15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Extremely delicious. Recommend allowing the broth to cool and scrape any fat off before combining with chicken and noodles to decrease fat content.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chickennut January 22, 2002

This soup was pretty bland and calls for too much oregano. My kids wouldn't touch it because it had "too much green stuff" in it. Also, I used one box of rotini, which was way too much. There was hardly any liquid left after I put the noodles in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Savijx April 01, 2009

This soup was bland and tasteless. In my opinion it would have been much better without the wine and with egg noodles instead of rotini pasta. My husband and I continued to add more spices to it and nothing helped. My husband who is normally a huge chicken noodle soup fan was extremely disapointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calombella February 06, 2009

My husband proclaimed this to be the best chicken noodle soup he has ever had. Not having any celery in the refrigerator, I used a package of frozen spinach; added 1 cup mixed frozen vegetables; instead of garlic salt, I used two cloves of garlic minced; added 1/4 tsp of pepper flakes; and added a dash of dried mint. Absolutely wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina #2 January 09, 2009

Excellent and so easy. I used no yolk noodles and 4 large chicken breasts with the skin on and it was not greasy at all. My family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Golfcrazy October 10, 2008

I made my own stock cooking the chicken and onions then adding to the pot. I used star noodles as it's all I had on hand. I didn't add the basil, as I liked the taste without it just fine. My friend and I feasted on this and she brought home the recipe. It was gobbled up by both of us! DH will have the leftovers tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme September 05, 2008

Great recipe! I only put in one onion, though. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emmylouhoo September 03, 2008

I put this together before I left for work this morning. I used 3 large bone-in, skin on FROZEN chicken breast...I'm a little nervous that it won't turn out. I'll keep you posted! I'm sure it will be good, great combination of flavours in this recipe!....the frozen chicken worked!!  I used rice instead of pasta and it worked great.  So nice to have a comforting meal to come home to on a snowy day! 

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ethan's Mom February 27, 2008

This was my first attempt at homemde soup of any sort and I'm pretty pleased with my results. It tasted a bit like Whole Foods version. I was a bit skeptical about my ability to debone a chicken, but did it (admittedly, I bought my whole chicken already whacked into pieces) and it went beautifully and quickly. Kinda fun even. I now have the bones in my freezer to attempt stock! This recipe was a real confidence booster and well as delicious. Based on my personal preferences, I omitted the basil and added scallions and dill. I substituted floppy egg noodles for rotini, which I am making and adding per serving as I froze most of this and don't like my noodles too smooshy. Next time I make this, I will probably add one cup of broth (although the amount of broth does increase dramatically during cooking!) and remove the skin from around half of the chicken, prior to cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EB27 February 23, 2008

This was really good, for our tastes, the basil was a bit too strong. Next time, we'll cut it out completely and add something else, but it was a really good dish - and so easy. We used cut up breast pieces and it smelled wonderful in the house by dinner time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX June 18, 2007
Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup