16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was surprisingly good! My husband loved it, I doubled up on the liquids since we like alot of sauce.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
springandmac August 04, 2011

I made this recipe! A gluten free version by using GF broth and GF Bob's Red all purpose flour and served it over GF Tinkyada linguini noodles. I also paid attention to a few reviews saying it was a bit blah in flavor so I doubled the Marsala, broth, butter and mushrooms...then added 3 minced garlic cloves and about a 1/2 tsp of onion powder! Wonderful!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glutenfreelinds April 30, 2013

I thought this was wonderful ! Quickly put together, & used a crock pot liner to make cleanup easier.
The Chicken, boneless, skinless Chicken Breasts, were fall apart tender, and I served over brown rice.
Hubby said this was for sure a keeper and I agree.
It was wonderful on a cold snowy winter's night !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesliecoy December 16, 2011

It was so easy to make and was very delicious! I substituted thighs for breast though. I like the dark meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Explorama May 12, 2011

Awesome! I'm always looking for new crockpot ideas and this one is a keeper. The whole family really enjoyed it. I accidently opened a can of beef broth instead of chicken broth and decided to use it and see how it turned out. Worked great! Thanks for posting, Greeny!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinBOberrin March 04, 2011

This is not the same dish you would get making Chicken Marsala the traditional way; but it's very tasty in its own right and a good addition to the crock-pot repertoire. Easy to make and a notch above your average comfort food: we all enjoyed it. Made for PAC.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn March 01, 2011

okay- a few tweaks here wit this one. First of all, I sauteed the chicken just to brown the outside along with some onions. Also, the other reviews are correct in that the wine should be increased and the broth decreased. The person who added the cornstarch ran into the same problem I did in the end-so I also added a bit to thicken the sauce after cooking. Last, it does need some spicing up unless you like a more bland version. I added additional Italian seasoning, onion powder, salt and pepper. Next time, along with the Marsala wine I will add a little red house wine too. Anyway, what is cooking , but a big, fun experiment?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katyludp September 07, 2014

I made this recipe today. I had to add more salt and marsala wine. I added the Marsala with corn starch so as not to add more liquid.
Also, why isn't mine as brown as yours shows in the recipe photo? When I make it stove top, it's a little browner due to the fact that I saute my flour dipped cutlets until they develop some color. I have to say the flavor is ok but the color is off putting. Looks like chicken francaise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debchar33 January 09, 2013

Holy Moly.. this was good. However.. I improvise every recipe I make. I always google or look in books for several different variations of the same dish and put the ingredients and amounts I THINK.. will be tasty. Doesn't always pan out, but 90% of the time it's yummy for us that way. The only one out of my family of 5 who didn't love it was my 1 year old.. but she was tired and cranky and hates meat anyway. Even my 10 year old who hates mushrooms ate it (mushrooms removed from his gravy) so it was a hit! I added more chicken, more wine, broth, flour.. well more of everything, but in addition to the ingredients I added an onion, a couple gloves of garlic and some parsley. Oh! and about a 1/2 cup to cup of pinot grigio wine! YUM! Experiment with this.. it's definitely a good starter if you don't want to do the fry in a pan version! Enjoy. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happilyspokenfor September 24, 2012

I don't know how this has so many stars, really. It is very bland and the sauce is watery. It definitely needs more flavor. If you like things that lack flavor and are more bland, than you will probably like this one. Won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lopinaround August 16, 2012
Crock Pot Chicken Marsala