Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2003

      Nice stock PetsRus, this will be great in the freezer, but I did use some fresh for a sauce, and some of the chicken for Rita's slow poke jambalaya, very tasty. I like the combination of veggies, garlic and spices. I used an old stewing chicken which ended up very tender and useful for salads. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Except for the addition of the leek, I have been making stock like this for years. I used a rotisserie chicken carcasses and let the stock cook all day. After straining, I place it in pint jars leaving 1 inch head-space, cool to room temperature, adjust lids and refrigerate overnight. The next morning the jars are labeled and placed in the freezer. Made for *When It's Hot/When It's Not* in the Diabetic Form.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Perfect stock! It turned to jelly in the fridge overnight, which is the mark of a great stock. I made a delicious soup, and you could really taste the difference between this and store-bought stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      Beautiful stock! DS is having the first of 3 jaw surgeries in 3 days, so I planned an entire menu of soups and smoothies to prep and/or make and freeze for him. The first thing on my list was a big pot of stock and this crock pot recipe was perfect to start the day before. Then it was handy while making the first two soups. I've got two more to make, and will vacuum pack and freeze any leftover stock. I've taste-tested it alone, in chili and in soups since yesterday morning and it's absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Annelies. We miss you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Fantastic! This makes so much sense...why didn't I think of it?? :) So easy and so delicious. I made mine with a 12 pound turkey carcass and added everything except the leek, as I didn't have one. I will never make stock any other way from now on. Thanks for this brilliant recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      I made this for the third time and we love it! Its so easy to throw everything in and walk away. I use whatever vegetables I have on hand and add dill and thyme. I have let it go for anywhere from 12 to 24 hours and the flavour is always great. My husband said it makes the house smell "grandma-y".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Yum! So much better than the salty broth we normally have! This was my first time making chicken stock - loved the simplicity of throwing everything into the crock and letting it go all day. Next time I'll plan on letting it go longer than 12 hours and see whether the flavor is enhanced. I had everything on hand but the leek, but I don't know that it would have made much difference. Used all 10 cups on a homemade chicken noodle soup - the kids were all excited that we'd made our own stock and ate heartily. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I used 2 lbs backs and 1 lb necks (all skin removed) and 1 lb wings. I added the vegetables as posted and peppercorns and garlic, then added 1 tablespoon of Chicken Spice Bouquet. i cooked for 18 hrs on low, then strained, defatted, and stored in pint and quart cartons for the freezer. I kept a quart out to make soup for my supper tonight. It smelled so good cooking I think I could have had it for breakfast! LOL. Thanks for posting Pets! Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This is pretty much how I make my stock. I also added the giblets. I did skip the leek. I did use a turkey in place of the chicken. Added 4 cloves garlic. I agree about the skin on the onion. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This is really great! I've tried to make the perfect stock again and again, conventionally on the stove top, with the pressure cooker, since I don't like artificial flavors or the chemicals, which come with them, but no try yielded such tasty, rich and flavorfull stock. This will certainly be one of my most used recipes. Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      I love the fact you can plop it all in the crockpot and smell it all day. I added garlic cloves. Thanks for inspiring me to make my own stock. Up until now, I always bought it but this is so easy. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I didn't really follow the ingredients, but these were great instructions, I'll definitely do it this way again! I started this before work, so I didn't want a recipe that required me to stay home with the crock pot (start it on high then turn down to low), or one that involved a lot of stove top boiling first. I let it cook for about 14 hours and it looks and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Excellent stock. I really loved being able to toss in all the ingredients and have it simmer while we slept. The next day, I strained the stock and that was the base for some yummy homemade chicken noodle soup! I followed the recipe exactly and it made for a very flavorful stock. I did add some salt. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      An excellent stock! I only did a bone-in turkey breast for Thanksgiving, but my neighbor gave me the carcass from her turkey, so I could make this. Love the idea of leaving the peel on the onion, I also use the leaves from the celery stocks as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This recipe is great! I made some with a chicken carcass earlier this month and am now using the bones from my turkey. The stock will be used to make minestrone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I am not sure what exactly I did wrong. It tasted like vegetables, and not very good ones. Maybe I didn't have enough chicken in the pot. I could have added too many veggies too. I was very disapointed. I am not giving any stars because I really think it was my fault, not the recipe. If anyone has any ideas on what I did wrong, let me know please!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Ditto, ditto and ditto!!! Wonderful broth!!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      This makes a wonderful stock. Very rich in flavor. I made as directed and it's in the fridg waiting to cool so I can skim the fat off. Thanks Pets for another great one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      So simple, beautiful rich color, good taste. Thanks for the recipe I will be making again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This couldn't be simpler. I saved up bones and just tossed it all in the crockpot and cooked for two 8 hour increments. This far surpasses store bought stock, its less expensive and easy to freeze in smaller quantities to be recipe-ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 10.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    39%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken bones

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites