this recipe they were great. I eat low carb and I ate the chicken with sour cream, salsa verde & white shredded cheese. MMM! Q Bueno. Thanks Pamela:) I am going to freeze the leftovers into individual servings!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 September 20, 2009

I make this about every other week. I use 2 lbs chicken and 2 cups water with 1.5-2 cubes Knorr Caldo de Pollo (chicken boullion). Instead of taco seasoning, we use Goya Sazon seasoning, con culantro y achiote (2 packets). The meat is tasty and tender and not too spicy for my 4 year old. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minbrain September 12, 2009

I used frozen chicken and top sirlion strips mixed with packet of Mccormick fajita seasoning.so good so easy .left over meat is delish...cooked in crockpot also.yum yum.........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenavee2u August 19, 2009

I seriously love food with a mexican flair and this is going in a permanent file of tasty, easy, and healthy crockpot wonders. I really like that no salsas or tomatoes are called for since the hubby has an unnatural distaste for any tomato that isn't in a pasta sauce. I hit a great sale on chicken quarters this week so I used those in place of breasts. My crockpot was filled to the rim with 5 pounds of chicken and I doubled the broth and seasoning. Really I could have used just a little more of the liquid to cover the top pieces of chicken but it worked anyway. After removing skin and bones from the cooked chicken I followed the advice of other reviewers and put the meat back into the crock liquid for a little while and this aided in the needed intensification of the taco flavor. Awesome stuff Pamela - thanks so much for posting this one! **Additional note: I used the leftover liquid plus a can of lime and cilantro flavored Rotel tomatoes as cooking liquid for rice. The rice has a great flavor but unfortunately it is on the greasy side since I used fattier chicken. I'll try the rice again when I use chicken breasts or just use the combo of chicken broth and taco seasoning by by itself to cook the rice. Definitely recommend it though! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee August 15, 2009

i have done this for a couple years now but I also add some salsa when cooking mine in the crocpot. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nana heisey August 15, 2009

Yummy! A nice alternative to beef tacos. The flavor was great. I used the leftover chicken and made an enchilada casserole with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debarra August 10, 2009

This is great! I took some other reviewers suggestions and added diced tomatoes with chiles. I used the taco mix recipe suggested, but not as much as it called for. Next time, I'll definitely add more and maybe a little heat. I also used bone in chicken breasts. My son recently went back to eating meat and this was the first thing I chose to cook - great choice! I'll definitely be making this again and am planing on using some of the meat for tacos/burritos for tomorrow night. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megans Jewelry Box August 03, 2009

I made this last night and used it as a filling for enchaladas. It was great! I followed the recipe exactally except that i doubled everything and added sliced onions and green peppers during the last hour. I also shredded the chicken and put it back in the crock pot durning the last hour as well. It was super easy, and i couldn't keep my husband away from the crock pot so i guess that means it is a keeper! Thanks for such a easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. July 16, 2009

Wonderful, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthNutSarah July 09, 2009

This was tasty and our guests were commenting on the great smell long before it was ready. I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars because it came out just a tad salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalipso435 July 07, 2009
Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat