Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken & Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken & Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2011

      This was pretty good for a quick crock pot dinner. I just made one change. I added about 1/2 a bag of frozen mixed veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

    • on November 03, 2010

      Very good. I added black pepper and garlic powder to the chicken and threw in a bag of frozen green beans. Very easy and versatile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      This is def worth 5 stars!
      My changes- I added a can of vegetables, water and all- one fan of cream of mush, one of chicken, and i also cut my chicken into cubes. Added some extra minced garlic, mrs dash, basil, poulty seasoning and black pepper. I cooked mine on high for 3 hours, quarted the biscuits and stuck on top, let cook for another hour, stirred it all up and added 1/2 cup of masa to thicken. Made it less soupy, and the flavor was delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      Love this and it is a great base from which to build a healthy dish! I used Bisquick and made my own dumplings to add instead of using the Grands. I also chopped up some carrots and celery, steamed them for 4 minutes, and then added to the crock pot. That way the veggies get completely cooked, but still adds flavor to the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Needed more liquid and flavor. Even after I adding oregano, salt, and pepper. Good base for the next time though...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      It doesn't get easier than this! Just added some ground pepper and that was it! Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This was good. I rated it 4 stars because I made several changes: I used one cream of chicken soup and one cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup, I added a soup can's worth of water (I think I'll add 3/4th of a can of water next time - preference), I also added 1 (15 oz) can kernel corn, 1 (6 oz) can mushrooms, 1 (15 oz) can green beans (frozen peas/carrots [pot pie veggies] would be good as an alternative), oregano, basil, salt, pepper, poultry seasoning, garlic powder, and I cut the grands biscuits into fourths. The dough took much longer than 45 minutes to cook, the chicken was already done, and we were all hungry for supper, so I took the stoneware out and baked it in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes. After that it was nice, and we went back for seconds. If I make this again, I definitely recommend seasoning the chicken part as you would a pot pie, with herbs of your choice and add a bit more liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This was absolutely delicious and super easy! I used a 1.5 qt crock pot so I used 2 chicken breasts, mixed some frozen veggies with 1 can of soup, and 1/2 the biscuits. I cooked on HI for 4 hours, then tossed on the biscuits and cooked another hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Another great recipe. Picky dd even ate all the leftovers. I used Campbell's Healthy Request soup to help cut down the sodium and added a half can of water. I cut the biscuits into quarters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      My family and I enjoyed it. My 9 year old sister is such a picky eater and even she liked it. It was very easy to make. I left out the onion and added canned green beans, carrots and sliced potatoes and we ate it with couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Didn't work out for me. Even on "low" setting it was overcooked at 4 hrs and way too condensed (thick and salty) for my family. I even added about 4 cups of boiling water and it was better, but not worth repeating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      This got a "do again" vote from the entire family. The only change I made was that I used Cream of Chicken with Herbs. Based on other reviews I added one can of water. I cut Grand biscuits into fourths. It was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This was an easy recipe and tasted very good! I thought it might need some spicing up, so I added frozen mixed veggies and added finely cubed potatoes. It turned out similar to a store bought pot pie. Still needed something though...some spice maybe ... I can't put my finger on it. Nice comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      My husband loved this! It was a great easy meal to have ready when you are out and about. I felt it needed to be soupier, if you like a little more mositure to your chicken and dumplings, I would suggest adding a soup can of water in the beginning. My husband loved the fact that is was not soupy at all. Just a preference issue. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Time to break out the crock pot since it's too warm to be heating up the house by oven-cooking!! This was quite tasty and super easy! I was glad to come home to dinner just about done! I used a cr. of chix and a cr. of celery since that's all I had and it was fine. Maybe I'll try cr. of mush next time :-) thanks Rach2!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      Love this! I've made this a few times and usually use the healthy version (low fat/low sodium) of cream of chicken, and I swear there is no difference in taste, but it's got to make it that much better for us. I do usually add some Italian seasoning or similar spices to give it a little more herb-y flavor. This is by far one of the easiest and best tasting crock pot recipes I've found, and this is now a regular at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      I love cooking in a crockpot. This recipe tastes good and is very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      This was really good! I added potatoes and I used cream of chicken with herbs. Everyone ate all their food that night, it was great! thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      I didn't rate it higher because of all the changes I made. I read a review that said it was fairly bland and I hate bland. Although, It was an excellent starter. The end result was delicious. Thank you. I added 1 cup milk. 3 chopped carrots, 3 chopped celery stocks, a a little garlic powder, a bay leaf and salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken & Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.6
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    39%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 85.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1784.6 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites