Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Parmigiana Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Parmigiana

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2002

      This was so tendy & flavorful! I made a few changes, but nothing drastic (just trying to please the picky guy again!). I used whole chicken legs that I had on hand and removed the skin. Layered a large sliced onion on the bottom of pot as DH won't eat eggplant. Also added an extra can of pizza sauce to serve with pasta on the side. Tossed in a tablespoon of Italian herbs just for kicks. But otherwise the basic recipe is great. We'll definitely be making this again - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      Made this a couple of weeks ago (just now catching up with reviews here!) Very good! I did think it seemed a little redundant or self-defeating to have to cook the chicken before I used the crockpot....I think next time I'll try to throw it all in together and see what happens! Great recipe, though--all I did differently was to add some oregano and other spices to my pizza sauce (just personal taste!) Thanks for the great recipe Anne!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Thanks so much Anne! I live in a very Italian area and have had a lot of Chix Parm. This is the first time I've made it at home and had it taste restaurant quality and I've made chicken parm with at least a dozen recipes. This is just pure, delicious home cooking. I know it seems like a lot of work to brown the chicken and then put it in the crock pot but I assure you, the results are worth it! I used a jarred marinara sauce as opposed to a pizza sauce, I also subbed in shredded mozzarella. It barely even needed the cheese, it was SO juicy on it's own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Finally!! The first 'Zaar recipe I've encountered that I was going to add myself! This is from the cookbook Crockery Cookery!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      this was a very easy set it and forget it kind of meal. I had frozen seasoned spaghetti sauce in the freezer so i accually just threw the frozen mound on top of the chicken lol. i nixed the eggplant because we dont like it and used shredded mozzarella cheese. by the time it was ready the sauce had dethawed and spread nicely and all i had to do was add the cheese and wait for it to melt - quite possibly the easiest and mess free way ive found to make chicken parm yet. thanks for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      This dish is wonderful! Followed exact recipe. Very easy. I will use a larger eggplant next time.<br/>I used Prego Traditional sauce. Absolutely delicious! You can't go wrong with this, everybody loved it. I will be cooking this for many years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      This was very good & very easy! My husband's favorite so far. Browning the chicken beforehand helped the chicken retain the juices, but it probably wouldn't change it too much to skip that step. Thanks for the yummy & easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I'm not sure why you would need to put this in the crock pot unless you wanted to turn the crispy outside of the chicken to mush. I mean once you cook the chicken in this recipe you just need to heat the sauce, pour over the chicken, and top with the cheese and let it melt. It seems like this is more steps than needed I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      A FABULOUS recipe which I will be making many more times in the future! I liked the ease of the crockpot method, but I think I will cook this in the more conventional way next time; my crockpot is a large one, and my three little chicken breasts were rather lost in there! I made this exactly as stated, with the exception of NOT cutting my chicken breasts in half, as they were already quite small. I also found that in my crock pot, this meal was cooked after 4 hours on low - I realise that not all slow cookers are the same, but the times stated do seem rather long for 3 pre-cooked pieces of chicken breast. Made for Photos Forum Crockpot Photo Challenge in August 2008 - saved for the future - thanks Anne! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Perfect to make just for the family or to bring to a potluck dinner. YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      I loved this!!! My family did too. I changed it a little. Coated the chicken in shake and bakes parmesan and only put in a jar of pizza sauce. then topped with shredded cheese at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This was very delicious. It was easy and came out so tender. When we took it out of the crockpot it fell apart. All I can say is mmmmmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      This was super! Everyone loved it, even the kids. I made some modifications: I used Italian bread crumbs, added sautéed onion, garlic and shallots and doubled the sauce, adding basil and oregano. We also added mozzarella cheese slices in between the chicken layers and on top! DECADENT!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Parmigiana

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 600.1
     
    Calories from Fat 339
    56%
    Total Fat 37.6 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 18.1 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 188.7 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1032.1 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 42.1 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites