9 Reviews

This was a wonderful chowder. The flavor was very good. Easy to put together, I followed the directions to a tee except for using a bag of frozen corn over the canned. I think I used around a half a teaspoon of salt and a quarter of pepper for seasoning. I used homemade chicken stock which was awesome. I think I might add a little flour to thicken it some next time, an easy thing to change to my preference. I was thrilled come dinner time to only have to toss some bread in the oven and serve up the bowls of soup. Nice. Made for Crock Pot Photo Challenge.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph August 18, 2008

I cooked everything on top of the stove and the chicken came out very tender and delicious. I used 5 good size potatoes, and thickened the broth, because we like it on the thicker side. I served ours in homemade whole wheat bread bowls to everyones delight!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Miss Cheffie November 11, 2008

I've made a much more complicated and labor intensive corn showder before, but never again. The minor adjustments I made to this recipe were:<br/>1. frozen corn instead of canned (which has less sodium, so I ended up adding some salt toward the end of the cooking time)<br/>2. I added more celery & carrots than it called for <br/>3. Due to the extra veggies, the one can of stock didn't cover the food in the crock pot. I didn't have any more at home, so I added about a half cup of water.<br/>4. Based on other reviews, I thickened the chowder. I didn't have corn starch at home, so I used flour & water, added toward the end of cooking time.<br/><br/>I'll definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy F. December 09, 2013

Delicious! we love it! I did make a few changes. I used three chicken breasts instead of the tenders. I added a can of cream style corn, as well as extra chicken broth, also used a little flour to thicken the broth and did not add cheese....I cooked it for around 8 hours in the crockpot and the chicken was so tender...seasoned with salt, pepper and a little thyme. Thanks for sharing. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda_C February 01, 2012

we love it !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoozoorules April 07, 2010

I've made this several times now , but forgot to review. We really like it, but I did make several changes. Since the chicken sits on top of the vegetables in the crock pot, it wasn't covered by the broth. I was afraid that it might be dry, so I added an extra can of broth. It definitely was not a thick chowder, but we liked it that way. Also used a bag of frozen corn instead of canned. DH loves this for lunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugGrannie October 21, 2008

I enjoyed this soup. I doubled all the vegetables as I like a hearty soup. I also used left over chicken from the night before and that worked well. I didn't use cheese and I thickened it with brown rice flour. It was perfect consistency. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcMom September 18, 2008

There was nowhere near enough potato in this chowder. Also, I used cream style corn, as it has much more flavor than regular corn. The flavor was very good, but it was much too watery for our tastes. We prefer a little thicker chowder. Next time I will use FF half and half along with the evaporated milk and thicken it up some. Thanks for sharing with us though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeganMuffins August 28, 2008

This was easy and very tasty! I would definitely mash it up to make it creamier. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I highly recommend it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MealissaHoppe December 03, 2011
Crock Pot - Chicken Corn Chowder