27 Reviews

Excellent recipe! I did it in the crockpot and it took only 6 hours on low then I turned it to keep warm and left it there for 3 more hours. I used beer as suggested instead od wine, added 1 1/2 tsp garlic and 1 1/2 tsp hot chili flakes. I had company and everyone loved it . thanks for a keeper. UPDATE: This is the second time I have made this chicken easy and good! It only takes about 15 minutes to put together, including sauting the mushrooms and onions. I substituted Tomatoe Basil soup instead of the Tomatoe bisque. Again ,added some garlic skipped the basil, used beer instead of wine and added some chili flakes. My company was coming for lunch so I prepared the sauce the night before put it in the fridge,and added the chicken in the AM, turned on to low at 6 AM and luch was served at 12:30. Served with plain steamed rice, Baby carrots & frozen peas, Nutty beans and fresh baked Danish for dessert. There were no complaints. Nice and easy luncheon after all the Christmas cooking, Thanks again Zaar

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 29, 2001

I made this for dinner when we had 13 people over a few weeks ago. They LOVED this recipe--asking with wonder, "What is IN this!?!? This is excellent!" I added fresh cracked pepper and some red pepper flakes. I omitted tomato soup or bisque--I didn't have any on hand, and no time to run to the store--but it still tasted amazing. The chicken was SO TENDER! THANKS!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock March 13, 2002

This was the first crockpot dish I've ever made and it was absolutely DELICIOUS. I simply put everything in the pot, and turned it on while I was at work (12 hours). It wasn't even dry when I finally came home. The order I put it in: onions, mushrooms, chicken, everything else. Also, I used beer (Sam Adam's Cherry Wheat - that's all we had in the house) and it tasted wonderful. Even my husband loved it. Much thanks for a good recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basia1 September 20, 2002

This was really yummy!! The red wine I used was Shiraz, and I just threw it all in the crockpot on low, all day (9 hours). Served over egg noodles, and with a side of fresh snapped green bean almondine. Will definitely have again. Thanks for the good recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb G June 04, 2002

My dh inhaled this. He didn't even wait for me to prepare the rest of the meal..nope, he stood right at the kitchen counter and ate this out of the crockpot (the heathen that he is). It was wonderful. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 June 28, 2002

This was a very flavorful dish even for picky eaters. I served it over rice as suggested and made a beautiful display by putting the mushrooms around the side of the dish with a little garnish from my garden. Good stuff! Thanks for another great crockpot recipe for the lazy great cook wannabee!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita December 15, 2002

I made this in the crockpot too, but made a few adjustments - I left out the mushrooms, and used 1/2 cup water & a 1/2 cup chicken broth to replace the wine, since we don't care for wine in cooking. I also added some garlic, and parsley flakes, and served this with angel hair pasta. This got a "Not too bad" rating from DH, which (believe me) is pretty high marks coming from him, since he is such a picky eater! -M :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert October 20, 2002

Kudos! Very tasty. Mi esposo (the picky one in the family) claims it's better than Coq au Vin.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul March 02, 2003

Another winner - my sister just loved this - so tender and best of all EASY!! Wine works best...

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maddy_2 January 07, 2003

Bravo! Bravo! This was outstanding. I used the red wine which wasn't that over powering but really complemented the tomato bisque. I cooked it on low for 6 hours. I thicken the sauce with 2 Tablespoons of quick cooking tapioca and turned the crockpot to high for the last 1/2 hour. Served it over rice with green beans and a side salad. I have never cooked or usd tomato bisque but will start using it in more recipes. The sauce alone would be good over pasta. Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M May 28, 2003
Crock Pot Chicken á La Antoinette