8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this on the stovetop, simmering the chicken & onions in the water for 40 minutes before adding the soups, then bringing back to a simmer before adding the biscuits. I then simmered everything, covered, for about 15 minutes, and it was perfect. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassykat1213 July 10, 2012

This recipe was super easy and absolutely delicious! I added chicken broth in place of water so I needed no bouillon cube and I used only one can of biscuits which turned out to be plenty. I also omitted the carrots and onions. I cooked my biscuits on high for 45 min instead of the 30min and I stirred the biscuits about every ten min so they could completely cook. Also when you lift the lid to stir, the delicious smells embody the room and make your mouth water with anticipation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmesez January 07, 2009

This is the only way to fix chicken n dumplings. Chunks of tender white meat chicken in a rich broth with fluffy dumplings. I made a couple of adjustments and the rating is based on those changes. I used chicken broth in place of the water and left off the chicken bouillon cube. I used only 1 pack of the biscuits which were cut in quarters and found that to be plenty. A 3/4 teaspoon of poulty seasoning was added to the pot and there were left over peas in the fridge which were thrown in along with the dumplings. This made a very comforting meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 29, 2006

Thanks so much for this recipe! I made a few changes for time and taste - First, I added a bag of frozen mixed vegetables which I partially thawed prior to mixing in. Second, since I didn't have time for the crockpot tonight, I baked for 1 hour at 350, added the biscuits, then baked for another 30 minutes. My husband approved!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MagnoliaDSL January 16, 2010

We really liked the flavor of these easy chicken and dumplings as well, but like some others, I had issues with my dumplings not being done after the specified time. I just let mine cook on high longer--took about an hour or more for the biscuits to be done to my liking and not gooey. Easy to make and will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaVT96 January 04, 2008

Super easy and had a good flavor. My biscuits were still a little "gooey" even after cooking a full hour. Maybe my crockpot doesn't get as hot?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea April 28, 2007

This was TASTY - lots & lots of flavour! I was a little worried before adding the biscuits because the soup part was really thin almost like water. But everything came together once the biscuits were added - I also only needed one package. Next time, I think I'll add some corn & potatoes & more carrots to make this a one-dish meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb January 03, 2007

Super easy and great tasting. Had relatives over for dinner and everyone enjoyed this comforting dish. Will use this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aggiezoey July 23, 2006
Crock Pot Chicken N' Dumplings