9 Reviews

Real Hungarian Chicken Paprikash does not contain the following: Garlic, tomatoes, green peppers, oregano or flour. It only contains, onion, oil, paprika, pepper, salt, chicken, water and sour cream. Served on dumplings or wide noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lc864 April 17, 2014

I found this rather on the bland side and I was so looking forward to it. I bought a brand new bottle of smoked paprika specifically to try this and was rather disappointed in the outcome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myrnabarager February 22, 2012

I'm sorry for the poor review, but my family just really didn't care for this dish. It was easy to make and smelled lovely, but we found the flavor to be somewhat lacking and had to add salsa just to make up for the flavor. I don't think I'll make this again. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenSmith November 06, 2006

We enjoyed this very much. It is not traditional as my Mom made (hers was very sour cream rich, and had more depth of flavor and seasoning). But still, the family enjoyed this a lot. We served with Mean Chefs Roasted broccoli and white rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 148068 December 05, 2005

The first time I made this recipe the chicken was great but we didn't like the sauce. The next time I cut the water down to a half cup and it was better. My husband, who never says anything about what is put in front of him, raved about it. It wasn't until I was cleaning up afterwards that I realized I forgot to put in the sour cream but it was still GREAT without it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Ann October 02, 2005

Fabulous recipe. I used diced chicken breast, and also red pepper (both personal preferences, also used chicken stock from other reviews. Will definitely make this one again, easy to follow, and a great tasting meal. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah June 27, 2005

Absolutely superb! I followed the recipe exactly and the only problem was the sauce wouldn't thicken. Next time I'll just reduce the water by half and it will be perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empress of my world March 17, 2005

This is a wonderful recipe and I'm happy I found it. I followed the recipe as written except I subsituted the water with chicken broth. This recipe has the just the right seasoning and well worth the wait. Several people have asked for the recipe and the next Church Dinner will be...tada...Crockpot Chicken Paprikash!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redwingfan_33 February 09, 2005

This dish has a wonderful flavor, and it looks so attractive with the flecks of red and green throughout. I used boneless, skinless breasts, canned diced tomatoes, and soy yogurt in place of the sour cream. I also reduced the paprika to about 1 1/2 Tbsp. This turned out to be one of the most flavorful Crockpot dishes I've ever made. I've already gotten requests to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree May 11, 2004
Crock Pot Chicken Paprikash