Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Curry

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2002

      This recipe was great tasting and easy to make. When my husband and I go out to work on different projects we need something that is fast and I can go away and leave it for long periods of time. This was good the first day, but it was delicious the second day when all of the flavors combined.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      This was very good! I didn't like it how I did not have curry powder though...so, I made my own. This site said that it was a mixture of all kinds of spices, and listed a few, so I just threw in a bunch of different kinds. It turned out fine-lots of flavor. I cooked it on low for 10 hours, and some people in the family had it with rice. The vegetable mixture was the best! I used a about 4 small tomatoes, and a whole onion cut up. The chicken was very tender. So, this was yummy! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      Lennie, this was delicious! I was looking for an easy recipe to use up some chicken thighs! The only change I made was to add about half a teaspoon of cayenne red pepper to it! I cooked it for about 10 hours in the crockpot and the chicken and veggies were delicious. I served this over basmati rice and it was definitely a winner! Thanks Lennie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      Lennie, we loved this recipe. It was easy to put together, the ingredients were on hand, and the finished dish was succulent chicken and vegetables. I looked at several recipes for crockpot chicken, but chose this one because of the amount of curry powder. I figured that lesser amounts would loose that flavor the longer it cooked. We were rewarded with a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing this repeat recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2014

      Easy recipe and flavorful, but I prefer a thicker sauce. Next time, I think I'll add a tablespoon of tapioca pearls to thicken it. Also think some fresh green onion sprinkled on top after cooking would add another dimension.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I really enjoyed this! I made some simple changes: I used Ro*Tel, instead of the tomatoes, just to add a bit of spice. I didn't have a green pepper, so I used carrots instead, and I added some raisins, and cornstarch to thicken it. I've always used that packaged curry mix before, but I enjoyed this more. I gave it four stars, because mu husband said he wishes it was spicier. Personally, I thought it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Delicious! As another reviewer suggested, I added corn starch because I like my curry thicker. I also added a few dashes of cayenne pepper for a bit of a bite. Otherwise I followed the directions and it turned out wonderful! Thank you Lenny

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      This was a really good chicken curry base. I'm giving it only 3 stars though because I had to teak it quite a bit. First of all I added a can of diced tomatoes with chilies to it. I also cut the water down to 2 cups and added 1/2 of cup of red wine. I also added some garlic and I cooked the curry chicken mixture for 30 minutes on the stove after cooking in the crockpot to boil some of the water out. That said I ended up with a Chicken Curry that tasted very similar to the one I get at my local Indian restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      I was SO disappointed in this recipe....no flavor at all!! Bland, blander, blandest curry I have eaten. It wasn't even particularly strong on the curry flavor. Just blah. I cut the water down to 3 cups and even used full sodium bouillion. I added a little garlic before cooking it and that did not help either. I salted heavily at the table to get any kind of flavor I could. Ended up fishing the rest of the chicken out to salvage somehow and threw the rest away. And this was AFTER reading a reviewer say it got more flavorful the next day....I tried it again...nope! Didn't happen here! I am so sorry to give this review, but there is no way I would make this again. I will tell you it made the house smell really good while cooking though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      this was pretty good. I guess I just prefer a thicker gravy type curry. There was a lot of curry broth left, so I used three cups of it to make 1 1/2 cups of rice. The rice tasted good and my 2 year old liked the rice the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      This was delicious and even my co-workers were remarking on how great it smelled when I brought leftovers to work! The only problem that I encountered is that it appears the coconut milk may have "curdled"; however, this did not alter the taste and was not even noticeable when served on top of the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Made this for dinner tonight with boneless chicken thighs and it was fantastic. I used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes in place of fresh tomatoes. My fiance really liked it, which is a bonus,too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      The chicken came out very moist. This was a very easy dish to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      I am not much of a curry eater. I made this for someone who is. I must admit- it was pretty darn good. The only change I made was to add about half a cup of fresh cilantro (which I love) after about 4 hours and I thickend it with cornstarch at the end so it would sit on top of "sticky" white rice. This is the first curry dish I have ever liked very much. The curry lover in my house thanks you for making me one, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (365 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.1
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    26%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 141.6 mg
    47%
    Sodium 494.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium instant chicken bouillon granules

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes