Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2009

      I founds this very salty, next time I'll definitely cut down on the onion soup mix. Other then that I loved how it was so easy to throw together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      I haven't used my crockpot much. I decided to try this recipe due to the ratings. We found it just mediocre and I won't be making it again because it was pretty bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      Great recipe! I live in Japan and hot to go with what I have - a 6 cup rice cooker instead of a crock pot and no onion soup mix (so I put about 2T dried roasted onion spice, 1 chicken bullion cube, 1/4 t black pepper, 1/8 t or so paprika and a dash of a few random spices I happen to have). I used 3 good sized chicken breasts (came out to almost 2 lbs), so I doubled the soup. Oh, and I only had a tiny bit of sour cream, maybe 2 tablespoons, but even still, the flavor was definitely there! All these changes, and it was still delicious and hearty and warm and wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      Loved it! When I got home from work I tossed in an 8 oz. package of fresh sliced mushrooms and let it go another hour or so. DH wanted egg noodles and I had it over rice, we both really enjoyed it :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      This was pretty awesome! I think with some tweeking this could be a 5 star recipe. I was a little nervous about the saltyness as others had mentioned as I hardly if ever salt my foods when I cook, and I didn't find this salty at all....it could be that I used a little more chicken than called for as I wanted leftovers the next day. I also added a bit of fresh mushrooms as I love big chunks of mushrooms in my stroganoff. Otherwise I did follow the recipe to the letter. It cooked the chicken all the way through and made it moist and oh so tender. I did get a bit lazy and didn't want to cook the egg noodles in another pan as it is 100 in the desert and that's why I chose to cook in a crockpot, so instead I dumped the noodles in when the meal was throughly cooked. Prior to adding the noodles I was worried about how watery it seemed, but the noodles soaked up a lot of the juices and then made it a bit dry...my bad! But not to worry, I added a bit of water and that made it nice and creamy again. It had a good flavor but also seemed like it was lacking some other spice maybe.....or maybe it's just me. Oveall a good recipe and a staple for the summer months when I will be sitting in a bathtube filled with icewater to stay cool. Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      I only used half the amount of onion soup but was still a bit salty for me, tasted good other than the saltiness though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      i had 1.5 boneless chicken breast and the onion soup mix was still overwhelming. i added mushrooms too as some had suggested..i dont think i willl make again. it was edible but definately not "wow"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Great recipe and very easy - a good choice for my first ever crock pot dish! I admit I did tinker with the ingredients a little - it just isn't stroganoff for me without tomato paste, so I added a 135g (4.5oz?) tetrapack of the stuff at the beginning plus a large (14oz?) can of sliced mushrooms, mixed with everything else. I was skeptical about using frozen chicken, but it was sooo moist and tender after 6 hours (on Medium) it was unbelievable. I fork shredded the chicken and tossed it all back in the pot to heat through - AWESOME over fettucine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I've made this twice now and it is great! The first time I used full-fat ingredients and it was excellent. The second time I used 'Healthy Request' mushroom soup and low-fat sour cream and it was just as excellent! So- why not use the lower fat ingredients?!? I also cooked this for at least 10 hours with no loss of taste. The chicken fell apart- but I'm okay with that. Right before serving I boiled half a bag of "No-Yolks" egg noodles and just mixed the drained noodles directly into the crockpot. It wasn't as pretty but much easier to serve. Next time I may add some additional mushrooms because the little bits that are in the condensed soup really disappear in the cooked dish. This one is in heavy rotation in my meal cycle now. Easy to prepare and cheap ingredients. What's not to like?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      YUM! I have had many versions of stroganoff and this was super easy and enjoyed by all. I served over low carb pasta. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Perfectly creamy! I was skeptical about putting the sour cream in at the beginning, but it turned out wonderfully, with rave reviews by all. Limited by what I had on hand, I used fat free plain yogurt and low fat sour cream equal to 8 oz, then used two cans of cream of mushroom soup. I'm also paranoid about sticking frozen meat in my slow cooker, so I defrosted the chicken most of the way first, then set the slow cooker on High for 3 1/2 hours (it would have been four, but it bubbled up and tried to take on a life of its own.) Thanks! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Made it just like described and put on rice. EASY, FAST and GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      This is great comfort food. I never thought to use chicken in a stroganoff, go figure. I cracked it on high for around 4 hours and it cooked nicely. I think next time I might add some fresh mushrooms. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      I sat on the fence between rating this a 3 or a 4. I chose 4 because I loved the taste of the sauce. However, the chicken was quite overdone at 5 hours (rather than the stated 7 or 8). This altered the texture of the meat and made it not too pleasing to my husband. My 2 and 4 year olds like the sauce on the egg noodles, but didn't like the chicken. I followed the recipe to the letter but added garlic powder, salt, pepper and whole button mushrooms. Would season this the same again but would either alter the cooking time or change up the meat used altogether. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Super Simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Have made this a few times now and we really enjoy the flavor. I love that I can toss the ingredients in the crock pot just before I run out the door. All I have to do when I get home is cook up some noodles or brown rice. Thanks! Update: I've found that if I add WHOLE mushrooms to this, they cook up perfectly (not mushy). I also add 1/2 cup white wine and love how it has enhanced the flavor of this. This has become a regular for us. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I made this for my "lunch club" at work and it was a huge hit! I love how simple it is to make. I put it on before I went to bed and it was ready to pack up and take to work in the morning. The flavor is delicious and it is only 6 points if you add 1/2 cup of brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Very quick and simple for a busy night on the go. I made as directed and served with rice. Thank you, Kristen in Chicago!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Awesome! What a perfect dish when you just have a few ingredients around. It had great flavor and was a hit with adults and children. It was also great for DH who had been under the weather and needed to eat a mild dinner. I'll be making this again regularly! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This was good - an easy dish to throw together. I chopped an onion and sauted it with some garlic in a little butter. I then threw everything in the crockpot along with 8 oz sliced mushrooms. When the chicken was cooked I shredded it and we had it over whole wheat egg noodles. It was good on a cold winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 296.1
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    62%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 89.8 mg
    29%
    Sodium 879.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites