8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious and so-o-o simple. A definite "make-again"! Thanks, Lennie!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee April 08, 2002

Ahhhhh.... A TRIUMPH!!! That is all I can say to describe this stew. Should I even call this... CREATION... dare I say... MASTERPIECE a mere stew. It deserves a better name than that. How about CELTIC SOUL REVIVER... just absolutely wonderful. I'm a woman whom is deeply into soul food and this touched my soul when I shared this recipe with my family. LENNIE... you are a GENIUS. Thank you so very much. Please do continue to share your wonderful recipes with our family here at RECIPEZAAR. Thank you, once more. :-)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynda clark March 08, 2002

I added a little more pepper to this recipe. The pepper gave it a little boost. It got rave reviews from my husband, and the kids liked it too. Very simple and easy to prepare.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi in Wisconsin November 14, 2002

Needs additional spices,too bland for me; however, my husband enjoyed it. . . probably his Scottish heritage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady June 06, 2002

I didn't like this at all. I found it to not have anywhere near enough flavor and I even added some extra. I would increase the amount of salt and pepper to give it some zing and use actual chicken stock instead of water and granules, i would also like to see it be a thicker stew, I found this to be more like a soup than stew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saylaveev November 24, 2005

This was a very good comfort food. I made this on a Sunday, and it was very soothing. Sorry it took me so long to review this recipe. The first time I made it I had it with cornbread, then the leftovers I had with rice. Very good "warm your soul" food! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VickyJ October 01, 2005

Made this for sunday dinner before I left for church. My family loved it and so easy. A real treat to find something my three girls will eat will definately make again. The only thing I did different was add Bisto gravy granules instead of liquid gravy browner, which I did not have.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suncow October 13, 2004

my family loved this. next time, i will make a double batch. we had three eating this, and it all went. i think my son would have eaten more. i served this with biscuts. i also threw in a can of peas a half hour before serving. thaks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancyal August 12, 2004
Crock Pot Chicken Stew