Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Fricassee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Fricassee

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2002

      This is a super recipe! It is easy to prepare and produces a moist flavorful chicken dish. The dumplings were perfecr light and fluffy.I found that it was ready in 5 hours and turned it to warm turned it on low again an hour before dinner to cook the dumplings. Next time I will add carrots, peas & potatoes to the crockpot. I like the added bonus that you use fat reduced soup and skim milk and it tasted creamy good. Thanks Tish for a real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      Tish, this was delish! I followed all directions exactly, except I omitted the rosemary (my personal preference). The chicken came out so tender and full of flavor; the dumplings an added bonus. I doubled the recipe as well, and served with mashed potatoes and carrots on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      It was a great meal and really easy to make. The only thing that the dumplings needed to cook longer than an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      This is an easy recipe to make. It was a lot faster than I thought to prepare. Everyone seemed to like the taste. I kind of cheated on the dumplings because I used Bisquick instead of the ones listed on the recipe. It still turned out really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      This is delicious!! I prepared exactly as directed and mine was ready in 4 hrs. start to finish including the cooking of the dumplings! I served with mashed potatoes as suggested and wished I had doubled the yummy sauce to have more gravy for them!! With the dumplimgs you could have this with just a few vegetables on the side and even skip the potatoes or rice. We enjoyed this and will certainly make again, Thanks Tish!:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      I made this without the dumplings. I had it over some leftover rice and DH had his on mashed potatoes. The flavour was great. I added 2 cloves of garlic and a can of sliced mushrooms cuz I like them that much :-)I also used 1 tbsp of lemon juice instead of 1 tsp because I love lemon on chicken. The only other thing I would change is to add less water as I found it a little too "liquidy" I prefer thicker juices to serve on the rice or potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I wasn't sure about this at first but it turned out fantastic! I didn't make the dumplings because I served it over mashed potatoes, so I thought that would be enough starches! I added some cornstarch mixed with cream at the end to thicken the gravy which did the trick!! Also used cream of mushroom soup because that's what I had on hand and it worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This was the most tender chicken I have ever had! I wanted to double the recipe but all I had was one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of broccoli. It was a perfect combination. I also used chicken broth in place of the water. The dumplings were also a great addition and I didnt have to serve this over anything because I also added broccoli, carrots, and green beans to the pot. It took a total of 5 hours for this to be done. I would highly recommend trying this. Thank you so much Tish for posting. Will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I usually find crockpot recipes to be disappointing, but not this one! The sauce was delicious! The chicken was a bit overdone (I had to leave it for 8.5 hours till I got home from work), but still good. I added frozen peas at the end, and thickened a bit with cornstarch mixed into sour cream. I did not make the biscuits as I ran out of time, and served this over egg noodles. My husband had seconds and thirds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Homemade at its best! I used 3 cans cream of chicken soup, 3 cans water. I omitted the rosemary and lemon juice. Added carrots, peas & potatoes to the crock pot. Cooked on high for 3 hours, then added Dumplings and cooked for another hour. Great Stuff!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This was excellent! It was great to come home to this wonderful smell permeating our home! The only complaint I would have is that there wasn't quite enough sauce to spoon over the chicken. The chicken was so tender and delicious, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      I wanted to use up some cooked chicken that I had so I made the recipe minus the dumplings. The sauce is very tasty. I simmered it on the stove and added some peas and carrots. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      This was so easy and very tasty. I didn't have cream of chicken soup and substituted the only cream soup I had in the cupboard...cream of celery. I froze the leftovers to take to work for lunch. I will be making this again many times. Thanks for posting this recipe Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Fricassee

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 416.9
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    25%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 69.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1305.9 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 34.2 g
    68%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat cream of chicken soup

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites