14 Reviews

This recipe was great tasting and easy to make. When my husband and I go out to work on different projects we need something that is fast and I can go away and leave it for long periods of time. This was good the first day, but it was delicious the second day when all of the flavors combined.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckyF April 28, 2002

This was very good! I didn't like it how I did not have curry powder though...so, I made my own. This site said that it was a mixture of all kinds of spices, and listed a few, so I just threw in a bunch of different kinds. It turned out fine-lots of flavor. I cooked it on low for 10 hours, and some people in the family had it with rice. The vegetable mixture was the best! I used a about 4 small tomatoes, and a whole onion cut up. The chicken was very tender. So, this was yummy! Thank you for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bec March 18, 2003

Lennie, this was delicious! I was looking for an easy recipe to use up some chicken thighs! The only change I made was to add about half a teaspoon of cayenne red pepper to it! I cooked it for about 10 hours in the crockpot and the chicken and veggies were delicious. I served this over basmati rice and it was definitely a winner! Thanks Lennie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM March 30, 2004

Lennie, we loved this recipe. It was easy to put together, the ingredients were on hand, and the finished dish was succulent chicken and vegetables. I looked at several recipes for crockpot chicken, but chose this one because of the amount of curry powder. I figured that lesser amounts would loose that flavor the longer it cooked. We were rewarded with a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing this repeat recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie April 19, 2003

Easy recipe and flavorful, but I prefer a thicker sauce. Next time, I think I'll add a tablespoon of tapioca pearls to thicken it. Also think some fresh green onion sprinkled on top after cooking would add another dimension.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terryliz September 22, 2014

I really enjoyed this! I made some simple changes: I used Ro*Tel, instead of the tomatoes, just to add a bit of spice. I didn't have a green pepper, so I used carrots instead, and I added some raisins, and cornstarch to thicken it. I've always used that packaged curry mix before, but I enjoyed this more. I gave it four stars, because mu husband said he wishes it was spicier. Personally, I thought it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpacieCase June 05, 2011

Delicious! As another reviewer suggested, I added corn starch because I like my curry thicker. I also added a few dashes of cayenne pepper for a bit of a bite. Otherwise I followed the directions and it turned out wonderful! Thank you Lenny

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggienut March 30, 2009

This was a really good chicken curry base. I'm giving it only 3 stars though because I had to teak it quite a bit. First of all I added a can of diced tomatoes with chilies to it. I also cut the water down to 2 cups and added 1/2 of cup of red wine. I also added some garlic and I cooked the curry chicken mixture for 30 minutes on the stove after cooking in the crockpot to boil some of the water out. That said I ended up with a Chicken Curry that tasted very similar to the one I get at my local Indian restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBaton February 02, 2008

I was SO disappointed in this recipe....no flavor at all!! Bland, blander, blandest curry I have eaten. It wasn't even particularly strong on the curry flavor. Just blah. I cut the water down to 3 cups and even used full sodium bouillion. I added a little garlic before cooking it and that did not help either. I salted heavily at the table to get any kind of flavor I could. Ended up fishing the rest of the chicken out to salvage somehow and threw the rest away. And this was AFTER reading a reviewer say it got more flavorful the next day....I tried it again...nope! Didn't happen here! I am so sorry to give this review, but there is no way I would make this again. I will tell you it made the house smell really good while cooking though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. September 12, 2007

this was pretty good. I guess I just prefer a thicker gravy type curry. There was a lot of curry broth left, so I used three cups of it to make 1 1/2 cups of rice. The rice tasted good and my 2 year old liked the rice the best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
graciethebaker October 26, 2006
Crock Pot Chicken Curry