318 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this almost as written. Only thing I changed was add some garlic powder along with the salt and pepper on both sides of the chicken. I always add garlic powder to chicken otherwise the meat lacks some flavor. I added cheese (completely covering the chicken) next so that when I poured in the chicken broth (14 oz. low sodium,upped from a cup) it wouldn't wash all the seasoning off the chicken. I upped the milk to 1/3 cup and the stuffing (Betty Crocker Cornbread Stuffing - my favorite) to 4 cups. I cut the butter down to about 1/3. So other than increasing some of the amounts and adding some garlic powder, I followed the recipe exactly. I made most of these adjustments from other reviewers suggestions. It turned out great. It had a wonderful gravy which was good over mashed potatoes. Served with mixed vegetables. I will be making this again and again. My family told me to make sure I saved that one. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kilyena September 26, 2013

I have made this a couple of times now, and it is delicious. Just like Thanksgiving in a pot. I forgot to use the milk in the soup and it still turned out wonderful. I think the swiss cheese really makes this especially good. I served it with a side of cranberry sauce. All I can say is YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking-BAG July 11, 2013

This is one of the best things I make in the crockpot. I'm not a fan of using cream of anything soup in cooking but I make an exception for this. I use two boxes of stuffing and 1/2 cup of butter melted. I skip the cheese too and don't miss it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NVirginian February 19, 2013

I've made this in the crock pot and in the oven, and I must say that the oven method, to me, was so much better! I changed a few minor things: I used 1/2 c. of broth instead of a cup, and I didn't add milk to the soups for fear of watery gravy, and I added about an extra cup of stuffing! Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I covered a 9 x 13 pan with foil, baked at 375 for one hour, removed the foil and baked for an additional ten minutes to allow the stuffing to brown. Just right!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldbarn670 February 02, 2012

Great recipe! I used Asiago cheese (because it's what I had) and added a can of french style green beans before topping it with stuffing. Next time I'm going to try it using Fat Free Soups. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz January 24, 2011

Followed the recipe as written but used chedder cheese as we are not fans of swiss and that is what we had in the house. Chicken was moist and very tender. I would add more stuffing next time as I only had a small box of cornbread stuffing. I would probably go for the light version of the soups as well to decrease the salt content. But overall, this was an easy recipe and the flavor was great. I would definately make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sewwhatsports April 19, 2010

Despite the appearance the taste turned out yummy, though it was on the salty side. However, I'm not sure what this dish is or what to match it with. The 'gravy' which was more like soup was overpowering and there was so much of it! The taste was so good though so it all got gobbled up! I would agree with other posters, add extra stuffing and low-sodium soups. Overall very yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzcelinarox October 28, 2013

I made this exactly as written. It was very tender and the flavor of the stuffing was awesome. It is a bit salty with the soups so I didn't add any extra salt and it was perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. October 20, 2013

I love this easy and flavorful dish. For years I was doing something similar in the oven but I like the set it and forget it method better. A side of cranberry sauce is a must with this dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim H September 17, 2013

Added some onion, used cream of mushroom and cream of onion soups and used a box of Stovetop. FABULOUS!!! Will be making again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SallyJoJo September 15, 2013
Crock Pot Chicken, Gravy and Stuffing